We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Al Madina

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Al Madina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Al Madina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd du 20 Aout, secteur Balneaire, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's ok for a quick stay at Agadir... don't expect too much.. rooms are ok... just because they have air conditioner...

Staff and pool are ok.

Breakfast is madness time... if your an outsider and stay here you'll probably understand what I mean.

Location is good because it's close to the beach and avenue which has a lot of restaurants.
By the left side of the hotel, close to the beach, if you walk about 2 minutes there's an english pub, where you can have drink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    39
    25
    27
See reviews for
34
75
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We went to agadir for the first time and stayed at the Ryad Mogador - to be honest we did not know what to expect and with two children (3 and 1 years old) in tow we had to be careful we checked all the reviews before going but it was still a hard decision. But after returning from our one week stay - amazing! The hotel service was next to none they were all so friendly and accomodating. The rooms were very spacious and very well located in proportion to the restaurant and the pool - we spent nearly 80% of the hotel time either in the pool or at the pool side. We stayed with half board and every evening the meals were excellent - and alot of choice too. The hotel was clean - there are some parts that need a lil DIY but not dirty - we loved it and the best thing was it was walking distance to the beach, the boulevard - it was the most relaxing holiday you can expect with two kids. I would recommend this hotel to all families - aot of other families stayed too which made it even more enjoyable for the kids they also had a kids club which kept the kids entertained. compared to the other hotels which incorporate clubs etc - it was quiet and very enjoyable. We would definitely be going again and have been recommending this hotel to our families to go too :)

Room Tip: We had a room with not much of a view but the doors opened up to a wooden rail - and in the evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I booked into the Ryad Mogador Hotel ( dressed-up as the Ryad Mogador Al Madina Palace Hotel ), on 13/3/2012 on a half board basis. This hotel is most definitely NOT 4 star by any stretch of the imagination ! In 2011, I stayed at two 4 star hotels in Agadir. This is the one to avoid!
That evening there was a Moroccan buffet dinner which was really nice. However, thereafter it was all downhill. They changed the format to waiter service rather than buffet and the meals were bland and unappetizing. the first of these meals consisted of boiled potatoes, cauliflower and deep fried fish. The fiish was so thin that they must have used a rolling pin to get it to that thinness. I'm not joking! unbelievable! it was tasteless and dry. The next day the same treatment for the chicken I ordered, deep fried tasteless and dry skinny chicken. I did'ent eat it and decided to dine at the local restaurants. And did this apart from my last night where the menu looked attractive, a mixed fish dish. Wrong! I was served a plate full of different fish that should'ent have been on a plate together. The thought of eating it made me want to gag. They must be having a laugh! needless to say I did not eat it. I asked reception why the change and they replied that there were few guests so had to economise! The breakfast was as also dire, limited and with no variety. There are these male staff that just standing there mostly doing nothing. The head waiters are quite intimidating into ensuring that they get there tips. I was even asked for a tip by one of them. he did'ent get one nor thereafter. The other head waiter saw that I'd left a10 dirham tip for another waiter and just zoomed in like a seagull and palmed it !! 10 dirham is about 66pence! must be fun working there!
The room I had had seen far better days. The door card struggled to turn on the electric, there was a socket hanging out from the wall, the bath in a bad state of repair, the shower curtain was dirty. The cleaners were only given brushes to clean the floors and mats. My feedback to the hotel was that it should seriously consider seeking professonal advice before they have no guests at all. A very uncomforable stay. the best things were the soda bar, the free WiFi and the EXIT

