We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5* Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“True 5* Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have to admit it was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I'm trying hard to think about any negatives but nothing comes to mind. The hotel itself is beautiful, the pool area lovely and very relaxing. However, if you like a lot of entertainment and loud music by the pool, Riu Palace is not for you - there is no music, not even in the background. Food was absolutely amazing (not many AI hotels serve monkfish and cod loin!). I wish I had asked for some of the recipes! Staff fantastic, very attentive and polite. Always there when you need them. Beach was beautiful and clean, tends to get very busy at the weekends as all local people use it (it's not a private beach - there is an area reserved for the hotel but no beach staff as such and there is no beach bar). As for the weather - can be very unpredictable... We traveled in June and mornings were pretty cloudy, the sun came out midday. Strong winds seemed to bother everyone a lot. We hardly ever went in the water - it was just too cold! Apart from the weather, everything else was just perfect... I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are much quieter but it's a long walk to the restaurant & bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    402
    126
    23
    6
See reviews for
316
903
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a family holiday (6 adults, 1 toddler) in June and loved it.
The rooms were spacious, clean and modern, with substantial balconies. HOWEVER, be warned, if you have toddlers, there are two stone steps in every room (to divide the living space from the bedroom area). We asked the hotel if they could switch our room but apparently they all have these steps, and they had nothing they could block it off with. We found that 3 suitcases laid end-to-end filled the gap and stopped our 18 month old from tripping down them. My only other complaint about the room was that it was not a double bed - just two singles pushed together, and not even made up with double bedding. A really sad oversight for a plush hotel.
The food here was excellent, with the Moroccan restaurant being far and away the best - perfect for a last night. Drinks were all branded and plentiful.
The pool area was extensive and immaculately clean. The staff were attentive and there was thankfully none of that awful 'daytime entertainment' railroading.
We loved the play area for the kids, it was a lovely touch. All in all, this was much more on a par with nicer Caribbean all-inclusives (and half the price!) rather than European ones. Would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms were definitely worth the money - the outlook on the other side of the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just returned from a week here and so glad I chose this over the Dunas which I was also considering. The latter was probably at its best 20 years ago; this is brand, spanking new and very stylish. The lobby/reception/lounge area is fabulous! I have stayed in some nice hotels but this probably topped the lot for style. Room (4030 - top floor, pool view) was also lovely and very comfortable. Good beds, good shower - very clean. We had one minor issue with a reservation for the Moroccan restaurant ( we turned up for our booked table at 9pm and were rather rudely sent away because others were lingering too long over their meals). But Roy - a manager who is very much in evidence around the place - eventually sorted us out with a table for another night. The food is excellent here: I can't believe that someone on TA criticised the lack of choice - the choice is immense and unless you are really fussy you will always find something good to eat. I would rate it as the best AI we have stayed in - and we have stayed in many good ones in Turkey, Egypt and the Dominican Republic. The only slight letdown was the weather: it tended to be rather cloudy (and cool) in the mornings but often the cloud burned off by late morning and it was then very comfortable to sit out. Make sure you take a taxi to the Souk (20 Dirhams) and try the Hammam experience - as long as you do it at the start of your holiday!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra for a pool view (which also gets you a sea view) and also top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Me and me family ( parents, children 19-19-23) went to riu palace septembre 2013. We just loved it here. Beautiful hotel. The food was just really good, enough choice. The restaurant with view on the sea is great. The staff there is also really friendly. The pool was just amazing, with a poolbar with delicious cocktails.
The rooms are spacious and have all what you need. The weather was also really good when we went there.
We did some acitivities such as going to a big covered market, and then a tour arround agadir, we also went surfing. Also for people who dont like surfing, it's just aa really beautiful spot they called it the devils rock, its just amazing to stand there on the top of the rock, you just have an breathtaking view, in our opinion.
We surely recommend this hotel! Relaxing, sporting, ... there is something for everyone!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Easy journey from the airport, very impressive hotel with the hardest working and very generous staff. Friendly, so very clean, beautiful food. What more could one want? No air toys in pool, proper dress code for dinner. We had a magnificent time travelling with teenager and 10 year old. Perfect place for relaxing, a good book, board games and some exploring. Yes, you would have to be up early if you wanted specific place by pool but after a few days that became less important. The pool area is well considered in its design with different levels. Animation team energetic and enthusiastic but does not harass you. They were a real asset together with exercise team!. Bar areas excellent for late afternoon drinks. Our junior suites with pool view were large with good wardrobe space, seating areas (!) and perfect balconies. All meals and drinks were attended to with a smile despite it being Ramadan! We tipped as a thank you, in the main restaurant and the lunchtime restaurant, particularly as our daughter had a most wonderful Birthday and received plenty attention. (Teenagers!!!) A bit of advice: There is a cashlink in the hotel but change at airport or outside the hotel. You do not have to tip. Excellent wifi in lobby area. Try the cycle rent on the beach promenade and see the seafront. Fantastic exercise classes provided if you feel like getting fit or working off some of the food. Book your table in the additional restaurants in the hotel (3) early as they are very busy. It takes 25 minutes to walk to the main souk from the hotel and it is worth a visit. If you do the 4x4 trip to the Atlas mountains, do shop at the first stop as they have some lovely things you might not see again. Remember that this is Morocco not Spain! Do use the Thomson reps in the hotel as they are delighted to help you. We will come back!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view if possible. Otherwise your view might be limited. If you want late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Third time we have visited and would visit again. Lovely feel about the hotel with a modern ambience to the whole hotel. Food is great for choice and bars and lounge areas make the hotel feel really special. We had a great room with a huge balcony with both sea and pool view. Loads of room around the pools to sunbathe. A late checkout as standard should be included though!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

These three words are the only way to explain the hotel, from the moment you walk through the doors. Personally I never read comments about hotels because it scares me if they are bad, but this one I am glad I did! Majority off the bad comments are people nit picking and if you are like me and my partner and let the little things slide then you will enjoy your holiday to the full! Yes the tables are close together in the main restaurant, but with as many rooms as they have they need to cater!! but we ate outside every night so it didn't bother us. Pool area is gorgeous.
We had a 'Junior Suite' or should I say FLAT!! Wow just totally amazing I even lost my partner at times. Here it seems you pay for the room or the view and we are completely satisfied with the room over the view when you see the other rooms with good views!

Even though they were on Ramadan they were amazing we did however see the women were very moody/unkindly at some points. But however the men were incredible and made us feel welcome all the time wherever we were in the hotel!

TOP TIPS:
Change your money outside the hotel.
You don't need to tip! We did but only as a thankyou, and felt we had the same treatment as everyone else.
Get up nice and early for a sunbed to save, everyone does!
Men need long trousers for dinner (teatime).
MUST visit the gourmet restaurant and the Italian!!! Both lovely!
Do the Buggy Adventure, truly amazing experience

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.