We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SPRING DEALS
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 15th-22nd August 2013 and we must say that it was a extremely delightful experience. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. The food was extremely good quality although a little variation would help. Our room was extremely well presented the style both fitted the North African & European taste. During our stay we felt very welcome and all the staff always had a smile on there face! I would recommend this hotel for families and couples.

A few minor issues such as sunbeds as you need to get those early morning. Entertainment in Agadir is minimal and perhaps more interactive entertained with guests would allow more interaction with guests. Overall a very good hotel and would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    432
    135
    24
    8
See reviews for
340
975
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful fortnight at the Palace with my wife whilst celebrating our 32nd Wedding Anniversary, I could write pages & pages with comments that are positive and possibly fit the negative comments on the back of a postage stamp, they were that minor.
To get to the point, i'll be brief as possible but i may just get carried away when i recall the great memories we have had on this holiday and again when i recall the negative comments overheard around the hotel and obviously when reading previous posts on here.
It drives me mad, when i hear.... When we were in Mexico.... When we were in the Caribbean...When we were in Egypt....We got this, we got that, they did this, they did that, etc. etc.
Errrrrr...excuse me....planet earth.....we are in Agadir, a poor town in a poor country called Morocco!!!!!! Just in case you had forgotten.
We had originally pre planned this break with our best friends, however, due to unforseen circumstances, this never materialised and we ended staying at the Palace by ourselves.

Findings;

