We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous, out standing, amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fabulous, out standing, amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is amazing, firstly I would like to say that it looks gorgeous all the communal areas are clean and grand, its a very well maintained hotel including the grounds. The main reception/bar/lobby area is so cosy and comfy.
The rooms are big and feel like you have lots of space, we had a double bed that was like a super king size bed was really comfy and had a great nights sleep every night. there's a separate seating area with a little table and chairs and a sofa and coffee table which is nice as you don't feel like you are always in the bed area. the balcony again is a good size with two really comfy big chairs and a table. We had a room on the top floor with sea view, which we didn't pay extra for so this was a nice little touch. The fridge in the room is re stocked every day and two fresh bottles of water always given. The tea coffee making facilities were great and re stocked every day to, on that note the tea is really nice! The shower was a brilliant power shower.
The food is what really made this hotel absolutely perfect lots and lots of choice always fresh always hot and always nice, the fussiest of eaters will not go hungry. All water for the ice is filtered which is great. desserts are pure heaven!
Pool area was lovely, the indoor pool was really nice and quiet.
Entertainment was good too nice to sit in the bar and listen to the piano or the two Moroccan guys playing sitar like music.
I can not wait to go back to this hotel, every aspect was spot on. Drinks great, food amazing, hotel gorgeous. Well worth a visit and the money.

Room Tip: Just enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    832
    323
    105
    23
    4
See reviews for
255
760
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

As this was our 3rd trip back to this hotel, perhaps the rose-coloured glasses have been removed for us?
As a girlie holiday it ticks the boxes - easy flights, sunshine, all-inclusive and good hotel standards, however we did notice that this trip seemed to be made up of rules and regulations that were only enforced when the management saw fit:

Pros:
Rooms were beautiful as always and the standard of cleanliness is perfection. I think the A/C isnt as powerful as it should be - perhaps they turn it off in the day?
Food was as good as it could get for an all-inclusive (and Ive done Mexico so I think Im fit to judge!) thats such a short flight away.
Weather is still wonderful - can be cloudy in the morning but that soon burns off to give bright and HOT sunshine!

Cons:
It has become very apparent that tipping is the form here. Although you will get served (eventually) if you don't - you get treated like a king if you do. We noticed the pool guys sticking towels and reserving beds for people that didnt appear til lunchtime (despite it clearly stating that this was against hotel policy) and also reserved tables with chilled bottles of wine for people that were nowhere to be seen. Although I am not against tipping - you dont expect special treatment for those that do.

The dining room was always too hot and to get a table outside was difficult - could it be because the waiters kept them reserved for the "tippers"? I also dont appreciate having to constantly ask passing waiting staff for basic things like a drink or a fork! Although the food was good, you do have to put yourself in a school-canteen position - but how this can be got-around is beyond me so I don't blame the hotel for this and they do their best!

There was confusion as to the actual time of day while we were there - Easyjet told us to put our watches back an hour, despite the government deciding not to!! Saying that, the staff definately used our confusion on one occasion as they started clearing the food away from the dining room as it was 10:20 and they closed at 10:00 - we now realise it was actually only 920!
We were also convinced that they closed the bar before the stated time.

We found that they seemed to close everything too early - the pool at 6PM, the gym at 7pm and the bar supposedly at midnight - although Id argue this on a few occassions as im sure it was alot earlier than 12 that some closed!

I think the other thing that put a nail in the coffin of this hotel was their literature that is provided for you in your room. My advice - ignore it as its not worth the paper its written on. Check out is now 11am (very early?) and the brochure says that you can have late checkout til 6 for 600MAD - despite this they were asking for 60 Euro and checkout is actually til 5pm - which is 796MAD. I know you cant blame reception for the currency exchange rate but as I pointed out the time/price stated on the brochure - I certainly didnt expect a shrug and a "the brochure is wrong" response!!

Im not sure if the reason we were ignored for long periods of time could be because we were women on holiday - perhaps thats frowned upon? I do feel that the hotel have got greedy and complacent (the price has also gone up sky-high and ridiculous for Agadir!)and I look forward to them finally getting some competiton when the Kempinski opens up!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could not have been more pleased with our hotel in Agadir. The room was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, well equipped and spacious. The bar area was comfortable and again very well furnished and inviting. The pool area was like a paradise. The restaurant served the widest array of food I've ever experienced in an all-inclusive. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Excellent!

