We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Kamal to your Saves list
Hotel Kamal
Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Taranaki, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and found the hotel well located, good value and staff very attentive and helpful. Our stay was during Ramadan so the hotel seemed almost empty, which seemed a shame really.

Taxi from the airport and bus station were 200dh and 20dh respectively. It was an easy 5-10min stroll to the promenade.
The rooms were spacious and have a good sized balcony, although no AC :( we left our balcony door open which proved pretty noisy (as there were Ramadan celebrations into the wee hours).
Like the hotel, the pool is quite large and quite private.

We were recommended a day tour to tiznit and a berber village, by the staff which turned out great.

I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    100
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
49
135
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is about my 12th time at the Hotel Kamal! I like it because its small and central.You meet a lot of old friends, its very very clean and well run!. Staff as always are helpful, friendly and courteous. Travelling alone this time didnt bother me as I was made to feel very welcome indeed!
The reception area is lovely, having been recently refurbished, the pool immaculate, and the dining room very pleasant for your evening meal. Towels are changed daily and linen at least 2 a week. Although I was B&B there are plenty cafe/restaurants nearby. If its just a snack the cafe Verandha is good value, the restaurant Caverna is not too bad and Restuarant Scampi is good but pricey! Of course The Kamal restuarant offers good value and the poolside snack area is very pleasant indeed and service good.
There is no entertainment in the hotel but if you like dancing ....quicksteps etc or just to get out take a taxi to the reception Hotel Beach Club where there is a group singing 50s, 60s 70s etc.
The atmosphere is friendly and you meets lots of nice people. Drink is not badly priced! If after your dancing and you want a late night, walk across to the Restuarant Ceasar....food and service good and usually a regular singer.....atmosphere mainly Moroccan but good fun! Going home about 2am the taxi shouldnt be more than 30 dirhams. Out of 28 nights I went 21! Was shattered!!
Taxis are now subsidized by the government..so a town centre trip should be about 5 to 6 dirhams...certainly not more than 10 dirhams. Always check the meter is on and take the taxi no. The souks are great fun but be prepared to relax, laugh and smile! Tablecloths are great value especially the hand embroidered linen...good for wedding presents and ladies the nighties in the souk are super.. long with sleeves...good for the hot water bottle and well priced! Note I am female!! Sandy Mackay is my cat! Take your hot water bottle with you especially in January/February......its about 65 degrees then!!
If flying into Marrakech there is a good bus service to Agadir...but reserve your seat at the Supratours bus station or the CTM Bus station. Single fare is about 100dhs. The journey time on the new motorway is about 3.50 hrs to Agadir bus station where you can get a taxi to the Kamal....watch the price! about 30 dirhams. When out in Feb exchange rate was about 13dhs to the £ Sterling. Needless to say I return again to the Hotel Kamal in February 2013 for 4 weeks!!

Room Tip: The family rooms along the tiled corridor..opposite reception and above the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Agadir is a lovely seaside resort and the Kamal is very close to the beach and town.
We enjoyed the ease of the streets and the beautiful promedad walkway. The
Evenings were very safe for strolling and of coarse the food was great. The hotel has a
beautiful pool and is very well kept and clean.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Still can't believe how cheap this holiday was over all. Two weeks (peak Easter time for us here) was just under £1000 for 2 people, including flights from UK.

Bed and breakfast basis (there are plenty of restaurants near by serving good food). Room cleaned every day; clean sheets and towels every day. The room was comfortable and fine for the amount of time you spend in it. There is an en suite bathroom with shower and bath. Some rooms have balconies also. All rooms have tv and sockets for that all important travel kettle (ok, I'm sad; I like my tea on hols!).

Lunch is available and there is a snackbar by the pool open between 11 and 5pm, with a reasonably varied, reasonably priced lunch snack menu. The pool is a decent size and is very clean; cleaned daily. In fact the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and staff are very welcoming. We could not belief how quiet the place was during our 2 weeks there. On the 2nd floor, there is a huge balcony with a few sun loungers, which was unused the whole time we were there, except by us. Occasionally, we took lunch out with us and a bottle of wine; very pleasant!

Agadir is not the most attractive of places in the world but there are plenty of opportunities to see the local culture and a visit to the souk (market place) was an experience. Red taxis are the way to travel around here and are VERY cheap; all trips are metered (make sure you check they have put the metre on). Only use white taxis for great distances and agree prices first.

Hotel Kamal is fairly central to most things in Agadir. Short walking distance for shops (including a 'fixed price' shop so no haggling if you tire easily of this 'game'), papers (limited English ones if you want those), restaurants and bars etc. THere is a great restaurant a couple of doors away (the Scampi) with a fantastic menu for evening meals; very useful as the Hotel restaurant was closed in the evenings when we stayed. The beach is about 15 minutes walk (or less if you're in to speed walking). The beach, as you would expect on the coast there, is quite breezy, so pick your days there carefully or prepare to get sand blasted.

The weather was glorious, as it is almost all year round. Temperature charts state 20 - 23 degrees in April but it was much hotter than this many days we were there (nearer to 30), which with the breeze from the coast, was very pleasant.

All in all, if you want a cheap break for sun, warmth and almost constant blue skies, this is a good place to go; not quite as far as the Canary Islands, and in my opinion, much better weather. If you want more culture and more things to see, then you would possibly not enjoy it. There are a few places to visit, eg a trip up to the Kasbah is a must for the views. Our Rep said it was in walking distance (gees, she must like hiking long distances!); we took a red taxi, which waited while we took in the views (30 mins or so, agreed a price). There are camels up there so be prepared to say 'no' and sound like you mean you don't want to ride one, otherwise they can harrass you quite a bit. Also, don't accept 'helpful guidance' from anyone anywhere as they will charge you for their advice and 'tour' !!

Room Tip: Go to lastminute.com for a fantastic deal. Ask for a balcony room or room near the top (3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

we stayed at kamel end of march ,staff were friendly and helpful we went at a quiet time so wasnt so busy ,we stayed b&b and found breakfast bit boring but hotel clean and exellent location agadir was very pleasant evenings very chilly but plenty of sunshine through out the day
would def go again

Room Tip: get top floor over pool fantastic views of kasbah
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week in mid March to celebrate her birthday and we are so glad we chose the Kamal. The customer experience here is one of the best you'll find at any star rating of hotels. (Constantly, for the last 20 years I've travelled on business worldwide staying in 3 - 5 star hotels so I have a lot to compare to)

Everyone here seems interested in saying 'hello' and helping you have the type of holiday experience you personally want. The hotel is neat, very clean, with a boutique feel but without the boutique decor or prices.

Its conveniently located to everything and the rear of the hotel with its pool is a little oasis with bird song and palms dominating. If you want a change of restaurant to the ones on the promenade, try restaurant 'Scampi' a few doors along from the hotel; another great experience.

You really can't go wrong with this hotel and its no wonder people want to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the pool and the bigger rooms downstairs lead onto the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay for one night having dropped our car and before flying home. Hotel Kamal is very convenient, being 5 mins walk from the car rental offices. Clean, large room and simple but wholesome breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful - a very good choice for our needs. For a longer stay it seemed fine, there being a pool and restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Our room (428) was on the back of the hotel and overlooked the pool - it was quiet and very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agadir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.