Outward Flight - very good
Customs at Agadir - slowish
Transfer to hotel - 30 minutes
Welcomed at hotel with a refreshing cocktail
Check in - swift and efficient, however..........
* Room not available until 1400hrs - slight disappointment but nothing to scream and shout about - we just checked out the hotel facilities. Remained positive, had a drink at the poolside bar and watched the world go by.
We were offered breakfast upon arrival which we duly accepted then decided to explore a little.
Room - (Standard room allocated, we never upgraded, we never gave them a sob story or neither did we make up some sort of excuse just to get a "better" room) - the room we had was absolutely superb. Massive, spotlessly clean and was on the 3rd floor which is the same level as reception and the restaurants, which was an ideal location.
In fact, wherever you are located, you don't have that far to walk to any of the amenities to be honest.
Everywhere on site is wheelchair friendly i.e. ramps & lifts. Not that we required these services, but one you do expect nowadays.
Pool - Very nice throughout. The water temperature in the outside pools was like taking a bath at times, it was that warm. The inside pool, however, was a tadge cooler, but not freezing as reported?
Cleanliness - Absolutely spotless throughout. Yes, we found mistakes at times and we even went out of our way at times to try and catch them out (sad i know), however, what chance have they got when certain guests leave fag butts, glasses, plates of food just lying around the grounds instead of returning them to where they belong?
I dread to think what the state of their own homes will be like if they act like this on holiday.
The cleaning brigade never stopped from dawn till dusk cleaning everywhere. At times the items that they where cleaning daily, became an ongoing task. Take the glass windows for example that surrounded the platformed areas around the pools. They would be cleaned on both sides daily!!!
The flooring throughout the reception / lobby area was like walking on glass, it was that highly polished.
Food - Absolutely fantastic!!!
We ate at all the restaurants, where the food was presented, cooked and replenished to a very high standard.
If you could not find anything to eat at any meal time, no matter what your fancy is...then i don't know what to suggest.
I have been in the catering trade some 35 years and i have experienced all standards of food and service along the way. I could not fault it.
Yes, lunch was a bit chaotic at times, but what do you really expect when 300 people decide to turn up during the "normal lunch time" window? even though lunch was served for over 3 hours.
A little bit of self time management never goes amiss at times like these and it also helps the staff. Maybe then they would have had more time to satisfy the Mexico, Caribbean, Egypt brigade??
We also ate at the 2 themed Restaurants (which we visited twice each during our visit), without a problem. We never experienced over bookings or nights when it was unavailable. The Restaurant Manager would greet you in the morning and ask if you wanted a table in one of them.
We ate in the Krystal Restaurant to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, where our table was decorated with rose petals and we were presented with a bottle of champagne. (As we were at our breakfast table also).
The food within the Krystal Restaurant was absolutely superb, I won't bore you with the menu, but i can honestly say that i ate the most delicious sea bass that i have ever tasted. On 2 occasions as well, so it wasn't just luck.
The Morroccan Restaurant, again was excellent. Local recipes but cooked and presented beautifully.
I heard comments regarding the lack of spice within the food?? At the end of the service points there were spice tagines for you to select spices that you may wish to add to your food if so desired. There's a saying in catering....You can add but you can't remove!!! What do people expect??? They are catering for mass numbers not individuals!!! In the Themed Restaurants, you do, however, get that more personal touch.
Staff - Could do no more for you.
Every member of staff greeted you with a smile and spoke to you.
Management Team where available on site all day and every day and they where very approachable. They went out of their way to assist the best they could.
Thomsons Rep - We never had much dealing with her to be honest, however the information book was very poor. It was pot luck when you saw her, but i suppose if we did require to get a hold of her we could have rung her.
Animation Team - Worked very very hard all day and every day. They tried to get people to participate in games and events around the pool, in the pool, on the beach etc. But if you didn't want to do anything, they just smiled and said no problems,
Personally, we played French Boulles everyday at 11am for around an hour, then we went in the pool for a bit of Aqua Gym which ended with a stretching exercise period, then a very funny Riu staff "Ghangham Style" dance on the platform that seperates the 2 pools. Very entertaining.
Drinks - Excellent quality.
Bars - We never experienced any favouritism, ignorance, arrogance or even drunkeness throughout our holiday. The latter being quite unbelievable really, as the speed of service considering, was very swift indeed. Branded drinks if you want them, no problem. Champagne on tap!! Red wine was very nice (for me anyway). Beer, only one variety, but it's wet, cold & strong. It's also on tap again now, as it was just served from cans up until the last day for us. Not a problem, still tasted the same. But i bet it was a problem for some though eh???
Entertainment - Take it how you find it...................Personally, it was ok, a bit repetetive, but sufficient.
There were a lot of locals staying in the hotel, so the local entertainers were obviously being encouraged all night which did get a bit annoying, but hey, they were on their holidays as well. And when you are on your holidays, you are allowed to let your hair down!!! (i think???).
Small gripe.....Why do responsible parents allow their children to run around late at night and interfere with expensive musical equipment and run onto the stage? Whilst the entertainers are trying their hardest to entertain us!!! Rant over.
As with everything, i've always been taught and i have been brought up to respect others, speak to people and to treat people in a manner that i would expect to be spoken to and be treated myself. Pity other adults don't quite grasp that at times.
At least we had the opportunity to leave the entertainment and go and sit in the reception area to chill out and relax.
People we met..... Absolutely superb people. We enjoyed their company and this made our holiday more enjoyable.
Promenade.....You can walk along this throughout the day or at night. Very safe. A lot of people around, especially at night. Gets a bit crowded at times.
Local Traders....Yes they approach you, especially when they see your wristband. If you are not interested.... just say no thank you and they will leave you alone.
There is a local supermarket not so far way where you can go and look at the kind of prices that you should be looking to pay for goods, if not cheaper when you haggle. The shop is a fixed price store. However, all the shops across the road from the hotel are not.....enjoy the fun of haggling. Asda Price, Cheap as Chips, they say it all. They have all the gear and it looks good, but you know as i do, it's all fake so don't pay over the odds. They want your money, so knock them down to what you want to pay. If they say no, just walk away, you can bet that they'll come running after you even if you are arguing over £1.50.
Tipping... We just tipped the staff when we thought we should. Not excessively, but 20D is their bus fare home. None of the staff that latched onto us (and they will and they'll look after you) ever expected to be tipped but were very grateful when they did.
Trips / Outings.........As i said at the beginning, we had so much planned but in the end we did nowt except go on the half day quick trip around Agadir, that took you up the hill that you see every night lit up, down to the docks to see a boat graveyard, then to a Mosque to learn about Islam & Muslims and then finally you end up at the Souke!!! I won't go on about this, i'll let you experience it for yourself. Overall, not a bad trip but we could have probably done it all cheaper by taxi. You live & learn.
To conclude.....i told you i would make it brief..................Overall, we had a fantastic, relaxing, chilled out holiday, met some great people and got a very nice suntan thank you.
We will definitley visit a Riu Hotel again in the future but possibly not Agadir. There are lots of other countries in the world we want to see and experience.
Now where do we go? Mexico, Egypt, Caribbean maybe? No thanks, i can still go and get my own drinks from the bar!!!
One final point....Weather......Just read the other logs, they all make sense to be honest. Unpredictable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We would easily recommend this hotel to pretty much anyone travelling to Agadir. All I would say is I didn't notice any kids activities going on.

