We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable 1st Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Founty Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Founty Beach to your Saves list
Iberostar Founty Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   BP No 1039 | Cite Founty, Agadir 80 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A comfortable 1st Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to Morocco for our first anniversary with Itaka. The country is quite exotic for us and will obviously not suit for everyone. For us it was an interesting and valuable experience.

The hotel itself is very nice. It is located in a tourist part of the town, with other hotels nearby. There's a promenade which allows for some nice walking. All the hotels have staff on duty checking who enters hotels from the promenade. There are not many local people in this area - they tend to keep to the older parts of the city - with the exception of Saturday afternoons, when local families visit the beach en masse.

You can use the promenade to get to the town centre with some bars and shops (including Western brands). It take about an hour to get there with no rush.

The reception staff is very helpful, a few able to communicate in English very nicely (and there's always someone who can on duty), altering room allocation as needed. The waiters (as well as show-cooks) are also very friendly with a "no problem" attitude. Customisation in bar service is also possible.

The rooms are nicely up-kept, clean and practical, with balconies organised to maximise the sea view and privacy at the same time. Some rooms, however, are a little chilly and dark as they are to the north - the staff do warn about that on check in though (so if You like basking in the sun on the balcony - do tell them). There was nothing to complain about with the bathrooms.
The beds are comfy, but not that good for couples - if You get two separate, they may slide away from each other!

Food. The food is simply excellent. A lot of interesting choice, local cuisine as well as international, many different meats, fish, vegetables, fresh fruit. Tasty cakes and sweat creams. There's also some variation between different days especially in the show-cooking area, with foods raging from Moroccan meatballs (full of cumin) to fresh sushi. Pizza for those addicted was also available, as well as pasta, freshly cooked with sauce to order. A special feature was a Moroccan day with many different "tajine"s to choose from (usually there was just one or two).
It is also worth visiting the themed restaurant if You have this option. The pool restaurant, though obviously offering a much simpler choice, was still a nice option for day-long sunbathers.

Beverages: we didn't try many alcohol-based drinks despite our all-inclusive offer, but other guest seemed to like them a lot, concerning their lack of appearance on optional excursions ;). What we did get we did like and a special mention must go to the mint tea: nothing as good as having a freshly made mint tea after leaving cool waters of the Ocean!

Sports: outdoor swimming pools are nice, especially the heated one. It offers some space to swim and the temperature is perfectly set to the level that is already comfortable but still not hot enough to discourage You from swimming.
The indoor swimming pool is of limited access (unless You use the beauty centre) but there's an hour or two on midday when there's free aqua-aerobic and, later, free swimming possibility. The pool is not of Olympic or even school dimensions though, so don't expect to be able to continue Your pre-Olympic training ;)

The value for money seems very, very good. The All-Inclusive is very beneficial, especially if You don't plan many local excursions (though I would be a little sorry to fly several hours and not leave the hotel at all...). We definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north may be a little colder in winter months due to less sun (though heating is an opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    772
    280
    149
    80
See reviews for
797
697
61
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week at Founty Beach - the staff here are fabulous so friendly I can't imagine why people say they are not! Always a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Everyone was incredibly helpful and made our stay very memorable. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The pool is lovely and plenty of sunbeds despite the odd towel on them at 7am!! It's my first time at an all- inclusive and I was delighted with the choice and standard of food - again the staff here extremely polite and friendly. The sunsets here are the best I have seen and for a bit of late sunshine it's perfect - only 3.5 hrs from the UK and it was 28-30c all week! Nice easy break with great food and lovely staff :) thanks for a fabulous time !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having read a lot of positive reviews on this hotel and having seen the photos we had quite high expectations. The hotel on first impression seemed very well kept. Check in was quite slow but when we did get to our room we found it to be spacious and clean which is the main priorities. Only problem is a "double room" is just two single beds pushed together.

We stayed on bed and breakfast basis so can't really comment on the food here but the breakfast was always plentiful with a good variety,
Though sometimes you struggle to find a table in the restaurant area as they seem to clear tables away quite early.

The swimming pool was kept clean though we didnt sit around the pool area often as the music blasting out didnt help us to relax! We spent every day at the beach which was lovely and the sea was really nice aswell. A lot warmer than the swimming pool!

Overall we were dissapointed in Agadir in general. French and German are the main languages and tourists here, and that being English we just seemed to get ignored and stared at. There also isnt a lot to do or see, and it seems most people just like to stay in their hotels in the evenings.

