We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel but 2 star guests!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star hotel but 2 star guests!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently spent a week at the riu palace and although we were impressed with the quality of the rooms and hotel we were very disappointed with the set up. Essentially this is a good hotel but Thomson and going places ( aka TUI) have deployed a " pack em in mentality" thus resulting in this hotel buckling at the seams when in comes to such things as offering good service. The hotel simply cannot cope with so many people , in particular elderly French who are rude and demanding and a predominance of obsese people who spend 4 hours trying everything on the buffet menu thus resulting in long waits for other guests. This after they have laden their towels at 0630 hours meaning the rest of us can never get a poolside seat and thus have no access to endless waiters serving to their needs .
Despite this ,the waiters and staff are very good and helpful until you go the the spa where there is not a single friendly person in sight. It took us 4 days to book a spa session as the lack lustre Laila kept telling us "computer says no". Even after eventually booking a session and arriving ,we were told that he booking was not on the computer so we wasted a day and were given another booking which lasted 25 minutes rather than the 75 minutes advertised,yet charged the full price.when we enquirer why,we were told that some French women had refused to leave the hamam and thus they had denied us our full treatment!!
The hotel is good value if you want to eat non stop all day and have alcohol drip fed in you.personally I prefer better service,some more entertainment and a decent massage.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    520
    160
    31
    11
See reviews for
415
1,177
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My summary (details below)

Pros: Lovely designed hotel, great sized rooms, hard working staff, relaxing (they don't encourage large noisy groups)
Cons: Noisy in the morning, food is ok but not great, lacking a bit of 5 star service, smoking inside the bar

I'll keep it short, lots of great things about this hotel. It's design is beautiful, they have spared no cost on the decoration. The lobby is really impressive and rather than be the dead space they normally are this is constantly filled with people. The main bar is in one corner and the restaurant in the other so it becomes quite a focal point. Lots of lovely sofas to chill out on.

On the down side a main area of the bar is still a smoking area. That banned smoking at the actual bar while we were there but it's still a large area and very central. Not sure why they haven't moved this away from the main area, all the guests are coming from countries with smoking bans.

Rooms were lovely, really spacious and nicely decorated. We were left of reception, balcony overlooked a walk way but we really liked it. Ask reception to add some beers in your minbar - they did it straight away for us.

Previous comments are true, it's hard to sleep in. The door closing mechanism is really loud and the cleaners drag furniture around to clean - it can be pretty noisy and takes away from the 5 star feel.

Pool is lovely, a really lovely space to sit in. Again, little lack of 5 star attention (ok may be picky) pool opens at 8 but still at 9:30 the cleaners are still mopping the floor and cleaning up - it kind of takes away from the relaxing 5 star atmosphere - this is the type of stuff you want to happen in the background. Same thing happens at the end of the day, pool shuts at 6pm but at 4.30 the pool staff are dragging beds around to put away, it's noisy and irritating. We never got sun bed waiter service, we were never asked so just went to the bar - not a hassle really.

Food was a mixed bag and the main thing I think lets the resort down. Breakfast and lunch is ok but does get repetitive. We ate evening buffet only 4 times and found it not a great experience, the food is ok but it's not great. Lots of it seems to be luke warm which is never nice! We tried the two restaurants twice. the Moroccan was pretty awful, service and staff were surly and the food was way below average. As a signature restaurant serving Morrocoan food in a Moroccan restaurant I was expect it to be great, this wasn't even good. Krystal is better, they do a couple of nice dishes. Overall though the two are pretty poor and need alot of work. We ate out one night and had amazing food so it is possible!!

Tried out Zumba and water aerobics - both pretty poor, the instructor needs a 'refresh' and an energy boost

Room Tip: Ask reception to add beer to your free mini bar otherwise it's just soft drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

So a group of 5 friends aged (27 - 29) went to this hotel about 2 weeks ago now from 18th March - 25th March 2013. We arrived at the hotel and was welcomed with a drink which is always nice. Our room took a little time as we arrived early which is understandable, but were given wrist bands (thumbs up) as we were on a all inclusive package to avoid anyone stopping us.