Room- Our room was fantastic. Very spacious, we had a seating area in our room (paid for a standard room) and a queen size bed. Our room was facing out on to the street but we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in there anyway. The even numbered rooms face towards the pool and sea. The bathroom has shutter doors which make it quite easy to hear what people are doing behind those doors... as said previously by someone, you will get to know your partner if you don't already. Our room was quite close to the reception area (room 2057) so we didn't have far to walk, though the hotel is quite large so I can imagine other people had quite far to walk to their rooms.

Food- The selection of food was amazing! There were two restaurants open for buffet lunch and dinner which was good as we stayed in Agadir at peak holiday travelling time and the hotel was fully booked. We didn't realise until a couple days into the holiday that the a la carte restaurants are included also. We tried the Moroccan and the Krystal restaurants, both which were lovely, though the Moroccan we thought was the best. The only negative thing I would say about the food was that for breakfast the chefs seemed very slow to make fried eggs so there was always a queue.

Location- The hotel is right on the beach front, I'm sure there were lovely views from rooms facing that direction. The hotel is also amongst shops, nightclubs and attractions. We went to see the souk, the marina and the bird valley.

Staff- The staff were always attentive whilst we were there. It seems like they work constantly! We tipped various staff at dinner in restaurants and at the bar if they paid particular attention to us (which they did often!) Three people in our party had birthdays whilst we were there and the staff paid them particular attention by dressing our tables with rose petals for dinner, serving us champagne, giving us birthday cakes and also a traditional style clay pot which was a nice touch. The staff always recognised us and liked to have a chat and laugh. We only had one incident where we were not pleased with the reception staff- one of our party had a spring sticking out of their bed which they scraped their leg on. We asked reception to change the mattress or turn it over (as it was two mattresses together) so that it wouldn't happen again. We asked them 3 times to do this and it was never done.

Entertainment- The entertainment we saw was okay; it was mainly background noise to us though so I can't say much. There was a couple of men who played the sitar and drum who were really great though and we enjoyed listening to them. Every day at 12 the animation team gave people the opportunity to do aqua aerobics (which to some sounds boring) but I took part a few times during our holiday and it was good fun.

Hotel overall- As said, we would highly recommend this hotel. Even though we had one incident with staff it did not ruin our holiday and we would go back again if we were to visit Agadir. The hotel was the best in the area!

