We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublim personal servcie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sublim personal servcie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I felt a bit like being in a five star hotel in Switzerland with Asian staff. What I mean is that the level of service were at the same as in the best hotel in Asia but were as personal/professional as the best hotels in Switzerland.

The hotel is also very loyal to the local architecture, instead of just look like another "Hilton" og "Marriott".

Room Tip: Make sure the room has pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for taking the time of writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Kindest regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    346
    142
    72
    37
See reviews for
280
543
53
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I had a great stay at this hotel at the start of October.
The weather was excellent, the hotel was not too busy given the time of year, but still busy enough to have a nice atmosphere.
The service provided by the pool staff and the restaurant staff was outstanding. They go out of their way to do everything for you.
I will agree with a previous reviwer and say that the girls at reception were quite grumpy.
The food was reasonably expensive in the hotel, I would say it is like London prices. However, the standard is top quality.
We ate out 3 times in the town, we had one excellent experience and 2 terrible ones which caused stomach upsets for us both. So be careful when you go into town. The Japanese restaurant near the promenade was awful.
If I wanted a quiet and relaxing holiday I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the lack of balconies, the pool area is so good that a balcony in the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort and particularly liked our facilities.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel, luxuary room, very clean, BEAUTIFUL beach with direct access. Beautiful swimmingpool which could be cleaner (they should work on it).
Excellent swimming pool serice (they take care of your relax, and towel and bring you anything you want to drink or eat).
Lots of different food but not so tasty actually...
The team from the reception could be nicer!
The team from the restaurant could be more efficient (they always forget something...and you should ask several time for coffee or juice).

Room Tip: The room by the pool with you own terasse are the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities offered in and around hotel.

I have taken note of your comments with regard, and I would like to assure you that your valuable feedback has been positively taken on board and shared with the concerned managers to ensure that necessary action are taken to rectify any shortfalls in our standards.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsborough, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The star ratings give you all the information you need. It was the complete package. We travelled in October 2012 for our honeymoon. The staff even at 1am when we arrived were friendly and attentive. They sent us a lovely gift basket and the room was beautifully set out.

The standards never slipped. We were really impressed with the impeccable cleaning service that always brought a smile when we returned to our rooms to discover what petal display was on offer.

The grounds were great... (it was interesting to see that the further down the beach you walked the worse the quality of outside space for the other resorts got.)

I would suggest it is best to not go all inclusive as their food prices are high. It was great fun going to the different restaurants in town and in the surrounding resorts. Something we would have likely missed had we stayed just within the resort.

Evening entertainment was relaxing and not tackie.

We could go on, but hope you get the positive impression that you should.

Room Tip: Don't worry too much about the balconies. We had a garden facing room. The grounds of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort and particularly liked our facilities.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cannot understand the occasional dubious reviews of this excellent hotel. The main gripe of others is about service, well let me offer two examples of what is undeniably great service. On our first and subsequent mornings, very cheerful pool boys come up to you and offer to clean your sunglasses for you!! And secondly I witnessed an older man struggling to put up his umbrella and 2 pool guys literally raced over to him to assist. My husband was left sitting on a bed for at least a minute before another lovely pool guy rushed over and furnished him with a towel. Every single member of staff we encountered greeted us with a warm greeting at various times of the day.
To my mind this is an oasis of calm in beautiful surroundings which ticked and surpassed all our holiday requirements. We do hope to return!

Room Tip: Not a room tip but a lunch tip - food and drink are more expensive than in town but for a lunch snac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments with regards to the service are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived from Brussels with trouble free smooth transfer to hotel by private vehicle from VIP selection. Hotel environment, facilities and room were very good although a pity the rooms do not have their own terraces.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the grounds of the Hotel and their beach front layout were really first class.
Unfortunately the quality/choice of food in the regular half board restaurant was disappointing prompting us to eat elsewhere on 3 of our 7 days there. For a Luxury branded hotel from this reputable chain this was a let down to otherwise a perfect stay.

NB -very surprised to read the very positive comments (stubbings) about the regular restaurant. We never saw any oysters, rib of beef, fresh sea food etc and wonder if there had been a downgrading of the food recently ?

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on west side of the hotel overlooking the heated pool as this becomes a very noisy area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Madame, Sir,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities offered in and around hotel.

We have taken note of your comments concerning the main restaurant with regard, and I would like to assure you that your valuable feedback has been positively taken on board and shared with the concerned managers to ensure that necessary action are taken to rectify any shortfalls in our standards.

Thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've just returned from our fourth holiday at the Sofitel Agadir.It would make all the difference if the rooms and the corridors lived up to standard of the rest of the hotel.The room I was booked into(85) was overrun with ants and I had to change in the middle of the night,after that the rose petals, etc, were sporadic.Breakfast excellent as ever,as was the beach with Ooutaman and co(the beachboys) absolutely lovely ,so were the spa staff.The meals we had at the hotel were very good. Reception was a let down again with the girls as dismissive as ever, and the woman in the paper/souvenir shop was positively rude,nothing new there then.We will be back, however, just to wind them up,(joking of course) the reason being because the positives far outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please be assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

On a positive note, we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

We want to renew again apologizes and hope that this incident won’t affect your perception of Sofitel. On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Best Regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
#5 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.