Reception Staff:
Very nice and great money exchanging service (very good rates) but not up to scratch with their english - for example asking for shower gel in our room ended up with the maintenance man coming up trying to fix the shower. Room service has a automated service which is entirely in french which doesn't help much if you don't know the language.

Room:
It was nicely sized as 3 people were in one room and two people in the other - Good points it had a balcony, TV, safe and mini fridge and a comfy bed.

Very Bad points - You could not sleep properly in the mornings as you'd 100% get someone (cleaners) next door or above you dragging chairs across the floor making sure you get up which is unacceptable. Mini Bar was never topped up unless you asked them too (its the simple things that count), neither was the shower gel on the wall it took me over a day to get someone to top this up as they sent up a maintenance man to fix the shower when I clearly did not want or need this. Bedding and Towels - (Management take note) both were a little on the disgusting side even though we did not make a fuss the bedding had marks and stains on which made me think were they ever changed even the towels in the room they didn't look the cleanest i've ever seen some of them had marks on as well.

Food (Buffet):
It was amazing for the first few days but got boring and repetitive for the rest of the days as the menu hardly ever changed.

Restaurants:
I think it was called the Moroccan it was nice for the experience but would not eat their again but the best restaurant in the hotel had to be (Krystal) I was recommended this by a fellow holidayer at RIU and it was outstanding but did get full booked very quickly so make sure your fast with booking this.

Outdoor Swimming Pool and Sun beds:
Amazing view and the gardens around were immaculate hats off to the harding working staff for this. Only thing was the pool was a little cold and it definitely needs a very good clean as you could actually see some dirt at the bottom of it. Another point about the hotel it is lacking in music there was never any music playing though out the whole time we were there.

Sun beds were very nice and having a towel service for this was a bonus. Only thing I could think of was when ordering a drink by you're sun bed don't expect it to come anytime soon or at all which is pretty annoying.

Indoor Swimming Pool, Gym and Game Room:
The indoor swimming pool was nice a little on the cold side but was a lot of fun when it weren't that warm outside.

Gym: was not the greatest which was a downer - a running machine out of use for a whole week (not on) there were no weight lifting bars at all and all in all not much of a gym.

Game Room: was pretty fun when you wanted a little challenge but the only thing that was free was the table tennis - you have to pay to play pool and foosball which is pointless in my opinion.

Entertainment:
Was good but only went on till 10:30pm which is a massive let down especially if you want to carry on the night, there is no club inside the hotel only a bar with no music may I add and it closes a 12am.

The Reps and some Staff - (who made our stay)

Raji who always provided us with drinks with nothing but a smile.
Rashid, Wahiba, Younes and Alex (Volleyball Stars) - Made us feel very welcome and helped with the outdoor sports and tips in general. (they were always happy to help)


Just to summarise the good points and bad points.

We would definitely come back to this hotel again but it definitely needs to pay attention to the details stated above. (Improvements could make this the best hotel in Agadir)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having read the rave reviews about this hotel, my husband and I were really looking forward to our stay here. We found it to be a very good, well run hotel that provides value for money and is only a short flight away to sunny weather at this time of year.

As for the 'wow' factor, well that must be the staff. They work incredibly hard, are always attentive, pleasant and very grateful if you tip them, but they certainly aren't hanging around in expectation. In fact, you have to be quick or they are onto their next job! The affable managers eat in the restaurants and have a visible presence in the hotel throughout the day. The only negative comments we could make are about the lack of porters, there were none available to help take the cases up the steps when we arrived at the hotel and we waited over two and a half hours to get our bags after we changed rooms.

