We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The stay was excellent specially due to the site and brilliant staff such as momo and his colleagues at the breakfast, Nora at the reception. the best team ever is around the pool as ahmed and houssein who is very kind and patient with the kids (my 2.5 yo daughter learned to swim thanks to him). The only grey points are the quality and variety of food at the restaurants vs price and trying to call the reception in the evening is quite hard to get through. Overall my stay was excellent I will definitely go back. Thanks to all the staff, site and weather. See u soon

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with your family.

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the quality and variety of food and reception. Be assured that your valuable comments are positively taken on board and will be shared with the concerned managers and the team for immediate corrective action.

Thank you for your review and we look forward in welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    383
    164
    77
    45
See reviews for
320
615
68
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here for a late-booked short four day break and can't praise the Royal Bay - everything from its private beach, great pool, excellent staff and truly the best food we ate in Agadir. I went with my wife and found it perfect for a couple to stay but saw many families present and it was obvious that they are made just as at home.

I would certainly recommend to anyone - especially as a first experience of Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I´ve been during 10 days in Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, the resort is nice, good swimming pool, a good gim, confortable and clean rooms, but i found something really special in that hotel, the people who is working there, they made our stage perfect, specially Mr. Khalid, the manager of the restaurant, and finally a friend.. he made us feel really comfortable, like the most special guests, taking care of every detail you can imagine, he is one of the best professionals i never meet and i´ve been traveling around the world, also give thanks to Mustapha ,Jamile in the kitchen they made all my caprices possible , thanks really this team make me feel like at home, also thanks to Omar who take care of the rooms, ever so sympathetic and helpful and solving fast any problem may we have.
So conlcusion a good hotel that became a excellent hotel thanks to the people who work there.

David Parra
Barcelona, Spain

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had very enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the ambassador services specially Khalid, and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Best regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First time visiting Morocco, the weather was up and down but the staff at the Sofitel Agardir Royal Bay Resort were excellent. The hotel may not have been up to five star standard however the staff were. They would always greet us with 'Hello' or 'Bonjour'. I would particularly like to point out the following staff:

Khalid - for always going the extra mile for the guests, especially with me where he would provide me with toast every morning for breakfast even though they weren't serving toast.

Samina and Aziza - very friendly and efficient in preparing my breakfast every morning.

Aminos - very friendly and efficient at the pool side, on the sunday he was practically running the pool side on his own, taking the orders etc but he did not seem under pressure at all and still gave equal customer satisfaction to all guests.

My favourite part of the hotel was when you enter into the lobby there is a seating area with a tv screen where in the evenings we were able to chill out and do shisha till 1am and they accompanied that with good music taste.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service provided by our Ambassadors of a high quality.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were concerned before we went on holiday about it being a 5 star hotel and it feeling too stuffy and awkward as we wanted a beach holiday to relax in but with a bit more luxury - when we arrived, the concierge were brilliant and we were offered refreshments while we checked in then shown to our room. The place seemed to have a "5 star but relaxed" atmosphere, which is nice when you don't always want people in your face asking you if you're ok or need anything. If you needed them you only had to look in their direction or nod or wave at them and they would go out of their way to do whatever was needed.

The room was lovely (we had a classic room, which was the most basic on their listing) with a king sized bed with duvet (the comfiest bed ever!), air con, a bay window seating area (which looked over the garden and beach - sunset at night) and a very spacious bathroom. The room itself was a good size, light and airy and had electric blinds which blocked out the light really well so you could get a nice lie in if you wanted. My only criticism would be that the air con could have been better as it seemed a bit "weak", but it still helped. And that there was no main light in the room, just lots of lamps for atmospheric lighting... this was a bit annoying when you needed good lighting for something. The room was well sound proofed as I noticed we had a family with a child next door who you could hear when you were in the corridor, but once you got into your room you would never have known. Every day you had fresh flowers on your bed and in the bathroom all arranged in a different pattern, which was a nice touch.

The restaurants in the hotel were lovely too and the food was delicious! We both really enjoy trying different places for food and wine and this was something that we continued to enjoy in the hotel due to the wide variety offered in the different restaurants. What I would say is that on the website they boast 4 restaurants... we could only work out that they had 3 restaurants and out of these, only one was open every evening. The other was only open for lunch (noon till 6pm) and the remaining one was open 4 evenings a week. However, despite this, we had plenty of options on the menu's and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and delicacies provided. The sushi was amazing as was the service. They went the extra mile with everything and because of this we had some lovely experiences. You were also never made to feel like you had to provide a tip (like some places, which can get a bit annoying).