Tips: you don't have to bring your own towels, they provide them.
People reserved sunbeds (and parasols!) at early times in the morning (rolls eyes) but we always found somewhere to go. But if you want the best spaces then thats what you would need to do. I did, however, see staff taking towels off sunbeds when it got to a certain point in the day and no one was there still. And the staff always helped us when we couldn't find sun beds (or had broken ones) or parasols to use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from the Riu Palace Tikida I travelled with my Husband and 14 year old daughter and friends with a daughter the same age. The hotel is beautiful and well kept the rooms are lovely and worthy of the 5 stars. Unfortunately the service and amenities lets this hotel down and should be rated as a 3 star plus. The pool area is crowded and you need to get up early to reserve a sunbed. The drinks trolley only comes round once a day by the pool and there is no waiter service which really isn't good enough. There is no children's pool so the children use the jacuzzi to play in so it is not possible to relax and enjoy. Whilst we were there we witnessed a fight over the sunbeds which took the Manager 2 hours to try and resolve and in the end he taped it off so no one could use it! Agadir is the Moroccan's holiday resort and is therefore very busy and they really do not appreciate us being there and they make this very obvious! The beach is a mix between Blackpool beach on a bank holiday and the Ganges and is the worst beach I have ever been on. The Riu do not appear to do anything to keep the beach area nice there is just a roped off area with sunbeds and umbrellas but no staff. Unlike the Sofitel down the road which has decking down to the beach and staff and waiters. On our first week there was only one buffet restaurant open at lunchtimes and it was like feeding time at the zoo jam packed with people arguing over tables and long queues for food just like a school dinner hall completely disgusting for a 5 star hotel. We did complain and eventually in our second week another restaurant opened only problem being they didn't advise people. However the food was good with plenty of options so always something you would like just needed to be quicker at replenishing it! We went to all the restaurants the Italian was a buffet and not very nice. The Krystal and Fusion were beautifully decorated however the food in the Fusion was not to our taste but we did enjoy the Krystal. 24 hour room service is a joke we tried twice and our friends tried 3 or 4 times if you are lucky enough and persistent they will answer then you have the struggle of getting them to understand then you wait an hour and if you are very lucky you will get what your ordered neither our friends or us got what we ordered and as for drinks no chance. I think they do it on purpose so you don't bother or give up! The entertainment was repetitive and very amateur again very poor show for a 5 star hotel. We took the effort one day to change into our keep fit gear and trainers to take part in the zumba class which lasted for 2 records less than 10 minutes so obviously we didn't try again what a waste of time. The indoor pool with mood lighting is lovely for a swim however is spoiled when all the kids come in with a football. The Manager needs to tighten up there should be no balls or inflatables in the inside pool and no children in the jacuzzi. The spa is very nice and worth a visit. Our daughters really had nothing to do no watersports, no boat trips, the beach a no go area because of the unwanted attention they got. They had to be chaperoned the whole time it was really that bad. One day my daughter returned to the room and some guy followed her and was asking to come in and she ended up ringing our friends room and hiding in the bathroom. Needless to say I would never go back and not recommend. In my opinion this hotel should have the Palace status removed and be given 4 stars as it lets the other Riu Palaces down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Riu Palace Tikida for 11 days during mid-August.
The hotel is located in Agadir a busy port and beach resort sprawling on the Atlantic coast of Morocco.
Its location, adjacent to the beachfront promenade, gives the hotel a refreshing sense of space and enables you to have direct access to Moroccan beach and street life. The sandy beach offers clean water, safe swimming and a glimpse into the vibrancy of Moroccan family life in the summer.
On entering the hotel’s large and sumptuous reception we were greeted warmly by staff and were given a glass of Moroccan champagne. As we had arrived early in the morning we had to wait approximately 2 hours for our allocated room. Although this was not a perfect start to our holiday on the flip-side it gave us the perfect opportunity to meet other guests and to investigate the hotels layout and facilities.
The room was large, light and airy with two twin beds, a large bathroom and a separate seating area. We had paid extra for a pool view room and had e-mailed the hotel management requesting a 4th floor room. This request was met. We had a few issues with the bedroom, such as, ineffective air-conditioning (which I wouldn’t expect in the a new-build hotel). Room cleaning was ok but not meticulous. We had a major issue with the provision of daily water and most days we had to pick up a bottle(s) from one of the bars. This doesn’t seem to have been an issue for all clients and may be a localized problem.
Food in the hotel was generally excellent with a very good choice at breakfast and dinner and an adequate choice at lunch. During our holiday the management opened the main restaurant at lunch to ease congestion at the ‘il mare’ restaurant. This was great for us as we preferred dining at the main restaurant as it was cooler and has great ambience. We dined at all three a la carte restaurants and our favourite was the Krystal.
On this occasion we decided to spend our days at the beach rather than the pool area. Although the pool area was large and looked absolutely lovely we felt it was rather congested with sunbeds. The only problem with the beach is that you have no drink facility there and you sometimes feel like the ‘forgotten client.’ It would be nice, and expected of a 5* hotel, if a soft-drink trolley could come to promenade wall every hour to satisfy this need. We’ve had such a facility in many hotels which have a shared public/private access to the beach.
We enjoyed swimming in the main pool but we preferred the very cool indoor pool with its mood lighting. We were not enamored by the evening entertainment although I did enjoy some aspects of the traditional music.
You could always find a place to sit in the reception/bar areas at night and it was a sociable environment. As the tables were large with two to three settees placed around them, as a couple you had no choice but to share the space, and this lead to many interesting conversations and friendships. We liked the smoking policy within the hotel and certainly agreed with the defined zoned areas.
This hotel greatest asset is its staff who are always polite and make you feel at home. Although we tipped regularly during our stay I did not feel that it was a pre-requisite to do so. The restaurant/bar staff wanted to give you the best service possible and worked extremely hard to ensure that the needs of all their client was met.
Myself and my partner would return to stay at this hotel but only for a week of chilling as the resort of Agadir doesn’t meet our requirements for a fulfilling holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view room on 4th floor. E-mail the hotel pre holiday to make your special requests and they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Riu Tikida Palace for 10 nights with my partner and 9 year old son.