A word of advice - the beach is in Morocco, therefore locals are Moroccan and not used to seeing semi-naked female bodies. If you want to sunbathe in a bikini, don't be surprised if you get a few looks because it's unusual for them to see. But you will be completely safe. Also, people will come up to you to sell you things - just say no thank you (politely but confidently) and turn/walk away. No problem.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a U shape with the pool in the middle and beach on the fourth side. So rooms are eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from an amazing week in Agadir! Greeted by reception staff and quickly checked in, left luggage and went straight into restaurant which had been kept open for us as we didn't arrive til midnight. We were immediately made to feel comfortable. When we went to our room we were more than pleased, sea view and enough room for a family even though there was only the 2 of us. All week staff were constantly polite and eager to get you anything you wished for, nothing was too much trouble. Everyone we spoke to we more than pleased with their holiday experience and all had either been before or would return. This resort and hotel easily competes with the caribbean and knocks egypt off the map!! Can't wait to go back!!! Thank you to everyone who made this the perfect holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a week in late August and enjoyed every minute of it. First, I'd like to praise the service, the staff is really and sincerely friendly, they're eager to help you with any wish even when it's beyond their duty. The pool guys are excellent, they're ready to help you even at 7am (in case you want to reserve some sun beds, which is weird but it's a real problem to get a good sunbed after 8 am), before the pool actually starts working, you don't have to look for them, they'll volunteer for help. The waiters are very quick and smart and again eager to help.
The rooms are spacious, well kept and clean.
The territory is well cared for, the grass is greener on their side))).
We had a pool view room and never regretted paying extra for the view.
So I'd recommend this hotel to quite demanding guests.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Traveled here in March and had an amazing time. This was our first time to morocco and was very impressed. Upon arrival we was greeted with a welcome cocktail. Check in staff were very efficient, and were very friendly and pleasant, we were directed to our room where our cases were already waiting for us.

The rooms were very clean and spacious, and the balcony was a good size too. The rooms were cleaned and maintained every day throughout our stay.

There was never any issue finding sun loungers. The double sunloungers that are right by the water are fantastic. There were always staff around asking if you wanted another drink, and there were activities such as water aerobics and vollyball that you could do.

Both indoor and outdoors pools were lovely, the pool bar was not open however i think this was due to the time that we went. All the pools were very big and not too cold.

There was always a wide variety of food, and you was never stuck for choice. Would definatly reccomend trying the speciality restaurants at least once, these were amazing, just make sure you book in advance.

The hotel grounds are were very clean and well maintained, there were always people around making sure everything was clean.

All the staff were very helpful, and nothing was too much bother for them. The staff behind the bar were more than happy to make you cocktails that were not on the menu, and they were amazing!

We tried to go to the spa, however it gets booked up quickly so make sure if this is something you want to do you book in advance.

I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone! It was worth every penny

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just back from a very pleasant stay at the Riu Palace. Our first trip to Morocco & we were very impressed, hotel could easily complete with those we've stayed at in the Caribbean. Email requests were answered promptly by reception prior to our stay. From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a warm welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble. We were given a room upgrade to a suit that was better than the room we had just left at the Sofitel at Heathrow, and that was nice! Reception, animation, bar & catering staff all went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Our 8 year old son was always keen to watch the evening entertainment, some evenings better than others, he loved the street dancers & the gymnasts the best. There was an okay show which was a cross between river dance & stomp and also a singer who sang some good covers & got people up dancing. Mini club was a big hit with our son, he didn't want to leave & looked forward to the twice daily sessions. One morning we were struggling to get shade on a big four-poster sun bed & the pool staff were there without our having to even ask with ladder & curtains to put up for us, they disappeared again before we could even thank them! We never waited more than a few minutes at the bar for our drinks & the bar men would bring the drinks over to where we sat when there were too many to carry. Empty glasses were cleared away promptly.

If you like small & personal then this isn't the place for you, but if you don't mind large hotels with lots of guests then the personal service you get here is second to none. It is a very large hotel complex so can be quite a trek getting from A to B, especially if your room is furthest from the lobby, but the up-side is that it helps to walk off those extra pounds from all that 24 hour food! There are plenty of lifts along the corridors if stairs aren't your thing. Try to get to breakfast before 10:30 & lunch before 3pm otherwise it's the snack hall which has very limited food choices. The food was quite nice for a buffet, usual large hotel setup, so again, if you don't like it, don't book it. We heard one man complaining that he shouldn't have to use a buffet & so would be ordering room service instead (included in the AI package), he obviously didn't research the hotel facilities before booking. I'm vegetarian & found a reasonable selection to eat, especially in the evenings.

We wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you to all at RIU Palace who helped make our holiday such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.