We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In. FAN-TAST-IC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kamal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kamal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kamal
Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In. FAN-TAST-IC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hotel Kamal is perfectly located with small shops located within arm’s reach and the beach only a 10 minutes’ walk away. If you head to the North of the hotel you experience the less touristy part of Agadir and the locals are all more than happy to talk to you.

The staff were very friendly and offered a fantastic informative service of all the local activities and places to visit. The waiters and room cleaners work tirelessly to ensure an impeccable standard of service. Being quite messy students the room service gentle gentleman was fantastic in making are room look hardly lived in. (Secretly we wanted to take him home)

The breakfast if you read the previous reviews is pretty basic consisting of bread, croissants, orange juice and hot drinks. Despite being limited it always tasted freshly made and we had no complaints. There is also a very cheap alternative menu available.

The room had some dated decor as you can see from the pictures but it was immaculate fresh smelling and extremely comfortable. The hotel itself is very quiet which was lovely for a relaxing holiday. Our room was next to the road which was a little noisy late at night but it provided a great sense of atmosphere as we could see all the local mosques, the Kasbah and all the locals going to and from work.

The swimming pool was by far the best aspect of the hotel it was the cleanest pool I've ever been in and had a perfect design as it was deep in the middle providing a divider from the families and people who simply wanted to swim. There wasn't really an aspect we disliked to the hotel or the holiday it was fantastic

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    92
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
47
128
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

before we went i reseached this hotel and read the rave reviews on this site so booked a week there. on arrival we were impressed by the cleanliness of the reception area and the guy on the desk was quiet freindly.unfortunately it was pretty much down hill from there. our room, while it appeared clean, smelled of rotting trainers although it did clear a bit once we opened our balcony door but then there was the noise from the street. there is no air-con so the door had to be left open at night which was very noisey 'til late into the night. we asked to move to a quieter room but was told there was nothing available. there was no fridge. when i asked if any rooms had a fridge i was told there were 4 fridges in the hotel which could be hired at a cost but they were already all hired out. the worse thing though was having no shower. the bath water runs at a trickle (if at all) so if there are several of you wanting a bath you really have to start early. room safes are available and you pay for a key but at 150dh about £18 for a week it is rather steep. i couldn't say breakfast was bad, after all what's bad about bread and butter and coffee? but it's certainly not good either. on the up side (yes there is one) the pool area is a little oasis, clean, calm, not at all crowded, with a nice little snack and drinks bar.
i would not stay there again and that is largely due to my never going back to morroco

Room Tip: get a pool room or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

At first we were quite disappointed when we saw the decor in our room as it was quite outdated which you can see from most of the pictures already on this site but once you get past that you will have a better stay at this hotel than many others in Morocco.

Its worth mentioning that this hotel doesn't have air conditioning and being from chilly Scotland we were worried that this would be a huge problem in the 40 degree+ heat! When we went to the desk to ask if there were any rooms with air con the lovely man on reception could not be more accommodating. He showed us around a few other rooms that might be a bit cooler and gave us a huge fan to keep throughout our stay which was more than adequate. If you think air con is going to be a problem then I am sure if you request it in your booking they'd keep you one aside.

The rooms were very clean - not a spot of dirt in sight and again the housekeeping man was so very polite, a joy to talk to in the morning!

The pool is probably the cleanest I have ever been in and I have never known anyone to take such pride in their job than this hotel's pool man, he is there are the crack of dawn every morning cleaning the pool and is the last to leave in the evening! The sun beds and cushions are wiped down before you sit down every morning and the lovely relaxing pool area is spotless.

Location is perfect only 10 mins walk to the beach where there are plenty places to eat / drink, we made the trip several times late at night and didn't get any hassle. Should only be 20Dh in a taxi from the Supratours bus station.

Like the other reviews have said, the breakfast is quite basic at the Kamal but I stayed in 4 hotels in different areas of Morocco over my holiday and breakfast is the same everywhere so dont let that put you off.

If you're thinking about booking this hotel then do it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room w. balcony & pool view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My partner & i have stayed at this hotel twice now & love it, staff are very friendly & always smiling. Its got a cracking pool with a bar & snacks available.
Hotel itself is pretty basic but immaculately clean & tidy, the pool cleaner (mohamed) works 12 hrs a day 7days a week & never stops!!!
Breakfast is bread & jam but you can have boiled eggs & other things for a small charge.
Very good food served in the restaurant. All said & done we booked through thomas cook & on both occasions cost less than £600 for 2 weeks for the 2 of us, flights included.
Unfortunately TC are not using the kamal anymore so we will book direct next time.
A great place to stay & excellent value for money,
Regards to Hisham the barman a great guy with good manners.
All the best.. Martyn & Lesley

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Only one thing I would say was a downside, was the breakfast. Croissants or bread and jam. All staff friendly and helpful. Used a local taxi driver for days out. Cheaper than a tour guide and very informative - Madani Daoudi 00212 666 533573. Definately would go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

The hotel is very dated although the rooms are a good size and extremely clean. The maid and staff keep the hotel spotless. The groundkeeper who cleaned the pool always looked busy and worked hard to keep the pool really clean. Although I was slightly upset as the pool was being cleaned when we arrived so we were unable to use it for the first three days. Alhough it was refreshing to see him putting in so much effort to have a spotless pool for the hotel. The hotel was very good value for money and the hotel staff were so friendy they really made our visit! The breakfast was basic but nice enough- the hotel was situated a short walk from the beach and I would definately return/recommend! There is also a fabulous rish restaurant a few doors down from the hotel which I'd also recommend if you're eating out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Went on holiday to Agadir with a friend and was looking for a cheap and cheerful break with some sunshine to escape the tail end of the winter weather. Hotel Kamal was good choice - the rooms were clean and perfectly adequate, there was a decent sized swimming pool and fairly well located, about 10-15mins from the beach. Admittedly we didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the staff were helpful and the free wifi was appreciated. We did get a room facing the pool which meant it was quieter and can imagine that the rooms facing the main road would be alot noisier. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kamal

Address: Ave Hassan II, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agadir
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#7 Family Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Kamal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamal Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.