We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to negatives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't listen to negatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Well where do I start : booked in feb and watched the TA reviews right up to arriving at the Palace on the 24 sept stayed for 1week,all the negatives about the staff are rubbish they, all from cleaning staf to management are happy smiling and greet you with bonjour. And can't do enough for you,I can only assume if you walk around like a slapped **** looking for negatives you will find them and a happy smile and thank you and please and politeness goes both ways and I saw enough ignorant people who do push in and click their fingers at staff and treat them like **** enough said ! Sunbeds plenty you do get a lot at first light trying to get their selected favourite spot and most were British one even had his scottish flag flying on his sunbed every morning.Food we did book the 3 specialised restaurants the first day as there is a limited seating at 7pm and 9pm the food was good not excellent and the buffet restaurant was much better with excellent choice but without the silver service. Rooms are fab storage space was not a problem and my wife did have a fair few long dresses the seated area was a bit of a waste of space and could have been used for maybe a dresser but I'm nit picking! Smell yes there was a bit of a pong like cabbage sometimes in the corridor and a little in the bathroom but again not enough to complain we did have one day thurs where the heavens opened with thunder lightening and rain like I have never seen we were at a souk in the town and the drains the roads were flooded knee deep amazing experience but all that water has to go somewhere and it does come out on the town beach not a nice sight hence the pong coming up through the drains and the smell in the hotel! Would I go back possibly don't normally return to same hotel or country as there are so many places I want to visit but for a short hop for sun service and luxury yes I would? we have stayed at some amazing 5star hotels around the world and this is not far off tops GO AND ENJOY a fab time at a very good hotel and do not listen to the poor negatives

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    402
    126
    23
    6
See reviews for
316
902
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On the whole, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed stayed with our two daughters and niece in two rooms. It was unfortunate that we had to change rooms twice due to a horrible smell of drains. We had only been in the first room for one day when the smell made staying in the room unpleasant. We called reception, their answer was to send someone with air freshener and to switch the air con off. We had to ask to be moved the next day.
Sadly, the same thing happened to one of the rooms we were moved to and we had to change rooms again. Reception were not very helpful and we had to approach the general manager who happened to be in the reception area to speed things up. It was a shame because it spoiled a break we had looked forward to ( our 30th wedding anniversary).
Other than the fact that we had to call Thompson twice to obtain our bus back to the airport, not sure what happened with that, we had a good stay. Nice pool, nice food. One lady behind the downstairs bar was particularly helpful. Just a shame about the smell.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is still in the early stages of operating so, as you would expect, everything is new, clean and up to date from the sunbeds to the rooms themselves. We had a minor issue on arrival in that the room allocated smelt of drains but they changed us immediately to another room with no problems. The rooms are spacious with good quality fittings and the beds are firm but very comfortable. The TV seemed all singing and dancing but we don't go on holiday to watch TV so didn't check what was available. We didn't have a pool view but were on the side of the hotel with a partial sea view. This is perfectly acceptable as we only sat there for an end of evening drink when it was dark so we didn't need to see anything!! If you intend to sit on your balcony rather than at the beach or pool then book a pool view, otherwise there is no need!

The staff are extremely keen to serve, whether this continues remains to be seen, but in the main they were veryb efficient, friendly and polite, even the maids in corridors spoke to us! Tipping seems to ensure the service continues but sometimes I felt it was expected just because they had said 'Good Morning'.
The food in the restaurants is excellent and I couldn't fault any of it. The chefs seemed very happy working there and were on hand to explain dishes if required. There is a huge amount of choice, with a pasta\pizza station, a carvery section and a main section doing everything from fish to curries. There were usually two soup choices as well as salad and cold meat options. The desserts were amazing!! Breakfast was also varied with the normal eggs, bacon, beans etc but also pancakes, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and fruit. All this washed down with Champagne if you so wish!!!
We had booked the Moroccan restaurant but unfortunately my son was ill (from before we got there - nothing to do with the hotel) so we changed it to the Italian. This meal was also fantastic and a slightly more intimate setting. The dress code is definitely adhered to which is great to see. It's good to see people can make an effort when required. It also stops the football shirt and shorts brigade from booking here, which can only be a good thing!
The bars serve pretty much anything you'd expect and the cocktails are worth trying.The champagne and cocktails are available at no extra cost unlike some other so called 5* AI hotels.There are some lovely seating areas around the bars, inside and out on the balcony where you can watch the amazing sunsets.

The pools are bigger than they appear on photos. There are two, one of which has Aquafat, sorry, Fit, at 12pm which I have to say got a good number of participants. The other is slightly larger with a swim up bar so it is popular but is large enough to swim in or laze around. The pools are also immaculate, being cleaned morning and night. There were a fair few pool attendants and we even saw one wiping down the metal posts of the railings after it had rained which was exceptional attention to detail! Sorry, yes there was a bit of rain and sea mist but if you have done your homework you will know this can occur. There is a decent size indoor pool that can be used if this is the case so it wasn't all bad.

