We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Tikida Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tikida Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #11 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel from the 18th – 25th October 2012. We wouldn’t usually go for this kind of holiday, but wanted something relaxing, which was lucky as there wasn’t much to do in Agadir. We arrived early evening to a lovely greeting with cocktails. We were given the key cards for our room and the receptionist said that we had been given a quiet room as I had requested by email due to reading the reviews on here about people having rooms above the nightclub. Our cases were brought to our room immediately by a porter. The room was perfect! HUGE double bed, which was so comfy. We had a partial sea view, which was a nice surprise. The beach is very large and was pretty much empty most of the week we were there. The sea was very rough and not swimmable. We also spotted a jellyfish! We preferred to be by the pool. The pool was nice, cold but a relief after sunbathing (the temperatures were late 20s). Pool was cleaned every morning, but did have a few tiles missing on the sides and bottom, which made it look a bit tatty. We spent a lot of time by the pool as there wasn’t much to do in Agadir, a few lame shops and a nice marina, but that’s about it. There is a shop called Uniprix where everything is fixed price, no haggling required, very cheap and hassle free. The souk was a nightmare, I was excited about visiting it, but was disappointed. It was very cheap, but only really sold fruit and veg, herbs and shoes! It was so dirty, loads of flies and chickens everywhere! We got a taxi from our hotel for 20 Dirham. There is a little train that takes you around Agadir for about 30/40 minutes, but it doesn’t really see much, mainly empty shops and half built hotels, but then it is only about 80p! We did the First Choice day trip to Marrakech and Marrakech was much more traditional and interesting, but so hot. The trip is such a long day (we got picked up at 7am and got back at midnight), but it is so worth it. We were actually taken by minibus as the coach was full, this was quicker and more comfortable, but it did mean that my Husband and I couldn’t sit next to each other! There were only six of us on the bus and we had our own guide, so that was very good. He was called Azizi and was very informative and very laid back. The fact that we were a small group meant we could be more relaxed about the plans for the day and what time we left to head back to Agadir. We visited a mosque, old school, herbal pharmacy and old presidential palace in Marrakech as well as being taken around the back streets and around the main square. We also had free time to explore. Azizi definitely took us places we wouldn’t have felt comfortable going on our own! The trip included lunch and evening meal. Both were very similar, the usual mixed salad, meat tagines, vegetable cous cous, Moroccan pastries and grapes followed by mint tea. Nice, but we were a bit bored of the food by the end of the week. The hotel food was the same kind of thing. Always something nice to eat and always left the restaurant feeling full, but it did get a bit samey. The tagines were nice and the meat was always beautifully cooked. They did lamb kebabs and pitta breads one night, always a fish choice too. Puddings were ok, the usual pastries, occasionally a hot pudding, chocolate brownie one night which was delicious. The ice cream was also lovely. The lunch time restaurants were slightly disappointing. The Italian had a very small selection of salad, sometimes pasta. There was always a sign up for Panini and Pizza, although we never saw any. Saying that, you could order pizzas fresh and they were ok. The buffet lunch restaurant was ok, nice views of the beach. Usually a tagine plus a couple of other hot choices and a salad cart (off putting as always covered in flies). Needed a refurb, very tired with flaking paint, etc. Breakfast was the nicest meal of the day. They had the usual boring croissants, etc and cheese and ham and bread, etc, but they also had omelettes, crumpets, muffins and pancakes freshly made to order. Delicious, especially the crumpets! The cooked breakfast was very nice too, although slightly too spicy for first thing in the day! Small chorizo sausages, Harissa beans, crispy bacon, fried potatoes, roasted tomatoes and aubergine. We visited the Moroccan and fish a la cartes. The Moroccan one was done out very nice, very traditional. You do have to share your table with others, which would normally put us off, but luckily we were sharing with a very nice couple, also from England. We had soup (very strange, not sure what the meat was, very fatty), seafood pastilla (very tasty, I really enjoyed this – it was also served in the main restaurant some nights and a chicken one, even nicer), lemon chicken with olive tagine and cous cous followed by Moroccan pastries and mint tea (again). Nice atmosphere though and the couple we were sat with had a Birthday and so we got to share champagne and Birthday cake, which certainly added to the fun! The fish restaurant (which was the lunch buffet restaurant) was lacking in atmosphere and the service was not very good. We were served a watered down bottle of wine to begin with before it was replaced. Prawn cocktail, followed by fillet of John Dory with Dauphinoise potatoes followed by cake. Very nice! There was different entertainment every night – Diversity/Flawless type dancers, Michael Jackson impersonator, saxophonist, magician, Moroccan dancers, musicians, etc. The Moroccan night was very good. A stall was set up outside selling spices, different musicians throughout the evening and dancers. All the staff were in traditional Moroccan dress. There were two singers every night, not the best and mainly very cheesy songs, but better than nothing! They were on early evening and came back on after the main entertainment. Apart from the Moroccan night, the main entertainment was only on for half an hour. One evening we went to the Fantasia show (trip organised by First Choice). Beware, our rep said that it would take half an hour to get there, but it actually took an hour and fifteen minutes! We were offered a drink and dates on arrival, but no one seemed to try it as they didn’t say what it was! There was a snake charmer and lady cooking bread in a traditional oven, which we could try – very nice! We were then seated in a large traditionally decorated Moroccan tent for the meal (included) – sharing with others again! Entertainers performed between each course. It was ok, a bit noisy and random and they tried dragging everyone up to dance! Cringe! The meal consisted of….you guessed it – tagine! After the meal we went out to the arena and watched men on horses, belly dancers, fire breathers, acrobatics, etc.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    324