Had the most fantastic holiday and I have read some of these reviews in complete disbelief. I really wonder if they were actually staying at the same hotel as me. It truly is a 5 star hotel, the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. I have come to the conclusion that some people are just born to complain and will find fault for the sake of it. I have better things to do on holiday than search for things to moan about.

Room: very spacious, tastefully decorated and had ceiling fan and air con. We were on the ground floor and our terrace looked onto the beautiful gardens. Large bathroom with a lovely big bath and shower and his & hers sinks. There's a hair drier, so no need to pack one. Lots of storage, 2 wardrobes with 5 coat hangers in each, ample drawer and shelf space also. Mini bar was restocked every day without fail with cans of Flag Beer, water (sparkling and still), Coke, Fanta and Sprite. There was a kettle with tea/coffee which was restocked regularly. Towels were replaced daily and beds made, often the maid left patterns/shapes made from the bed runners. Bedding replaced as often as you requested, you have a card in your room to request your sheets to be changed, just leave it on the bed.

Pool: 2 lovely pools and a jacuzzi. Yes, sun beds are reserved early but the earliest we went poolside was 10am and there were always beds available, not the padded ones but it didn't matter, we always managed to get a nice spot near the pool bar and close enough to keep an eye on my son in the water. The bar staff at the pool/swim up bar were very friendly as were the pool boys and animation team. The indoor pool was also great, we used it one day after being out in the hot sun. It was very quiet but it has lovely coloured mood lighting and was good for a change. On checking in you get towel cards to exchange for beach towels daily so no need to pack beach towels.

Beach: The hotel has a private area on the beach and there was always spare sun beds and parasols. There are sellers on the beach/promenade but they are not permitted to come into the reserved area. They will shout to you and try to sell you things but a polite no thank you will suffice if you're not interested. I bought a lovely kaftan style beach cover up, just be prepared to barter. The sea was shallow and was fairly warm, but nice and refreshing to cool off.

Food: the food at this hotel is fantastic. Lots of choice and something for everyone, even the fussiest of eaters. A nice touch at breakfast was the free flowing champagne. Very enjoyable!!! Fresh cooked eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, omelettes, selection of breads and pastries, fruits and cereals and a toast machine. Lunch is served in the restaurant by the pool bar, self service, lots of choices, very relaxed and enjoyable and available 12-3:30 after this time there are still a selection of snacks available should you miss the lunch time. Dinner: in Le Santal restaurant from 7pm - men must wear long trousers in the restaurant of an evening, they are strict on this policy. Always loads of choice for evening meal, fresh cooked steaks, a different roast meat every night, pastas, tagines, fish dishes and they have theme nights such as Spanish and Asian. Always pizza and chips available and a large bread selection should anyone be struggling to find something they like. Special mention to the puddings.......ah the puddings!!!! Simply divine!!! All small bite sized creations which looked and tasted amazing! Always a good selection of little moroccan cookies/biscuits to try too. The waiters were brilliant, excellent service regardless of whether you tip or not. Always made the effort to speak to my son and "hi 5" with him and remembered his name after the first night. Attentive and always topped your drinks up without having to be asked. Special thanks to Tarik and Ahmed for looking after us so well.

