We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kamal to your Saves list
Hotel Kamal
Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I Think some of these reviews are from other hotels as i cant understand it being the same place!
The hotel was unbelievably clean, the maids clean every day and even scrub the floor mats around the hotel every day! Receptionists were very helpful with restaurant advice and helping us pick out the fraudsters who tried to get us book quad biking etc with them (be aware)
The hotel organised a lady to come book all our day trips with us which was brilliant - quad biking, sahara desert, atlas mountains and camel rides. Some of the best experiences i have ever been on.
Yes there is only Wifi in the reception but who goes on holiday to sit on wifi all day anyway?
We used it for checking restaurant reviews before we ate which is more than enough wifi.
The breakfast was repetitive, but what can you expect for the price of it - it is ridiculously cheap!
There is a bakery across the road which was wonderful and had brilliant moroccan biscuits.
Surrounded by wonderful restaurants. Would recommend walking up from the hotel to find cheaper places to eat, yes your entering a less tourtisty place but the food is much better quality and much cheaper than walking down towards the waterfront.
The pool was so clean but ice cold so just be aware when jumping in, it is a shock to the system
Overall loved it and would pick hotel kamal again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    100
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
49
135
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is probably one of the most depressing hotels I have stayed in, I admit that we visited Agadir out of season (Nov 12) so it wasn't at full capacity, however the place had a very tired and unloved feel to it.
We parked our hired car outside the front of the hotel as the reception directed us to on arival, which was driven into one night - certainly not the hotels fault, but the receptionist couldn't have been less proactive in assisting, to the extent that she was extremely rude and unhelpful. If I managed the hotel the receptionist would be fired on the spot in the way she conducted herself, lying to our faces, stating that noone saw or hear the crash, when the night porter and receptionist had all the details. We were informed by another hotel guest that there is a hotel car park to the rear of the hotel.
On the plus side the room was clean. The bathroom needs a hook to hold the shower head, as it's difficult to wash your hair otherwise.
Breakfast - they couldn't have made less effort. Two sticks of stale french bread and a few solid pain du chocolat.
There are better located hotels closer to the waterfront.
The reception doesn't stock maps or any tourist information, so print off before you arrive
The wifi only works in reception - not in the rooms

Room Tip: Pool side with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Hotel looks nice until you go up the stairs, the corridors are like walking through a hospital & the rooms are depressing. Very outdated hotel. The website & pictures are deceiving.
Breakfast, what breakfast? You are paying for a buffet of bread, butter, jam, tea & coffee- worst breakfast ever!!! They have extras that you have to pay for, but there are far better options outside the hotel.
The bed is like sleeping on a rock & the covers have been patched up where torn instead of being replaced.
You could be offered a room overlooking the pool or with a view that looks like the slums. Like most of the guest you may prefer to spend most of your time at the hotel in reception- one of the places they do have wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went to Agadir for a week in October. Hotel is very clean, friendly staff. Someone was burgled in the hotel while we were there. Had someone go into their room in the middle of the night and access their safe.

The pool side cafe is ok. Expensive, and one day i ordered chicken skewers, and some of the chicken wasn't fully cooked.

Whilst in Agadir i was very poorly, so stayed in the hotel for most of my stay. The cleaner was very helpful bringing fresh towels on a regular basis.

To be honest i wouldn't go back to Agadir, taxi drivers take advantage of tourists, taking you to their cousins shop, and their brothers restaurant. Certainly not how i want to spend my holiday.

But as i said, clean, cheap hotel. staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a total of 5 days at hotel kamal agadir it was a nice hotel well located staff ok but on bus back to agadir found my backpacks sidepocket had been broken into. nothing taken but had to cancel my credit card. Had a good time in morrocco this was the only worry i had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just returned from this hotel our eighth visit.it is spotless.friendly staff.and a lovely pool area ,contrary to the other report there has always been lovely hot water any time of day .the last review,i disagree with every word .you only need to read the other reports ,but as they say you always get one,i would be curious to know which other hotel they went to.for less price ,and as clean and friendly as the Kamal
. Thanks everyone for a great holiday judith Geoff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I'll resume our experiences quickly (in order of importance):

The hotel is old and more expensive than any of the definitely better equipped new hotels in agadir. We changed to a better one paying about 2/3 of the price!

Room: No hot water and only a bathtub in the bath without an option to hold the shower head... that does not make foe a comfortable shower experience. The bath and room smelled not very good because of the humidity in the room.

Reception: I did an online reservation, which apparently had not been confirmed, so instead of the discount we had to pay the full price. Additionally, the night receptionist was not cooperative and couldn't help us find some place to have dinner...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Agadir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.