We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ruined the family vacation !!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palais des Roses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palais des Roses to your Saves list
Palais des Roses
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Biggest Thalasso - Africa
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Agadir, Morocco
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ruined the family vacation !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I saw it was a 5 star but it will never be close to 2 , this is what happened that made me get my things and go to another hotel with my 3 kids and wife
Door guard: Sir you are not allowed to bring the water and the food in.
Me: why ???
Guard: hotel policy we have food and water available here at the hotel.
Me: yes water bottle for £8 and food starts at £30 tax not included . While outside the water is for £0.70 and the sandwich £2. No where it says I can't bring things inside my room.
Then I leave to continue to my room he puts his hands on the sandwich that my daughter is eating I shout at him to take his hands off her my wife grabs her away, kids start crying. I ask him to call his manager. The manager says that if we bring our food inside they will lock our rooms and they did then refused to open it for us to get our things till we called the Moroccan police explained what happened, then we submit a complaint to the department of tourism for the humiliation in the lobby and at the door that they caused us !

the rooms smell bad and we found that they dont clean the sheets , bathroom smells like crap, ac doesn't work and since they have an artificial lake, mosquitos are everywhere !!!!! nothing is % star. It was a huge mistake coming to this country for vacation !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    129
    87
    75
    83
See reviews for
120
138
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a great week in Agadir but this restaurant was our worst experience. Surly staff - totally untypical of Agadir restaurants - and we ate out for lunch and dinner everyday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a 4 nights. Still some improvements needed to fit in the 5-star Luxury category but still a very good resort. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the service is great. There were some very nice touches in the rooms which made the hotel feel extremely cozy and welcoming. It is well-located (beach-front) and extremely calm. A soothing experience.... Was very satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our last night after 6 nights in the Sofitel next door and what a let down it was. check in was slow the room had a balcony with a rubbish view of the road the table had broken tiles and chairs we were worried to sit on incase we got splinters. The bed and pillows were horrible the pillow was filled with god knows what and were all lumpy the towels felt cheap and really rough. We had an evening meal and it was disgusting there was hardly any choice and from what we did have the bread was the best. Pool looks gorgeous and is massive but it's freezing even on
A very hot day like yesterday it was cold. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We arrived at our hotel at approx 14:00 after a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport which was hot and dustyl. The argument with the taxi driver over a 20 dirham commission charge on top of the 170dirham fixed price got us in to swing of what was expected to come. The hotel was fantastic, porters collected our bags from the taxi and we went straight to reception. The lobby was vast and beautifully designed with cumfy leather sofas throughout. The reception man said alright mate trying to be funny but then very respectful and curteous. We went to our rooms which were fairly big and clean. The tv was nackerd and only showed CNN and euronews (english channels) everything else was arabic, french or German. The room was great and balcony overlooked the swimming pool and rest of the hotel. The atlantic was visable in the distant. We went to explore the hotel and took a walk up to the beach. I asked the hotel restaurant guy for the price of shisha, the menu showed 100dirhams but he charged an extra 10 dirham as commission which i did complain about at reception. The conceirge, kitchen staff were all so helpful and respectful. They tended to our needs. The location of the hotel was a little way out from the corneich. If you want peace then this hotel is situated in the right spot. All the action nightlife was down the corneich end. The location of palis des roses was the hotel right at the end of hotel run located next to the posh sofitel (after hours sofitel becomes a haunt for loose women and business men). Palais des roses is a beautiful hotel and the staff there are amazingly helpful. The hotel has a spa thallasotherepie where you can jump around in a heated pool for about 150dirham or £10. The walk to the corneich was around 40minute slow walk but you can hire bikes from the hotel and visit the port, marina and and corneich for around 70dirham for 3hours depending on how good you bargain. Palais des roses reminded me of allo allo at times where names of characters could have been given to staff....we had loads of fun. All of the above is good bearing in mind that it was january and hotel was less then quarter occupancy so staff had time to take care of our needs. Me and my brother enjoyed our stay at the palais des roses. the breakfast was excellent and dinner was just marvellous where you dont have to even leave the hotel. I was abit disspointed with the prices where a can of coke cost 30 dirhams and shisha hubble bubble costing 100 dirhams but surcharge of 10 dirhams was rude. The hotel is the last hotel on the run so expect a longer walk and more expensive taxi ride. .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Big, relatively new hotel on the Atlantic beach. Very good spa and hammam, including sea water pool (heated). We were their in the off season (February) and it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I spent 4 days here with a friend in April 2011 - What started off as a really good experience soon declined to the worst I've experienced. This is not a 5star hotel, 3 at the most. Advertise as a serviced pool area with towels and sunloungers.....on our 1st day it took 30/40mins for the staff to locate some towels, when they did they were full of holes - hmm 5 star I think not. The hotel room was fine with a nice view I will admit but the rest was just awful. The location of the rooms off a tiled corridor is very noisy and we were regularly woken by house-keeping and their trolley's at 6am. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told he was too busy to talk to guests. This hotel is mainly interested in their corporate guests, they hold conferences, they are not interested in the holiday maker. The front of house manager was great but also very embarassed at our treatment. The restaurant out by the pool wasn't opened once in the 4days we stayed there....it was so awful we dug our hands in our pockets and paid £50 to go and spend the day at The Sofitel next door - a true 5star experience. Expedia are saying this hotel serves alcohol - it does not! They are numerous areas with the world bar in the title - but only serve coffee. Also the layout of the hotel means you need to trapse huge distances to reach anywhere - particulary if you want a drink by the pool. The pool is supposed to be serviced but we regularly watched guests waving their arms frantically trying to get the attention of poolside staff - they were more interested in the girls by the pool. I hope this review reaches you in time to choose an alternative! I'm not a regular bad-reviewer but this had to be flagged!

Room Tip: The rooms aren't the problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Roses

Address: Secteur Touristique et Balneaire, Cite Founty, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#26 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais des Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Agadir, this hotel has access to a private beach. It offers an outdoor pool with 3 lagoons and a wellbeing centre specialising in specific body and face treatments. Each air-conditioned room comes with balcony; all rooms have a view over the Atlantic Ocean, the garden or the pool. They are equipped with cable TV, and a private marbled bathroom. Palais Des Roses Hotel & Thalasso has 4 restaurants, which serves Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine. It also offers a bar that serves snack and soft drinks. Palais Des Roses features 5 different shops including traditional clothes and Moroccan spices. Also available are a children's playground, volleyball area and tennis courts. Free parking is provided. It has close access to motorways N1, N8 and N10. It is a 30-minute drive from Al Massira Airport, and an airport shuttle is available to take guests to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Palais des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Roses Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais des Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.