We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Agadir - It's a Good Fit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sofitel Agadir - It's a Good Fit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the second hotel I stayed in in Agadir and my advice to anyone who is considering staying here is is just to look at the photos.... it real is that beautiful. The swimming pool area is great - no boring 5 lane swimming pools here: there are more than enough sun beds, hammocks and little islands where people can relax in. There is a very cool walkway to the beach which actually was lined with lanterns. The beach is great and the interior is elegant, clean and worthy of a 5-star hotel.

There are a number of restaurants - La Caravane and Le So Good for example - both interestingly named and both offered a mix of food - some of it amazing some of it so so. When you enter the beautiful entrance to the hotel, there is a 4 foot high Moroccan teapot and a man playing a lotar, which is the traditional Moroccan answer to the acoustic guitar - its a great touch. The rooms were overlooking the pools and comfortable. It is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: If getting a taxi from the hotel make sure that you know the price of it before hand and if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    372
    156
    75
    41
See reviews for
309
592
64
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a week at this Hotel. On arrival hotel was just like pictures in brochure, lovely hotel inside and out. Swimming pools (one heated) well kept and plenty of beds, loungers, hammocks etc. Gardens and private beach (lovely beach) well kept although some parts of the wooden walkway leading to beach could be upgraded. Most staff very helpful but others had a poor attitude, for example we went for a swim around teatime and there were no towels at either the pool or beach hut and when we asked if we could get one it was a case of "they are at the laundry" so tough luck. The receptionist's attitude was, very poor - I complained as one evening around 9.00 pm we arrived back from a walk to find our room door had been left open, when I went to complain she asked if anything had been taken from our room and when I said "no" it was a case of "well what are you complaining about" - shocking attitude for a 5* hotel. Beware if you are half board - this means you can only use one restuarant "La Caravane" (even though they have a few restuarants). We were not told at check in, that using any of the other restuarants would incur extra charges and we found this out after we had gone to "Le So Good" for dinner. Breakfast was good in La Caravane but dinner was "just okay" and I'm not a fussy eater. Would rather have gone bed and breakfast and eaten elsewhere at a cheaper price. I have stayed in other five star hotels (half board) and was able to use any restuarant in the complex without extra charge. My partner also noticed the waiter did not wash his hands after using the toilet - disgusting. Overall a lovely hotel but very disappointed in the areas mentioned. Sofitel have such a good name but I don't think I would go to any of their other hotels after my experience. Plenty of other hotels close by, just a nice and probably cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the facilities offered in and around hotel.

I have taken note of your comments with regard, and I would like to assure you that your valuable feedback has been positively taken on board and shared with the concerned managers to ensure that necessary action are taken to rectify any shortfalls in our standards.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The concierge is excelent and knows everything about the town ... For the price of the food the quality and diversity could be a lot better. We did eat 3 times in the restaurants in the sofitel and ending up going out every night for diner since you can find better food for half the price in Agadir and you do not need to go to the scala just the marina for example "Le Nil Bleu". The breakfeast in sofitel is really good. There is a hotel being build next to the sofitel but it did not bother us at all since we were on the oposite end of the hotel.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Thank you for your constructive feedback : please rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address the areas of improvement you kindly mentioned and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, on behalf on the entire team I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want to come to Agadir and do pool and beach all day, eat breakfast, lunch and dinner T the hotel then, this is the place. The staff wants to be friendly but cut and dry. WIFI, although the hotel advertise wifi troughout, it barely works in the lobby. Terrible connections in the bedrooms and in the pool. If you rely on wifi to work, choose another hotel. The Spa is basically a room that you have to book privately. There is no public spa. Most of rooms have no balconies. The hotel try to be sophisticated but doesn't quite achieve it. It is located 5 km from town. If you want to go out at night, you will have to take a taxi. There is nothing to do here asides from pool, beach and eat. If you want a more lively scenery, book a hotel closer to town where most of the restaurants are.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent two weeks at Sofitel, Agadir this past March after a busy year of business travel that included stays at 5 star hotels in Prague, the Hague, and Berlin. The service I received at Sofitel was incomparably better than at any of these and at almost every level -- from the friendliness of the poolside staff, to the breakfast chefs and serving staff, to the reception and concierge staff, to the artists who make up the housekeeping staff, to the hotel management itself, who put on a wonderful cocktail evening for guests during my second week and took a personal interest in my stay. Uncanny warmth and hospitality on all sides. An unforgettable stay with an extremely well managed team: I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

It was a pleasure to have you with us, and we are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your stay at our Resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for taking the time of writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back shortly.

Kindest regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The first impression was amazing. Our taxi from Marrakesh had gotten lost, so we were tired and grumpy on arrival. We were escorted to two chairs in the lobby and when my traveling buddy asked about reception, the reply was 'reception will come to you'. The doorman brought us tea, and the reception person came and checked us in while we sipped. Lovely!

Altough Agadir is a beach resort town, with hotel after hotel and roped off private beaches, the Sofitel was still restful and relaxing. My friend and I went slightly off season, so there were no crowds and the weather was still good. We spent a couple of mornings napping on the king sized beds in the hotel gardens, and several evenings strolling the beachfront. We stopped at several places for meals or coffee (as the hotel is a bit pricy) and generally relaxed. The hotel staff was happy to arrange outings, and we enjoyed our trips into the coutryside to see the goats eating in the trees, women making Argan Oil, men going about their daily business in horse / donkey-drawn carts, etc. The buffet breakfast was huge and had pretty much everything one could want.

I recall only two not so great things: 1) my friend got sick and the resutrant sent her up the wrong soup and 2) the wi-fi was very weak in the room (we ended up going to the lobby to connect).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort and particularly liked our facilities.

Thank you for your valuable feedback with regards to the wifi. Please be assured that we will take an immediate corrective action.

Thank you for staying with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

being a regular visitor to Agadir we watched this hotel being built and couldn't wait to stay. Our problem was the room it was quite compact with ' no balcony ' ( didn't know these existed) it felt a bit like a travel lodge design, but the biggest problem was the sound hearing people peeing, walking, talking everything really in the room above ours - awful ! and the corridors not good for a newly built 5 star hotel. Breakfast chaos service really poor far too many staff not really doing much. Will not return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBayResort, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Madam, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Samy BOUKHALED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Cite Founty P4 | Commune de Bensergao, Agadir 80007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Agadir
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agadir
#23 Spa Hotel in Agadir
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Agadir
#24 Luxury Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right along the ocean's sandy beach, in the lush Palm Bay, Sofitel Agadir is a genuine treasure, an oasis of peace and luxury just 10 minutes from downtown and 25 km from the international airport. This spectacular 5-star hotel combines refined, contemporary elements with exotic Kasbah-style architecture. The wrought iron accents compliment the colorful fabrics and elegant fountains throughout. Year-round sun and impeccable service add to the pleasures of water sports, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Hotel Agadir
Agadir Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.