We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan version of the Hotel in The Shining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kamal to your Saves list
Hotel Kamal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
London
Level Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Moroccan version of the Hotel in The Shining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having re-read the reviews of this hotel I can't understand what possessed me to book here. It is a Tardis kind of hotel. Located on a lively street with cafes, restaurants and shops but a good walk from the seaside promenade, it has a modest entrance that leads you into a large and comfortable lounge area. But there were no guests at all which gave it a creepy kind of atmosphere. Upstairs it was worse. The hotel is huge and there is a labyrinth of corridors totally devoid of decoration. My travelling companion thought it was more like a hospital than a hotel and finding your way from room to lift was like finding the way out of the Hampton Court Maze. We decided we would only stay one night. Breakfast was not included in our room rate and we found the breakfast room was bleak with only two guests. We went to the nearby Patisserie Tafarnout instead.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is huge and there seemed to be hardly any guests, we were shown to a room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed in this place for one night - following the lonely planet guide. We were really disappointed, it is really pricy for what it is. Old, tired rooms, no character whatsoever. A big hotel which has seen better days. the worst bit was breakfast; our guide says that it is 'dull and overpriced'. Well, we thought it was worse. Tea and coffee tasted like lentils soup. all they gave to eat was just some bread and pastries. No variety. No fruit, no yogurts, no cereals or eggs. Location was not great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want a hotel with spacious, modern rooms and a delicious breakfast then put your hand deeper into your pocket and go somewhere else. The plus points of this basic, budget hotel are the cleanliness, the small but comfortable rooms, the lovely pool area and its drinks and snacks area and a lovely, friendly reception bar where everyone has a tale to tell about their day.

Ask around, regular vistors to Agadir have been staying here for year after year. Some of the regulars are resident throughout November and December, the reason, it's cheap.

Local restaurants are varied with top quality food at good value for money prices.

Relax in the Kamal Hotel and with the money you undoubtedly will save you can traet yourself to a meal in a top notch restaurant. Safe to walk about during day or night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I Think some of these reviews are from other hotels as i cant understand it being the same place!
The hotel was unbelievably clean, the maids clean every day and even scrub the floor mats around the hotel every day! Receptionists were very helpful with restaurant advice and helping us pick out the fraudsters who tried to get us book quad biking etc with them (be aware)
The hotel organised a lady to come book all our day trips with us which was brilliant - quad biking, sahara desert, atlas mountains and camel rides. Some of the best experiences i have ever been on.
Yes there is only Wifi in the reception but who goes on holiday to sit on wifi all day anyway?
We used it for checking restaurant reviews before we ate which is more than enough wifi.
The breakfast was repetitive, but what can you expect for the price of it - it is ridiculously cheap!
There is a bakery across the road which was wonderful and had brilliant moroccan biscuits.
Surrounded by wonderful restaurants. Would recommend walking up from the hotel to find cheaper places to eat, yes your entering a less tourtisty place but the food is much better quality and much cheaper than walking down towards the waterfront.
The pool was so clean but ice cold so just be aware when jumping in, it is a shock to the system
Overall loved it and would pick hotel kamal again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is probably one of the most depressing hotels I have stayed in, I admit that we visited Agadir out of season (Nov 12) so it wasn't at full capacity, however the place had a very tired and unloved feel to it.
We parked our hired car outside the front of the hotel as the reception directed us to on arival, which was driven into one night - certainly not the hotels fault, but the receptionist couldn't have been less proactive in assisting, to the extent that she was extremely rude and unhelpful. If I managed the hotel the receptionist would be fired on the spot in the way she conducted herself, lying to our faces, stating that noone saw or hear the crash, when the night porter and receptionist had all the details. We were informed by another hotel guest that there is a hotel car park to the rear of the hotel.
On the plus side the room was clean. The bathroom needs a hook to hold the shower head, as it's difficult to wash your hair otherwise.
Breakfast - they couldn't have made less effort. Two sticks of stale french bread and a few solid pain du chocolat.
There are better located hotels closer to the waterfront.
The reception doesn't stock maps or any tourist information, so print off before you arrive
The wifi only works in reception - not in the rooms

Room Tip: Pool side with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidbHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel looks nice until you go up the stairs, the corridors are like walking through a hospital & the rooms are depressing. Very outdated hotel. The website & pictures are deceiving.
Breakfast, what breakfast? You are paying for a buffet of bread, butter, jam, tea & coffee- worst breakfast ever!!! They have extras that you have to pay for, but there are far better options outside the hotel.
The bed is like sleeping on a rock & the covers have been patched up where torn instead of being replaced.
You could be offered a room overlooking the pool or with a view that looks like the slums. Like most of the guest you may prefer to spend most of your time at the hotel in reception- one of the places they do have wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTravelEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to Agadir for a week in October. Hotel is very clean, friendly staff. Someone was burgled in the hotel while we were there. Had someone go into their room in the middle of the night and access their safe.

The pool side cafe is ok. Expensive, and one day i ordered chicken skewers, and some of the chicken wasn't fully cooked.

Whilst in Agadir i was very poorly, so stayed in the hotel for most of my stay. The cleaner was very helpful bringing fresh towels on a regular basis.

To be honest i wouldn't go back to Agadir, taxi drivers take advantage of tourists, taking you to their cousins shop, and their brothers restaurant. Certainly not how i want to spend my holiday.

But as i said, clean, cheap hotel. staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.2 mi away
Argana Hotel
Argana Hotel
#29 of 79 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Farah Hotel
New Farah Hotel
#31 of 79 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sindibad
Hotel Sindibad
#6 of 79 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Timoulay & Spa Agadir
0.3 mi away
Tagadirt Hotel
Tagadirt Hotel
#54 of 79 in Agadir
3.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Albatros Agadir
Beach Albatros Agadir
#26 of 79 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kamal 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing