We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look no further.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stay here! Top hotel, you really cannot fault it. Stayed here for a week from 26th Sept, impressive from the moment you arrive into the stunning lobby, handed and drink and check-in was a breeze.
The room was spacious and cleaned thoroughly every day, the bed was huge and walls solid. Ok yes we did hear some noise from the chairs above being moved around, but it wasn’t a big issue.
The food was excellent, huge variety every night – all fresh/tasty, and clearly a lot of effort had gone into little things like the deserts. They have 2 restaurants you can book into (do this ASAP upon arriving) – both we beautifully decorated and the service & food was excellent – I just found it a real shame that there were empty tables (despite being fully booked), people must reserve them and not turn up – that is very rude as you’re stopping someone else enjoy it.
Sunbeds – IS an issue, you’ll always get one but if you want a good spot/nicer bed then you need to be ruthless, if you see one that hasn’t been used for 2 hours but has towels on it –move them off, it’s plain bad manners for someone to expect to come down at 4pm (as I witnessed) and expect the towel they put there at 9am to be there. We saw loads of the best spots lay unused all day. TIP for the management, simple buy a load of 90min sand timers, the pool boys should go round and place them on the beds – if you come back you can turn it over, but if they find empty timers they can remove the towels = would be problem solved in my view as this was a major gripe with everyone.

The standard of décor at the hotel is superb, feels very luxurious, and for the money IMO it was a bargain, the staff are all generally very nice and friendly, service is quick, never more than a few mins wait for a drink at the bar, plus the hotel never felt crowded despite being 100% capacity. I’d prob avoid in August/school holidays if you don’t like kids, but that is an obvious one. Overall a top hotel, as said I couldn’t fault it really – I doubt you’d find better in the area. Check out was a doddle, everything was just easy and peaceful.

One last thing that really sums up the hotel, one evening having dinner at the Krystal restaurant the Hotel Manager was walking around saying hello, I said ‘this hotel is fantastic, you’re doing a really good job here’ – to which he said ‘No…not me, them’ and gestured to the staff – that speaks huge volumes, he knows how important his staff are and that they are the face of the hotel and your point of interactive throughout. 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    834
    325
    105
    23
    4
See reviews for
256
762
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is amazing, firstly I would like to say that it looks gorgeous all the communal areas are clean and grand, its a very well maintained hotel including the grounds. The main reception/bar/lobby area is so cosy and comfy.
The rooms are big and feel like you have lots of space, we had a double bed that was like a super king size bed was really comfy and had a great nights sleep every night. there's a separate seating area with a little table and chairs and a sofa and coffee table which is nice as you don't feel like you are always in the bed area. the balcony again is a good size with two really comfy big chairs and a table. We had a room on the top floor with sea view, which we didn't pay extra for so this was a nice little touch. The fridge in the room is re stocked every day and two fresh bottles of water always given. The tea coffee making facilities were great and re stocked every day to, on that note the tea is really nice! The shower was a brilliant power shower.
The food is what really made this hotel absolutely perfect lots and lots of choice always fresh always hot and always nice, the fussiest of eaters will not go hungry. All water for the ice is filtered which is great. desserts are pure heaven!
Pool area was lovely, the indoor pool was really nice and quiet.
Entertainment was good too nice to sit in the bar and listen to the piano or the two Moroccan guys playing sitar like music.
I can not wait to go back to this hotel, every aspect was spot on. Drinks great, food amazing, hotel gorgeous. Well worth a visit and the money.

Room Tip: Just enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

As this was our 3rd trip back to this hotel, perhaps the rose-coloured glasses have been removed for us?
As a girlie holiday it ticks the boxes - easy flights, sunshine, all-inclusive and good hotel standards, however we did notice that this trip seemed to be made up of rules and regulations that were only enforced when the management saw fit:

Pros:
Rooms were beautiful as always and the standard of cleanliness is perfection. I think the A/C isnt as powerful as it should be - perhaps they turn it off in the day?
Food was as good as it could get for an all-inclusive (and Ive done Mexico so I think Im fit to judge!) thats such a short flight away.
Weather is still wonderful - can be cloudy in the morning but that soon burns off to give bright and HOT sunshine!

Cons:
It has become very apparent that tipping is the form here. Although you will get served (eventually) if you don't - you get treated like a king if you do. We noticed the pool guys sticking towels and reserving beds for people that didnt appear til lunchtime (despite it clearly stating that this was against hotel policy) and also reserved tables with chilled bottles of wine for people that were nowhere to be seen. Although I am not against tipping - you dont expect special treatment for those that do.

The dining room was always too hot and to get a table outside was difficult - could it be because the waiters kept them reserved for the "tippers"? I also dont appreciate having to constantly ask passing waiting staff for basic things like a drink or a fork! Although the food was good, you do have to put yourself in a school-canteen position - but how this can be got-around is beyond me so I don't blame the hotel for this and they do their best!

There was confusion as to the actual time of day while we were there - Easyjet told us to put our watches back an hour, despite the government deciding not to!! Saying that, the staff definately used our confusion on one occasion as they started clearing the food away from the dining room as it was 10:20 and they closed at 10:00 - we now realise it was actually only 920!
We were also convinced that they closed the bar before the stated time.

We found that they seemed to close everything too early - the pool at 6PM, the gym at 7pm and the bar supposedly at midnight - although Id argue this on a few occassions as im sure it was alot earlier than 12 that some closed!

I think the other thing that put a nail in the coffin of this hotel was their literature that is provided for you in your room. My advice - ignore it as its not worth the paper its written on. Check out is now 11am (very early?) and the brochure says that you can have late checkout til 6 for 600MAD - despite this they were asking for 60 Euro and checkout is actually til 5pm - which is 796MAD. I know you cant blame reception for the currency exchange rate but as I pointed out the time/price stated on the brochure - I certainly didnt expect a shrug and a "the brochure is wrong" response!!

Im not sure if the reason we were ignored for long periods of time could be because we were women on holiday - perhaps thats frowned upon? I do feel that the hotel have got greedy and complacent (the price has also gone up sky-high and ridiculous for Agadir!)and I look forward to them finally getting some competiton when the Kempinski opens up!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with our hotel in Agadir. The room was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, well equipped and spacious. The bar area was comfortable and again very well furnished and inviting. The pool area was like a paradise. The restaurant served the widest array of food I've ever experienced in an all-inclusive. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Excellent!

A word of advice - the beach is in Morocco, therefore locals are Moroccan and not used to seeing semi-naked female bodies. If you want to sunbathe in a bikini, don't be surprised if you get a few looks because it's unusual for them to see. But you will be completely safe. Also, people will come up to you to sell you things - just say no thank you (politely but confidently) and turn/walk away. No problem.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a U shape with the pool in the middle and beach on the fourth side. So rooms are eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from an amazing week in Agadir! Greeted by reception staff and quickly checked in, left luggage and went straight into restaurant which had been kept open for us as we didn't arrive til midnight. We were immediately made to feel comfortable. When we went to our room we were more than pleased, sea view and enough room for a family even though there was only the 2 of us. All week staff were constantly polite and eager to get you anything you wished for, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone we spoke to we more than pleased with their holiday experience and all had either been before or would return. This resort and hotel easily competes with the caribbean and knocks egypt off the map!! Can't wait to go back!!! Thank you to everyone who made this the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a week in late August and enjoyed every minute of it. First, I'd like to praise the service, the staff is really and sincerely friendly, they're eager to help you with any wish even when it's beyond their duty. The pool guys are excellent, they're ready to help you even at 7am (in case you want to reserve some sun beds, which is weird but it's a real problem to get a good sunbed after 8 am), before the pool actually starts working, you don't have to look for them, they'll volunteer for help. The waiters are very quick and smart and again eager to help.
The rooms are spacious, well kept and clean.
The territory is well cared for, the grass is greener on their side))).
We had a pool view room and never regretted paying extra for the view.
So I'd recommend this hotel to quite demanding guests.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Traveled here in March and had an amazing time. This was our first time to morocco and was very impressed. Upon arrival we was greeted with a welcome cocktail. Check in staff were very efficient, and were very friendly and pleasant, we were directed to our room where our cases were already waiting for us.

The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the balcony was a good size too. The rooms were cleaned and maintained every day throughout our stay.

There was never any issue finding sun loungers. The double sunloungers that are right by the water are fantastic. There were always staff around asking if you wanted another drink, and there were activities such as water aerobics and vollyball that you could do.

Both indoor and outdoors pools were lovely, the pool bar was not open however i think this was due to the time that we went. All the pools were very big and not too cold.

There was always a wide variety of food, and you was never stuck for choice. Would definatly reccomend trying the speciality restaurants at least once, these were amazing, just make sure you book in advance.

The hotel grounds are were very clean and well maintained, there were always people around making sure everything was clean.

All the staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much bother for them. The staff behind the bar were more than happy to make you cocktails that were not on the menu, and they were amazing!

We tried to go to the spa, however it gets booked up quickly so make sure if this is something you want to do you book in advance.

I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone! It was worth every penny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.