This was a nice enough hotel but i think it is slightly over-priced and over-rated

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Founty Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Clare,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for your visit and for dedicating your time and effort to write this review. We are glad to may learn from our guest´s experiences in order to take their visions into account and achieve maximum adaption to their needs.

The top Iberostar Founty Beach hotel is located along an extensive beach in Morocco, less than half a mile from the city of Agadir, where you can find the most beautiful historical and cultural places of Morocco, such as the Kasbah, the Medina of Coco Polizzi, the modern city or the village of Inmmouzer des Ida Outanane. The location of the Iberostar Founty Beach hotel lets you discover the rich culture and tradition of Morocco during your beach holiday in Agadir and offers the opportunity to practice many sports within its premises as also a spa and beauty area. We deeply regret that in your opinion there was not that much to do or see.

Regarding our prices, which are established by the head office on a global level, we are pleased to let you know that we have passed your comments for their information and consideration.

Further, we thank you for highlighting the comfort and cleanliness of our spacious rooms and swimming pools. In Iberostar Founty Beach we always strive to meet and even surpass all expectations related to hygiene and cleanliness, it is very satisfactory to see that in this area we have been successful and this motivates us to perform even better.

Also, we are very glad that you enjoyed the wide range of quality products we offer during breakfast. Our chefs were enchanted when we informed them about your compliments.
Last but not least, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you find our hotel is nice enough as also that you enjoyed the spectacular beach which is one of our main attractions. We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Morocco.

Yours faithfully,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got there late night. We had booked a family room and from the picture on the website it looked fantastic. On the picture it had flat screen tv and very big beds. When we got to the room we realised it was not the same room we booked. It had 2 single beds attached together and a mini bed for our daughter that is 8. The room had no flat tv but a very old box tv. The tiles were broken in the bathroom and the furnitures had seen better days.
We had to call housekeeping straight away as sheets dirty.
We complained but the receptionist said we had to wait fo the manager next day.
We had taken the half board option so in the morning we went for breakfast. The breakfast room is enormous and full of people queing for food . Most of the time the machines run out of coffee, hot water and milk. The food is bland and horrible, salad was served for breakfast.
The manager arrived and we complained but achieved nothing room was not canged as hotel full.
Te Gym does not exist it has only 2 machines in it. Animators are terrible. We had only one meal in the hotel as chefs were terrible I have never tasted food so bad in my life and I travel everywhere for my job.
The second night we called housekeeping as we spotted little insects on the walls near the beds and they looked like bed bugs. They sprayed the room but insects still there next day. We also spotted a cockroach but no one was interested. Do not take children there this is not a nice hotel. The pictures are very deceiving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Founty Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Angelina,

We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work to satisfy all our guest’s wishes and to make them all feel welcome and well attended. Please rest assured that it is our goal to fulfill each and every one of the Iberostar quality standards.

Regarding the rooms and their equipment, we would like to point out that we have different types at disposal and we can only imagine that there must have been confusion during the booking as all of the types are precisely described and illustrated on our webpage. As you comment that your room was not fitting the advertised conditions, we are afraid that the reservation might have been of another category than the one you saw on internet. As we feel sad about your disappointment, for coming occasions, we would like to offer you a very personal booking guidance through our call center, to make sure you become what you actually desire.

For iberostar thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case any lack is encountered. As to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area we will be enchanted to adjust any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. However, we would like to inform you that we do have in place an established infestation treatment plan and we are working intensely on this specific problem of insects. We have in fact largely resolved this problem now and in the event of a localized infestation in a room, our housekeeping department undertakes an in-depth cleansing in conjunction with an adequate treatment.