We had our lunch most days in the garden area, where they had little sunken booths to sit in for a more private, cosy atmosphere - these were nicely shaded and provided respite from the mid day heat whilst enjoying lunch. The staff here were so welcoming, friendly and polite and were happy to make suggestions, recommendations and just generally have a chat if you started a conversation with them. As our French is limited, they were more than happy to try to communicate in the best English they could and we filled in the gaps with some French at times - this was refreshing as you didn't feel pressured or uncomfortable to try and speak another language, as I had experienced in places in the past.
In particular I would like to mention Driss and Khalid who were very accommodating and shared a laugh or 2 with us about the language barriers. In particular Driss remembered our preferences and made every effort to provide us with anything we wanted or needed. His politeness was lovely with a "your welcome" after everything. Jamila's cooking was delicious, especially the steaks!! I am a steak lover and the flank was one of the nicest steaks I've had. Would highly recommend it. Their portions are generous too.

At the pool side, the staff were incredible with children of all ages. They were so friendly and attentive to the children, randomly giving them water guns or goggles or just joining in playing around the pool. There was always somebody around to help you with anything and to get you an ice bucket for your water or some drinks if you wanted. They even went around the pool asking if you wanted your sunglasses cleaning properly if they were smeared or anything. In particular, I would like to mention Didia who was so very attentive and when he was working in a different area of the pool, came to tell us and introduced the new waiter for the day to us. Look out for the guy who cleans the glasses and speaks quite good English as he is particularly helpful and friendly and is more than happy to suggest places to go and things to do etc. Given that it was Ramadan and they hadn't eaten all day, they do a very good job of keeping a smile on their faces and the guests faces and making everyone feel looked after.

The only thing I would mention at this time is that there was construction work going on in the pool area and so some of the pool was sectioned off. The building work at times was noisy, but it wasn't constant and it didn't cause problems for us. It was just a bit more background noise.

There were overcast skies for 3 out of 7 days which they said was usual for this time of the year in Agadir, but once the tide turned the wind blew off the cloud and more often than not there was a few hours of sun a day to enjoy.
The riad was a lovely place to relax in the evenings, but perhaps could have done with some different entertainment at times as the music became a bit samey after a couple of days. Unfortunately the drinks prices almost tripled on the Friday evening due to there being entertainment arranged... a little annoying and not really necessary from our point of view.

Overall this holiday was exquisite and was made so because of the accommodating nature of the staff at the hotel. The atmosphere was cosy, relaxed luxury - worthy of a 5* rating in my eyes, although if other people are expecting a "suited and booted, waiters in white gloves" 5* hotel, then this may not be the place for them.

Room Tip: At the moment, rooms on the south side of the building are quieter due to construction work on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay .

It was a pleasure to have you and your child with us, and we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for taking the time of writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor. And be sure that we will share your feedback with all our ambassadors.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Kindest regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
Ganeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great service, meals and accommodation. The pool/beach, dining and cleaning staff are all incredibly diligent, friendly and attentive! Incredibly gorgeous and serene setting. Would recommend checking out neighbouring hotel-- chic and relaxing. Two hotel
Options for the price of one. Special thanks to Amine (poolside staff) and Filali (dining staff) for all of their great service!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service, staff and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

- High expectations
- Stiff and not personalised welcome
- very bad quality room (old furniture, old, worn, felt not clean and uninviting)
- air conditioning smelled bad
- a moist smell in the room
- very bad and smelly elevators
- mainstream breakfast. A little simple and unhealthy. Missed a good salad and vegetables. The orange juice was not consentrated but mixed with water
- noisy constructors 7 in the morning
- left over bread from breakfast served to lunch
- nice private beach, but it's not private all the way down to the sea

- nice staff at breakfast
- nice "bunkers" seatings for the restaurant outside. Could be cleaner seats for beeing 5 star

We came from 5 star Riad in Marrakech, totally amazing!! This was a real downer, we were amazed that this could be a 5 star. We cancelled 5 nights and booked a real 5 star. Summer vacations are once a year, so there's no time to vaste!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important for us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for to see the improvements which were made.

Sincerly

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#22 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Timoulay
Hotel Timoulay
#2 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#21 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
1.2 mi away
lti Agadir Beach Club
lti Agadir Beach Club
#31 of 80 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#8 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.