We thought the rooms were of reasonable size but very dark. We asked to be moved to the fourth floor but it made little difference. Both rooms were situated to the left of reception and didn't get any sun on the balcony. The staff on reception were excellent. We had a few minor problems: lamp not working, safe not working and a wardrobe door that was constantly coming off the runner and sticking. They were all dealt with swiftly and efficiently; the wardrobe doors were actually removed. There is limited storage space in the room and we had to leave items of clothing in our cases because there were so few drawers. We found the bed to be very uncomfortable as the mattress was really hard. The sunbeds are much better!

There was always freshly cooked food available in the restaurants and the wine is very gluggable. The tables are a little close together though and although we tried the specialist restaurants, we didn't find them that special. At the end of the week, we had to queue to get in but didn't have to wait too long.

The hotel is spotless apart from the cutlery. I have a cast iron stomach and have never been ill on holiday before. Therefore, I was suprised when I developed a stomach bug and even more suprised to find that I was not the only one. Several other people were suffering too.

We are not early risers and at the beginning of the week could manage to find a sunbed with a comfy mattress after 9am. As the week progressed and the hotel became busier, we found that we couldn't get an umbrella or mattress at that time. However, there are always basic sunbeds available and the pool staff are happy to move them around for you. The day we were leaving, we were up at 7am and were amazed to see sunbeds already reserved, especially as the towel hut doesn't open until 8!

We were part of the large number of 50+ golden oldies staying at this hotel but there were also large groups of younger people and, as we were leaving, there were quite a few families with young children arriving too.

DO:
Ask for a room on the right of reception.
Pack a bath robe, slippers and Imodium.
Take a bottle of water in your hand luggage to the airport ( Agadir allows you to take it through security with you!)

DON'T:
Pack a hairdryer, the one in the bathroom is very good.
Wait for the porter to take your luggage.

This hotel is great for a relaxing week in the sun and I would recommend it to anybody staying in Agadir but I wouldn't go quite so far as to say WOW!

Room Tip: Ask for one to the right of reception as they seem to get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for 12 nights during March. I have thought hard about what to write about this hotel as all the previous reviews to this one i feel are fairly accurate.

I have to agree that the rooms, pool and grounds are to a five star standard and for an all inclusive the food was excellent with variety and did not become repetitive. The hotel is continually being cleaned and their is a lovely feel to the hotel.

The majority of the guests are in their prime so entertainment i feel is aimed towards them bingo, boules, yoga, pool aerobics, Arabic lessons etc. The entertainment team did try to get some of the holiday makers to play volleyball but with little success. The promenade offers a nice walk and the beach is clean. Yes there are some people trying to sell you there goods but a simple "no thank you" is enough for them to leave you alone.

Outside the hotel there are a few bars and shops. Not a lively night out but something different if you wanted a change. The fish restaurant directly opposite the hotel was fantastic and if you go out of the hotel, turn right and go across the road there are a selection of bars which also offered friendly service with a smile. Did not try the casino opposite to these bars so can not comment. There is also a nightclub called flamingos outside the hotel. To get there take a left out of the hotel and its five minutes down the road, again not lively but ideal if you want to stay out past midnight.

So why i have i only given four stars instead of five?

The minor nit picking points ........
Mini bar in the room is stocked with coke, fanta, sprite, beer, still water and sparkling water but there are no diet drinks which is not ideal if you are diabetic.
When taking a shower the water pressure is that good that when you have finished we had water in the bottom of the bath up to our calves which was not an issue for us but may not be safe for other guests. Also it was quicker to fill the bath with the rain shower than with the tap. The corridors at night are particularly dark in some areas especially outside the lifts and your room.

There are lots of rules in this hotel, no reserving beds, no swimming after 6pm, no balls or flotation devices in the pool, no drinks after midnight, breakfast and dinner in one dining room and lunch in another. Having stayed in other all inclusives around the world including RIU this is the most restrictive hotel for rules and there not followed. Most of the guests are French and German so from 7am beds around the pool are being reserved, before midnight the guests who would like to stay out a while longer are ordering multiple drinks at the bar.