In addition, we took good note of your remarks related to our culinary offer and we feel sad about your disappointed. The gastronomy is one of the pillars of our chain and we can assure you that it is essential for us that our customers enjoy our cuisine. For this reason, Iberostar is reinvented year after year, improving facilities and renewing our hotels with themed restaurants, special effects for the buffet, Show Cooking, etc. We have passed your constructive critics to the head of the department and we are checking the protocols in order to guarantee the compliance of our demanding quality standards. Even so, we would like to mention that currently we only work with professional chefs of great recognition that use only top quality products.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for having so precisely described your experience among us, as listening to our guests is the most opportune way to learn how we can still improve some off our services, therefore we will certainly take all off your comments in consideration.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very good value all round. The reception, terrace and dining room staff were very hospitable and accommodating. The beach bar staff seemed to be indifferent at times. The rooms were well maintained and clean. Really enjoyed our stay and the food was good. To summarise an enjoyable experience but some attention in a few areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was in a very good location and close to the beach. Check in was VERY slow and then we found we had to pay a local tax. Very disappointed with the room. It was so very basic and we had also paid extra for an upgrade room. The only thing that you could say was that the cleaners did their best. Not sure what they wash their laundry with but there was always a musty smell on bedding and towels. The doors to the wardrobe are very stiff and the drawers under the TV kept falling off the runners.
English is not a spoken language. You were always greeted in either French or German; however once you spoke English you then became a non person and were ignored. Staff in the restaurant try to close sections of the restaurant off at various times and can get quite stroppy if you find you have to sit on a table in a closed section as there were no clean tables available. We always had to try and find some utensil or glass. We had to try and catch someone’s eye to try and get a drink and even then if another French or German guest spoke we then had to wait even longer. The selection of food is very good and you can always find something to eat. Sweet section is very good.
The animation staff are excellent. There are plenty of activities going on if you want to join in. You do have to go down quite early to get a seat near the pool. You pay 100MD deposit for every beach towel. These run out quite quickly so you do have to keep your eye on the cabin to see when clean towels are arriving.
The bar is very undermanned for the number of guests. You have to wait a considerable time to get served during the busy periods and again if French or German guests shout then they get served before you.
Would only give the hotel 3 stars at the most.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online eputation Manager at Iberostar Founty Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

As to us the vision of our clients is the clue to complete guest-satisfaction, we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent writing this review. We are fully aware that this is the best way to achieve superiority and excellence in our daily services.

Concerning the comfort of the room we would like to apologies that on this occasion it could not satisfy you. It is our intention to offer nice accommodation in accordance with the specific needs and preferences of all our guests; therefore in Iberostar Founty Beach we have eight room types available, starting with double basic and ending with suite. Nevertheless we want to point out that for your next holiday we would be more than happy to assist you in our call center to choose the accommodation that best suits your particular wishes. Even so, we took good note of the lacks you encountered in drawers and wardrobe doors. We are very sorry not have been informed about these inconveniences during your stay, as for our technical department, responsible for the maintenance and care of the installations it would have been an honor to may solvent this straight away.

Regarding our staff we assure you that we choose and school them to cover as many languages as possible as we understand that good communication and service orientation are of prime importance to achieve maximum customer satisfaction, and we are sorry that on this occasion their performance did not meet your expectations.

On the other hand it fills us with joy that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our cooks. In Iberostar Founty Beach we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of its guests so that each and every dining experience proves sensational, offering the most delicious international and Moroccan dishes as well as cocktails, Italian fare, and tasty drinks.

Once more we want to thank you for having shared your opinion, rest assured it will help us to improve. We hope to may receive you soon and surprise you positively offering a perfect holiday!

Kind regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I am really confused as to how/why people have written the reviews they have on here, so I would like to add my own.. As an English person going abroad I was wary of the staff given the previous reviews however I soon found that being polite, smiling and throwing in the occasional joke often does the trick, like in England the service you recieve is often a reflection of how you interact with the staff. The hotel was up to standard, unlike a previous review that stated cockroaches (an issue in most hot countries yet one that was swiftly resolved by the sounds of it). The food was lovely, as was the drinks, the bar staff were great...why would you go away and be so hung up over a queue at the bar! The animation team deserve medals for their hard work and approachable nature, however the evening shows are an aquired taste! To give one of many example of how thoughtful this place is, upon arrival our bags were taken and our wrist bands put on and we were told not to think about checking in until we had eaten at the restaurant (we paid no tax upon arrival either), there are loads of day trips and stuff to keep you occupied. I am not bothered about having a plush room as frankly I go away to be outside in the hot! but the room exceeded all my expectations. Overall one of the best holidays I have been on. Thank you to all the staff for an amazing, well needed rest.

Room Tip: upgrade are available but whats the point! rooms are a good size and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Founty Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Founty Beach

Address: BP No 1039 | Cite Founty, Agadir 80 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agadir
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#9 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#14 Family Hotel in Agadir
#20 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Founty Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Founty Beach is an all-inclusive 4-star hotel in Morocco, on the Atlantic Ocean. Located very close to a beach of fine sand and less than a half mile from the centre of Agadir, Morocco's main tourist centre, the IBEROSTAR Founty Beach hotel is the ideal accommodation for enjoying the beauty and culture of Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Iberostar Founty Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Founty Beach Hotel Agadir
Iberostar Hotel Agadir
Iberostar Hotel Founty Beach
Founty Beach Hotel
Founty Beach Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Founty Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.