We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday, spoiled only by the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenzi Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kenzi Europa to your Saves list
Kenzi Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard du 20 aout BP 808, Agadir BP 808, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday, spoiled only by the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Kenzi for 10 nights, arriving 30th March. We had emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to request a quiet room with sea view, and told them we would be celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary during our holiday. We received a response that confirmed we would have a quiet room, and that they would also make us a cake.
When we arrived at the hotel (after a superb flight with Thomson) the chap at reception told us to go for lunch and then he would allocate rooms. Very kind, seeing as it is was virtually 3pm when lunch service finishes.
Booking in easy after lunch, it helped all transit cards had been completed on the plane. Very pleased with room, spacious, clean, light, sea view and quiet - on the 6th floor.
We settled in quickly, yes, you have to pay for the safe, I think it was 25dh a day (just under £2) and a further deposit of 100dh for each beach towel, the reception staff give you a ticket for your dinar, you give the ticket to the pool man, and at the end of your stay you give the towels back to the pool man and ask for your ticket which you take to the reception staff who give your deposit back. You can swap wet towels for clean ones as many times as you need. There is no way to beat the system, although some people did have their own towels.
We very quickly felt settled, breakfast is certainly the best meal of the day, my husbands favourite was the freshly cooked flatbreads, whilst I could work my way through fried eggs, potatoes, their yummy version of baked beans, cheese, and cooked tomotoes, followed by fresh bread with fig jam and delicious soft white cheese. The queue for freshly squeezed orange juice was never for more than 5 minutes, well worth it, especially when near the end of our trip they moved the orange juice man outside. The freshy brewed mint tea is also well worth trying.
Lunch was always lots of salad choices, with several main courses to decide from, and always something barbequed. Chips were served every day. We were always lucky enough to get a table outside to eat lunch, which made it more special, most people chose to eat in the restaurant. Pancakes were on offer at 4pm, It was always lovely to watch children indulge in these. Dinner was sometimes a little disappointing, we never left the restaurant hungry, and there was plenty to choose from but somehow the main courses on offer weren't always to our taste, which seems incredibly rude when we could choose from at least two fish main courses, 4 meaty things and a couple of veggie options. It may have just been that the restaurant itself does not blend itself to intimate dining! However, on our Anniversary, the staff were as good as their word and we were delighted (and a little embarrassed) to be presented with a celebration cake. A few other people celebrated birthdays whilst we were there, and Kenzi's way of doing it is to turn off the lights, the chef marches in with the cake, accompanied by 4 or so
waiters, all singing to the birthday/anniversary persons.
We had really good service from our waiters, wine, water, rolls and butter were on the table when we went for dinner, finished with plates cleared with quickly. We chose to tip, not sure that everyone did, but they work very hard for long hours, and we very much felt that the waiters genuinely wanted to please you.
We also tipped the chambermaid, well worth it, as it was so cold for our first few days we indicated to her that we were shivering and she trundled in with a portable radiator for us to use. It was very valuable as the sea mist hung around until midday, making it very chilli. Apparantley not unusual for Agadir.
A useful tip is to go to the bank (turn right out of the hotel and a 1 minute walk) to chage 100dh notes into tipping change.
All in all, we found the beds wonderfully comfy, the showers ultra powerful, the staff friendly and the all inclusive drinks adequate, although we are in no way big drinkers. There are plenty of seats around the bar and lobby to have your own space.
Night time, it was fun to watch the kiddies dancing with the animation team, we never stayed up late enough to watch the provision for adults.
We sometimes had to queue for things freshly cooked, but they cook as fast as they can!!!
Kenzi itself is brilliantly situated in Agadir, some hotels are quite a way from the centre.
We would certainly stay at Kenzi again, but sadly the weather would be a concern.