    120
    33
    18
See reviews for
170
467
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my first experience of an "All inclusive" deal.
I had a room at the side of the Hotel which had a sea view (cheaper than the stunning rooms at the beach side of the Hotel). The room was perfectly appointed and spotlessly clean.
The choice of restaurants and cuisines in the Hotel was stunning and no extra surcharges.
The food was of a fantastic quality. I was particularly impressed with their breakfast, being able to select your own fruit and vegetable to be "juiced" was a fantastic service.
Premium drinks could be ordered, but most of all I liked being able to order a freshly prepared Cappuccino at their many bars.
The clientele was primarily French. Is it me? but are French children the quietest and most polite, well behaved children in the world?
Many excursions are available. Do try the 4X4 trip into the Altas Mountains and the trip To Marrakech.
Many clients use the sister hotel's golf course during the day, leaving the pool relatively quiet.
The gym is well equipped and there are many activities run by the staff for the children and the teenagers.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the Hotel near the roadside and the Night Club as the music goes on unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed 4th - 18th October 2012
Not the most attactive hotel from the road side but once inside you can see straight away that it is well maintained and clean. As per the previous review we also received no welcome drink upon our arrival and had to wait for occupancy of our room for three hours.
The room was very spacious with nice clean linen and towels on a daily basis. We did have trouble with our swipe key on a couple of occassions and our safe wouldn't open but once reported to reception they promptly sorted it.
The hotel grounds are very lush and well kept, hosting alot of generous sunbeds and a clean pool. My only moan here is that the pool bar wasn't open which was a little disappointing just a man with a chisel hammering away!
The main dining area was always spotless and the waiters were very attentive and polite. The food was presented well but I do feel that there needs to be more variation. There seemed to be alot of picky items like skewers, chicken thighs etc.
Agadir it's self is free and easy, there are no hassles. It's quite safe to walk outside be it on the front or the beach. There are the resort hawkers but if you don't wish to purchase then just say no thanks. There are lots of nice restaurants at the marina Rugantino's serves some great meals.
We booked our room for longer as we had a night flight, this needs to be put in their reservation book as soon as you arrive and then you confirm the day before departure we were charged 500dhs.
My only other thing to tell you is that when changing your money try and monitor it as when it is time to leave you need to change your money back to sterling at the airport this is when bartering comes into full force! They decide what they might like to exchange that's if they want to at all. We were offered half what our money was worth in sterling he said take it or leave it, so we said we'll have Euro instead! Our Rep left this pointer out on our welcome meeting so please keep this in mind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from this hotel last week after a week away with my boyfriend. The service upon arrival could not have been better, swift check in by lovely reception staff and shown to the bar by the bar manager for a quick drink before the bar closed. As we arrived very late and had missed dinner, we were pleased to find plates made up in the fridge in out room with hams, cheeses, bread and fruit. We paid a little extra for a sea view room and it was definately worth it, stunning views of the gorgeous beach both day and night. The evening food exceeded my expectations based upon my experience in previous all inclusives, and I loved the variety of seafood! Lunchtime food was also nice and there were only about 2 hours in the whole day where no food was on offer. Cocktails were lovely and always served with a smile :-) Animation staff were very friendly and plenty of activities were on offer if you wanted them. We frequented the 2 tennis courts quite often. Pool area was small but clean and very relaxing, sunbeds were so comfortable it would have been easy to just stay at the pool all day! However, there was plenty to do in Agadir and outwith. We went on both the Marrakech and Atlas Mountain trips which were both excellent, although Marrakech feels quite rushed, would be better if there was a 2 day trip. Scenery in the Atlas Mountains is stunning, loved it! We also took the Catamaran trip, but in our opinion this was very overpriced, however, this could be due to the overcast weather we had that day which meant it was a little chilly and we couldn't go swimming off the boat. Overall the weather was in the high 20s/low 30s for our trip, only becoming overcast on the last couple of days. Dinner by the poolside at nights was lovely. We also loved pre dinner drinks in the Cascade bar which were always accompanied by little bowls of olives, nuts and popcorn and very attentive bar staff. As I have said, we had a lovely relaxing week in this hotel and would return for a quiet holiday, but if you are looking for a more upbeat atmosphere, a bigger resort would be a better fit, as the evening entertainment was a bit disappointing and the general atmosphere of the place was quite relaxed and quiet. The only other negative we would comment on was the abundance of flies around the poolside and in the lunch restaurant, but this could just be due to season. The reception staff at this hotel are the most efficient and friendly I have ever experienced and the cleaning staff kept our room spotless. I just want to add that a number of reviews have suggested preferential treatment being given to the French, but we did not observe this at all and it was nice to have a mix of nationalities as opposed to the usual british takeover!