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Visited with family in October 2011. The hotel is quite nice generally but the breakfast is the same everyday and quite limited. The room we had was a good size but the cleaning of the rugs was not that impressive. The restuarant staff were quite pleasant but the receptionist was not that great at all - when we arrived we checked in and he just let us go, only when the porter saw us he guided us to our room. On check out we was told we had to leave by 12 but our booking reference indicated we could book out between 12 - 2 so the receptionist was kind enough to allow us to book out at 1pm!! Good location for the beach and contrary to some reports of noise we did not have that trouble at all. Generally OK in some aspects but very poor in others.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I get som kind of guilty feeling to not recommend this hotel....because the staff is extemely freindly and helpful.
When we first got to the hotel,we where served some mint the....lukewarm....(but the freindly smile on the lady who served it ,made it the best the in the world) while we got checked in.
We where then taken to the room following a man who insisted on carring both of our bags at the same time. First impression of the room was ok,with a partial seaview.
I quickly found out that the tv only hade one english speaking channel and that was bbc news....but hey..I'm not in marrocco to watch tv.
The first night I did not fall a sleep for one minute...not one! I have never heard noise like that before.... cars honking,people honking,people talking really loud,people screaming,loud music and some more cars honking-honking-honking...it was madnes! But ok,it was night to sunday and myayby the morroccans had something to celebrate.... But nooo,this continued all week, and it can get verry frustrating when the tours you have ordered to Marraccesh and Tiznit leaves at 6 in the morning...
The breakfast is verry poor....sloppy eggs,only one sort of chees and one sort of "sausage"?? But freindly staff...
The pool area is also nice,but if you don't pay the pool man he quickly gets pretty rude.. That goes for the maid as well.

The hotel does not serve any alcohol,but has a fridge that makes the beer about 2-3 degrees colder during a 24 hour period...
You can get wine and beer on the pubs and restuarants around the beachwalk near by. but you will have to go to the supermarke (10min cab ride)t if you want to bring some beer back to the hotel.It's ok to do so,just dont show it in the public areas.

We also had som truble with the water turning brown,but they fixed it quick when we told them about the problem.

You have to pay them for everything to get a smile from them,only problem is... when you do, the pool man, the driver and the bartender will all become your best freind and personal guide,giving you massage,showing you the souk,the restaurants ,the beach,the mountains for a little bit more money,making you feel guilty if you don't

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms. This was a romantic occasion, as opposed to us returning for business travel. They ruined our experience and I feel so cheated that the option of staying somewhere I once liked, is taken away from me. The first night the room was filthy dirty and we were woken up early in the morning by shouting and banging from the kitchen below. The balcony was filthy but the view good. The bath was filthy. It was agreed the night before (as we arrived at 9pm, unbooked) that we would move to another room the next day and that was arranged around 9am the following morning. At midday, check-out time, we moved to another room upstairs, which was spacious with two great decks. The decks and room were once again filthy. The bottom of the bath was rough wil spilt plaster and paint. We had twin beds and it was agreed they would be changed to a king before we moved into the room. That didn't happen. As I was sunbathing on the balcony most of the day, I had a do not disturb on the door. So we had to wait until we arrived home from dinner to find our bed pushed together. Got into bed for a romanic evening and found they had used 2 single sheets overlapping. Sort of like having your bed 'pancaked'. After complaining, they found sheets of another bed, which were wrinkled and replaced them. Had to endure a cold shower in the morning...no hot water. Soaps etc., had been downsized, so not adequate shower gel in each bottle for a full shower. Hole in the toilet wall, stuffed with toilet paper. No towels or soap provided in the second bathroom. Upon discussion with reception upon leaving, they blatantly lied to us over two matters and the customer was definitelywrong. We travel alot around Morocco and Mogador was one of our favourites, but we will be finding an apartment on the beach edge for cheaper from this point onwards. I also noted in reception a build up of thick dust on the coffee tables.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Initially, I was concerned by some of the negative comments made in this forum. None of them proved to be true of our experience. We checked in late on a Saturday night and were allocated a lovely, spacious room with beautiful lead lined windows and our own balcony. I will say that the road beneath us was a little noisy - but not unacceptable. The following morning we mentioned this to the receptionist who was apologetic and more than happy to move us to another excellent room. The pool attendant was even kind enough to bring loungers up so that we could relax in private. The food is also of a good standard - every night they try to vary the themes so it never really feels like you are eating in the same restaurant. The waiters are friendly: attentive but not intrusive. There is a gym (despite what some comments here say) and it contains all of the machines you would expect to find. We didn't need to use it as just a short walk takes you on to the extremely clean and well-maintained beach front. We ran almost every morning before the sun got too hot. This hotel seems to have much more character than the sprawling, impersonal ones that are much more expensive on the water front.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Mogador Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Al Madina

Address: Blvd du 20 Aout, secteur Balneaire, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Al Madina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Budget Places, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Ryad Mogador Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Al Madina Palace Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Al Madina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.