The biggest issue for us was the service, it was not consistent and that is why I can not give five stars. The restaurants were fine with excellent service but at the bar areas it was every man for himself. If you shouted your order the loudest then you were served the quickest despite how long other people had been waiting. The bar staff failed to identify who was next to be served and so would ask "who is next" and then it was a free for all of shouting orders. Many English people who would wait patiently became very frustrated as they were unable to get served however I have to thank Halim and Fasial who provided consistent and excellent service.

In summary .......... I have to agree with most of Zaras review, this hotel is ideal if you are a parent of grown up children who have left home, want to play golf and go to bed early in a relatively child free zone. Thomson I feel should make holiday makers aware of this at the time of booking. Have consistent service, less rules and this hotel would be five stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week at The Riu Palace, and what can I say otherthan the best 5* Hotel we have every stayed in. Others have come close, but this just had everything. Booked pretty last minute so I know I paid over the odds, but it was worth every penny.

The flight with Thomson was great, no delays, pick up from airport was great, and the transfer was only a little over 30 minutes. There were a lot of check ins on our arrival but was all dealt with quickly and efficiently, with a welcome drink. Our cases were taken to our room, they actually were there waiting for us. The room was lovely, spacious, clean, everything to a high standard. We did pay extra to have a pool/sea view. Our only tiny comment, would be we were at the end where the main building was based, and our balcony had a concrete wall rather than railings, so when you sat down on the balcony, you had no view, but this is only a tiny issue, which if we went back, we would ask for the 4th floor again but with a railed balcony.

The food was fantastic, varied, hot, plentiful and beautifully displayed. Every day had something difference. We tried both A La Carte restaurants and they were a nice change but once was enough as the main restaurant was so nice.

Yes the beds were a little firm, but only because I suffer with bursitus in my upper thighs and need more cushioning, but my husband was very comfortable,

The rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed and they always renewed all the little extras, such as cotton wool and body lotion

Drinks are great, they served champagne by the glass from the bar but whether it was lunch time or dinner time, you could order bottles of wine which for me was a sign of a hotel which can afford to not scrimp on quality or quantity.

The weather was unsettled even though I looked at the forecast before we left and it predicted a nice week. We landed on the Thursday to full cloud, which did clear by late afternoon, but Saturday it rained most of the day. Sunday was sunny but extremely windy and then we had more rain and cloud on Wednesday, just getting a couple of hours sunshine late afernoon. We still came back with a nice tan and fully refreshed.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, although when we return and we definitely plan to, we will go a bit later in the year to hopefully guarantee better weather.

The last thing I wanted to say was how lovely the people were. All the staff, cleaners, waiters and Hotel staff were professional and friendly. Special mention to Souma, Omar and Younes in the restaurant, who always went that extra mile to say hello and make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms which faced the pool were lovely. We would not normally be happy with ground floor, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castleford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

hi i have just come back on the 25 march from the riu palace tikda agadir the hotel is out of this world i have nether been to a hotel there the seating is so compfer the staff are very nice will do any thing for you and they dont expect a tip every time.the food very good something diffrent every day the drink s our drinks proper not theres i was drinking vodca martini shaken not stired james bonds drink got nuts and olives with every drink if you wonted them the pool was heated 30 deg comming around with drinks all the time lovely pool aira beds so comfy thick mattress on sun beds only one thing i can say the entainment not to good but they do ther best i would give this hotel 11 out of 10

Room Tip: 1116 right on the pool low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agadir hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Timoulay
Hotel Timoulay
#2 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Palace Agadir
Atlantic Palace Agadir
#23 of 80 in Agadir
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Atlas & Spa
Royal Atlas & Spa
#21 of 80 in Agadir
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.5 mi away
lti Agadir Beach Club
lti Agadir Beach Club
#33 of 80 in Agadir
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.