Hotel: cleanliness is top of the agenda at this hotel, everywhere was always spotless. The lobby/reception area has lots of comfy chairs and sofas and interesting ornaments/decorations. It's a great place to chill out and people watch with a glass of champagne. Wifi connection available in this area (sometimes round pool area too but this was hit and miss). You can even get your shoes cleaned near the main entrance. The lighting throughout the hotel is beautiful, really sets the scene. Security man at the main entrance is an expert at getting taxis, just ask him and tell him where you need to go, he will summon one for you and advise you the maximum that you should pay.

Weather: some days you open the curtains to find a mist, nothing to worry about, it burns off and is still hot regardless. The sun does still get through the cloud. When the mist burns off you get lovely hot sunshine! We did not see the mist every day! The weather is the one thing beyond anyone's control.

We travelled with Thomson and attended the welcome meeting, the only trips that were really mentioned/pushed were the day in Marrakech and the 4 x 4 Atlas Mountains trip. We decided against Marrakech and opted for the half day tour to Taroudant which is known as "mini Marrakech", it was great to see local life without having to endure 4 hours each way travelling to Marrakech and we were back at the hotel in time for lunch and an afternoon's sunbathing. We also did the Caleche/medina trip -again only half day but you get a ride in a horse and carriage a trip to the medina and we drove through a traditional Berber village. We thought these were great value for money!! We did see the rep a couple of times and knew when/where to find her if needed. Thankfully we did not need her assistance.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday, great food, great staff, great service and a wonderful hotel. We will be back next year.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 10 nights in this hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very impressive when you walk in. Sophisticated "moody" lighting, mixed with marble floors, amazing lighting and tastefully chosen decor all adds up to a very welcoming and relaxing envioroment.
On arrival we were greeted with a welcome glass of Cava and check in was completed within 5 minutes maximum. i had previously e-mailed the hotel asking for a top floor room with the 2 twin beds pushed together as we had booked a twin pool view room with Thomson. Both my requests were met, even to the point of the Ilham from reception immediatly recognising my name and pointing out he had personally made sure i got what i wanted. Room 4016 has an excellent pool and sea view, and the lift from this room brings you out directly next to the pool bar area and swim up bar :-).
Unlike other reviews i had read before our holiday we found the reception staff to be extremely helpfull and efficiant whenever we needed them. Both the men and Women on reception helped us decide which Markets to go to, what opening times were and also when we left our room cards in the room they laughed with us and gave us a replacement one in seconds.
i must also mention the assistant manager Raphael. We also found him extremely helpfull and genuinely intrested in what you had to say. He advised us exactly where we could buy 100% real Argen oil for my wife and also supplied us with a map and draw out 2 different routes we could take by foot.
Whilst i am "kinda" on the subject of walking, i must say if you think Agadir will be like Sharm, Hurghada, Marsa, Tunisia or Marrakesh......... then forget it. Agadir folk are the coolest, most chilled people we have met in any of our other "African/Arabic" ventures. YOU WILL NOT BE HASSLED !!!!!!! We went to both markets/souks in Agadir and were not hassled in the slightest. One souk is the traditional barter for every purchase as nothing has prices on, but bartering can actually be enjoyable if you create a rapport and enjoy yourself. Even in this traditional market we were able to look at all stalls without being hassled to buy anything unless we asked. The secong souk is a set price called the berber souk, here is where you will buy originals of everything so be prepared to pay proper prices (although still much cheaper than the UK).
What we also really liked was the fact the hotel is situated directly adjacent to the promonade which seperates the hotels from the beach (approx 10m wide). everyday and night we could walk along either the prom or the beach in total safety and mix with the locals which was excellent as you reaaly then felt you could absorb the culture and variaty Morocco has. As the prom and beach our lit up at night you would not believe how many people would still be milling around at midnight and beyond (families as well) with lots of bars and eateries along the way. This included many local cafes and bars (nice fish bar at the marina) also Maccies, Pizza hut and KFC if you cant last 2 weeks without them haha.