Room Tip: email prior to your arrival and outline your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    178
    72
    26
    16
See reviews for
133
154
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at the same chain of hotel, the Kenzi group in Marrakesh which is absolutely amazing, we were disapointed to say the least. There is only one member at reception who is helpful and when I needed a lighter , he asked me to stay and wait whilst he sent a member of staff out to get one for me... apart from that we were given wrong information time and time again whether it was regarding there inclusive entertainment or information regarding clubs directly outside. Again in the restaurant, the staff were not helpful and in the bar we were given wrong information regarding drinks that were included in an all inclusive. The rooms are ok and there is not problem there but we booked and paid for 3 sea or pool view rooms and only 2 of them were, the other was not.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Kenzie Europa on the 2nd April till 5th with 3 friends. At arrival we had to fill in the standard check in forms and were shown our rooms. My first impressions were that the rooms were spacious and clean as advertised. The hallway leading the rooms was very plain and reminded me of a hostel. I first asked the reception for an iron and was told it was only available between 8am till 4pm which I found strange for a hotel that advertises itself as a 4*. I then asked if i can exchange currency and was denied because the staff at reception said they are waiting on a delivery! This left us in a bit of a dilemma as it was around 11pm and the currency exchange places were closed. Within minutes the guy at the reception had a sudden change of heart and magically he had enough money for us to exchange. The beds were comfortable to sleep in and the en suit were clean. The breakfast service was good and had a wide range to choose from. The rooms were not serviced regularly and we had to prompt reception on a few occasions to get new towels. When I requested the iron again, i was told that they don't supply an iron but offer an ironing service charged at 10 dirhams per item, again finding this strange as the most basic of hotels offer an in room iron. The next night we asked to change money again but this time we were abruptly refused. During the entire trip i did not see a single smile from any of the staff at the hotel and found them to be arrogant except the night guard who was a pleasant young man. Upon checking out of the hotel we was charged tax on the clothes we had ironed even though there was not a single mention of this at any point. In all if your looking for a place to sleep and have a half decent breakfast then visit this hotel otherwise id look elsewhere.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Kenzi Europe four night with my daughter room and breakfast bases. Bit disappointed; weather wasn't what we expected (27c weather forecast). Cold breeze;( managed to stay only couple of days by the pool otherwise too cold) The hotel can do nothing about the weather but they could do something about the hotel! The sink in the bathroom was blocked; water didn't run away easily. The towels were worn out. The breakfast wasn't brilliant; happy we only had bed and breakfast so we were able to eat in different restaurants by the beach. You had the pay for the safe in your room. which I haven't done anywhere else. The staff at reception wasn't very friendly and the entertainment in the evening was poorly, hence we stopped to see it briefly only couple of times. The beach was near across the road with nice long promenade; shame about the weather; lucky we had our winter coats with us. Would I stay in Kenzi again; I don't think so.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the Kenzie in March 14 and will not return. When we arrived the reception staff wasn't very welcoming. They mixed our paper work up with someone else and the language barrier is very difficult. We purchased a safe password and it locked on us on the last day before we had left the hotel with out personal items inside (Drama). We had the welcome meeting with the rep on our first morning and all we heard about was selling tours and nothing about the hotel itself ie meal timings where things were how to get towels all the things you need to no. Meal were very repetitive and been a vegetarian the choice was very limited. Rooms were very clean and adequate for what was needed. When going to the bar we had to walk through smoke screens of cigarette smoke before we got there and this is the only bar. Will never return.

Room Tip: Top floor block one gets sunshine most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights in miserable weather and there's not much to do in Agadir when it rains.
Good points: room was big and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and freshly cooked Meloui (Moroccan bread) and omelettes. Fresh OJ squeezed to order was a nice touch. Location was fine, by the beach which is the only attraction of Agadir. Pool was heated, which was good but we didn't sit around due to weather. Wifi was fast in lobby. Rooms were clean and well serviced daily.
Bad points: you must pay extra for room safe - not acceptable. Wifi not available in room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Kenzi Europa, Agadir, Morocco from 12-03-2015 to 26-03-2015

Staff very friendly and attentive and they kept the whole place spotlessly clean and tidy at all times, the hotels best asset.

Arrived after 30-40 minute drive from Airport. - Door staff brought our cases from coach into hotel whilst we registered at reception. We had to fill in another form almost identical to the one we filled out on the plane for passport control. Despite this we were dealt with promptly and efficiently and were shown to our room (2264) by the doorman who also carried our cases.

ROOM - This was excellent very well laid out, very nicely decorated, Usual bathroom facilities, very good powerful shower. The balcony which never had any sun on it at all overlooked the pool and garden areas which were lovely. We had a flat screen TV, (only 3 English speaking channels 2 News (BBC, RT.com) & a Film channel.). Small fridge and safe (about £23 for 2 weeks) it wasn't bolted down but it was big enough to ensure it wouldn't be easy to go walking out with it. There are no drawers in the room so I followed someone elses tip and took a pack of extra hangers from the pound shop.

BAR - We thought the bar area was rather small for the size of the hotel (Non-smokers be aware that smoking is permitted in the bar area). All drinks were served in what I can only describe as wine glasses this made sure there was always more alcohol than mixer but was a bit peculiar. As someone else reported beer was only available in bottles but was good enough.

RESTARAUNT – At breakfast there was a pretty good choice available as other reviewers have reported. The hot drinks machines were only for use at breakfast and you only got a half a small cup from them. (Tip - get 3 drinks and make 2 out of them).

Lunch - Dinner There was not a great lot of choice in the hot food. Chicken & Fish every day, Beef or Turkey on some days and a pasta dish of some sort. Paella and a Lamb dish once. Try to get it when they put a new helping out since there were no warm plates at times and the food soon went cold.
What there was, was good but very repetitive, lots of salad choices.

ENTERTAINMENT - Not much during the day that I noticed apart from a bit of aerobics and there is a Gym I believe but I go on holiday for a rest. At night there was a duo on guitar and synth OK but they were not on for long. Snake charmer one night, Egyptian dancer, whirling dervish type with lights, he was good. One night we had what was described as a Moroccan ensemble, 4 men with small hand drums and 4 girls in traditional dress. Very loud and no change in beat or song, not at all impressed. Cabaret show by entertainment staff, all dance. Acrobatic troupe very good.

This is the coldest Hotel we have ever been in in over 40 years of going abroad; it was cold inside all the time we were there. This hotel needs to look at people’s comfort; the layout of the hotel means all doors that open to the outside lead into the central areas where people sit. There was also a cold wind blowing whilst we were there and this made it worse. Thanks to this wind it felt cold even round the pool despite the sun. I don't know whether this weather is normal or because of it being early in the year but if I go again a coat and some jumpers would be in my case. The French guests all came prepared and lots of people including ourselves bought track suit type tops from local shops.

We did enjoy our holiday and met some nice people but we all agreed that if we went back to Agadir we would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenzi Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Europa

Address: Boulevard du 20 aout BP 808, Agadir BP 808, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#16 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#19 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenzi Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Kenzi Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Europa Agadir
Kenzi Europa Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenzi Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.