Overall, a lovely relaxing week, perfect escape from cold october in Scotland!

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a seaview room to ensure we were nowhere near the 2 nightclubs attached at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

All in all a pleasant hotel, customer facing staff such as waiters, animation, maids and gardeners are all friendly and excellent. The grounds are mature luxurious tropical and well tended, the pool is clean. Pity that the the hotel decided to start doing building work around the pool with pick axes all day non stop.

The pool nightmare after 5 hours was eventually stopped by confiscating the workman's implements and giving them to the hotel manager who denied all knowledge that work was going on in the middle of the hotel.

I'm not sure what happened to the arrival drinks but we certainly didn't see any, but fortunately our room provided was not in the dungeons or above the nightclub.

There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the beach where the hotel is located was surprisingly clean.

The only saving grace to the food here is the egg chef at breakfast. Meals at lunchtime like the evening were generally bland with hotplates so cool the bacteria were probably having a wonderful time. If you want a nice bit of red meat in the evening you may be lucky to get get 50 grams of steak once a week. You can however find a nice fresh tomato, add salt, pepper and vinegar and enjoy something appetising.

There is a Foreign Exchange here, if the desk staff are in the mood to offer service. We walked over to the Riu Dunas a 5 minute walk away to exchange money where the reception staff were far more helpful and polite.

For an all inclusive for 2 at 128 Euros a night (discounted) you can do far better elsewhere.

.

Room Tip: Dont accept a room in the dungeons or above the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed 6th October - 13th October 2012

I don't know where to start! Really enjoyed this resort!

We arrived mid afternoon at the hotel by taxi as we'd booked directly with the hotel. Upon arrival we were served with glasses of mint tea and a selection of Moroccan sweets. Check in was smooth and we were shown to our room (239) which had a fantastic westerly view over the Atlantic Ocean making for amazing sunsets!

The room itself was a good size and had a balcony. The beds were really comfortable and the room clean, towels were changed daily. Also in the room was a safe and a fridge and each day we were given bottles of water.

The main restaurant was really good. Gents need to wear long trousers but this helped give it more of a restaurant than a canteen feel. Food was always varied, fresh and tasty. We never felt rushed from our table and the waiters were more than happy to bring us more wine even if we'd finished eating. We also ate in the fish restaurant and the Moroccan restaurant which are both included in the AI deal and again both served good food although the fish restaurant was slightly lacking in atmosphere.

The pool area was good and waiters regularly came round clearing glasses and replenishing drinks. We never had a problem getting a sun bed although some are cramped quite close together.

Evening entertainment wasn't as dire as some people have made out! There was often a guy singing but we also had a magician, local dancers, a violinist and a saxophonist so it was varied.

The staff here were always polite and friendly and we were not treated any differently to the French guests.

Outside of the hotel the beach and the promenade are lovely for a stroll along and although there are hawkers we found them to be pretty good once we said no thank you. It felt safe wandering up and down there even at night. We walked up to the marina and had lunch out - there's plenty of places to choose from.

I would definitely go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room which is well away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed actually on the 24th July 2011 to 31st July 2011. Yes its been a year since but i've had this urge for a long time to write this review. I went with my family who needed this holiday away from everything more than anything and we definitely enjoyed every single bit of it. This hotel made our time in Morocco truly superb. The hotel in itself is beautiful and well maintained, the variety of food is fab, activities to do within the hotel is also good. And to top it off the workers there are truly fabulous. And it is the workers there and what the hotel had to offer that made our experience even more beautiful. I believe this hotel is for everyone whether you are with family or with a couple of friends etc, I have high hopes that you would have a great time there regardless.

Room Tip: If you love your sleep I advise you to book a room NOT near the hotel's bar/club papagayo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Tikida Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tikida Beach

Address: Chemin des Dunes BP 901, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#12 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Tikida Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Agadir* Separated from beach only by the beachfront promenade* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the hotel's private beach* 4-story building* 12,000 garden* 1 km from downtown Agadir* 500 m to a supermarket and shops* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Tikida Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Tikida Beach Hotel
Riu Tikida Beach Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Tikida Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.