ok back to the hotel.

Room - Very large for a standard room, with seperate seating area, huge bed, seperate his and hers sinks and the best hotel shower we have experianced. The mini-bar is topped up every day with 2 beers (cans of Flag beer which is also the only beer at all bars on site) 2 Cokes, 2 Sprites and 2 Fantas (all original) however i did find that if you were in the room around 5.30-6.30 thats when they seemed to re-stock the mini bar and if you were there they would give you what you wanted. I also had the offer of a bottle of JD or Smirnoff. The room aircon only works if the balcony is shut, and even when it is shut it aint the greatest, however...... we found if you ran the aircon and the ceiling fan at the same time then the room would cool down PDQ. The room cleaner did an excellent job with all the usual art but she also left some roses which my wife found very nice :-)

Food and Drink - We both enjoyed the food in the main restaurant for breakfast and evening meal and also the beach side dinner resaurant (which doubles up as the Italian). We both also really enjoyed the meals in the Moroccan and "fusion" ? resteraunts albeit the menu selction was not huge, but still very very nice. The only one we couldn't really get our head around was the Italian that opened during our stay. This was basically the same resteraunt used for Lunch for 4-500 people. In the evening though under its new name, they only set maybe 20 tables, the food is self service and not that much different from what is available at lunch time, also due to the huge setting there is no ambiance at all so might they might have to re-think this one. Also 1 more little gripe was that lunch times did mean lots of queuing as there are only 2 hot food stations which sometimes means a wait of 10-15mins at one station whilst the food on your plate gets gradually cooler. i would advise sending one person from your party ahead to reccy the place before commiting to lunch as we found that sometimes it could be fine.
The drinks cannot be faulted in any way !!!! Jack Daniels, Smirnoff, Martell, Bacardi, Johnny Walker, Gordons, Amerreto....... honestly, you name they had it. Also dont think that you can only order the cocktails on the menu.......... ohhhh no, they will make you anything you want. My personal favourite being the Tequila Sunrises made for me by the Bar Manger.... Top man.
Tipping is part of the custom in these countries but i can honestly say that at no point of this holiday did i feel pressured to do so. In fact some bar staff and pool boys would actually refuse tips and say they are just doing their job !!!!!!

Entertainment - ! guy singing with either a band or piano. Pretty much same repetiore of songs each night, pleasent enough and not a bad singer but does get a bit boring. As neither me and my wife are really into hotel entertainment anyway it did not really effect us but if you go there expecting to be blown away with shows and theatre every night...... forget it.

weather - personally we loved it. Warm and misty in the morning, perfect for a run or walk along the promonade. Hotting up ny 10am most days to high 30's/low 40's and cooling down a bit in the evening to make it very comfortable. Some days the cloud didn't clear completely but it was still very warm and still ideal for a swim and a few drinks in the swim up bar.

overall i can say that this holiday is PERFECT if you want a relaxing, chilled and very comfortable holiday. The hotel is beautiful and very well equiped, the staff our very freindly and the food and drinks are great with a huge bedroom as well. I must also add the spa is great, £30 for a body scrub and hour long relaxation massage you can't go wrong. Padded sunbeds (we put our towels out at 8am each morning and got exactly where we wanted every day), no hassle with your every request adhered to.

i hope you have found this review helpful in either confirming you have made the right choice or in helping you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: top floor facing the pool/sea. room 4016 is highly recommended :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.