My only negative is the now normal issue of sunbeds being reserved. Unfortunately we didnt cotton onto this for a couple of days but then you are forced to join in just to get somewhere to sit. This really does need to be looked at as it appears that the pool staff are getting tipped to hold these beds. There were beds near us that were free, but 'reserved' from 9.10am and were still not used when we went to our room at 5.45pm. I also saw someone try to take towels off two beds for the guy next to them to say that 'their friends were at lunch' which was a complete lie! No-one used them all day but what can you do?! I don't know if the hotel was fully booked as it never seemed too busy they couldn't cope, so I can only imagine how much worse it could get if this continues.
There are sunbeds over the promenade within the reserved section of the beach (a 30 second walk!) which I imagine doesn't get the same issue. The beach is great and the 'hawkers' few and far between and easy to say no to.

Hotel Riu Palace Tikida will appeal to a slightly older clientele, or those wishing to avoid the Brit crowd and masses of children. There are some activities but they are low key so its a perfect place to chill out without music blasting in your ears or hollers of 'Volleyball' that can occur in other hotels. We looked at ClubHotel Tikida Dunas and if you want kids club, mini disco, water polo, volleyball etc etc then that is probably a much better option for you. Hotel Riu Palace is much quieter and a fantastic place to recharge and grab some sun. I highly recommend it and would definitely go back if I was to return to Morocco.

On a side note Agadir itself isn't that great so unless you really want to see a marina or a souk I'd say just relax in the sun!!!

Room Tip: You enter the Hotel lobby on the 3rd floor so floor 1 has the pool terrace rooms. Restaurants and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Very well designed. Big comfortable reception/lobby area, plenty of bars and restaurants. Food is good, the Moroccan Restaurant was great. The Krystal Restaurant is the 'posh' restaurant with fine dining, but we had to wait 5 days before we could get in. So book this up as soon as you get a chance. The reception staff were so friendly and helpful, we were so impressed. The rooms were kept spotless. The pool is lovely and the comfortable sunbeds are great... if you can get up early enough to reserve one. Although the hotel has a sunbed reservation policy, they are still reserved very early. But we did spend one day watching a spectacle when there was a complaint about this so the pool staff were removing some towels reserving the cabbana-style sunbeds, so beware if you are going to reserve a sunbed early and not turn up for hours - they might well remove your towels and so they should!
The beach is massive with nice soft sand, there are beach sellers that walk past but are not much hassle if you just say no thank you or ignore them. A nice breeze came off the sea so it was cooler, but a few days the sea mist came interferring with our suntan mission! Lots of people on the beach having fun made a good atmosphere and a nice big promenade to walk along.
Really recommend the hotel, just one real complaint, that they need to work on the service provided in the restaurants. The waiters are sooo slow with approaching you for serving the drinks and you sit with an empty glass for ages. It sounds silly but it was really frustrating when you can see the waiters just walking around slowly but avoiding eye-contact or making themselves busy folding napkins... In the morning you could wait sit down and wait for about 30 minutes until anyone asks whether you want any coffee (even though there was only about 7 tables occupied). What we did learn was that if you pick a waiter and tip them, they will remember you! I suggest you tip a little bit every other day (approx £1 worth) to get any sort of service from them, rather than the British way of waiting for good service then tipping.
All in all, it was relaxing, hot, beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

1st... all the people complaining about the noise in Zanzibar and so on WERE NOT IN Riu Palace Tikida Agadir... there were in riu dunas, or tikida beach. SO DISREGARD if your staying at palace tikida.

2nd... I'm 22 and writing frankly: Staff POLITE, HAPPY, FRIENDLY .... list of positive things go on.

Never wanted anyone not to smile, engaged in conversation and were hands down amazing.

no hotel is perfect but the positive FAR outweigh the negatives. Was there from 17th - 25th of sept and would go again NO PROBLEM!

Rooms: spacious, clean.... TVs :) with usb port to watch movies from home.... english channels are :/ but you get decent movies at midday and 9pm on Action channel and they are in english :)

Pool facilities are :o .... no problem getting a sunbed at all; weather is something you cant control but we had a good few days of sun, and in marrakche it was scorching so no real complaints.

People on trip advisor made me sceptic and dredding the holiday, but they were ALL really talking about a diff hotel.

But ONE thing i will mention is this.... if you are nice and polite the staff all across the hotel are wonderful. I noticed a lot of ... elder.... people being extremely obnoxious, rude and impatient which left the staff confused on occasion and frustrated. Most staff have beast english language skills so NO PROBLEM there, but some may struggle a bit so be polite ... please and thank you aint hard. But for all those who seem to think that they are better than the people that are serving them i guess please and thank you is not in their vocabulary.

Like i said i am frank... dnt get offended, just writing what i experienced. Was an awesome holiday, never ate soo much good food in my life and GO ON EXCURSIONS!!!!! they are good value and you get fed on the long trips :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a family holiday with two rooms next to each other on the ground floor opposite the pool. The reception was spacious with lovely decor. Staff were very pleasant & couldn't do enough for you. Our rooms were lovely with plenty of room. The only fault I would say is the kettle & tea making facilities with fridge were in the cupboard which was very dark & quite difficult to get into as the sliding doors kept coming off the rail! We ate mainly in the buffet restaurants which suited us as a family but we did eat in the Italian & international restaurant once and we found this to be nice. There were a few things going on most days but we found that they were not really advertised and feel the entertainment was mainly catered for the French speaking and our children couldn't really understand the songs they were singing. We did watch the Friday night show which was really good. The bar staff were mainly very pleasant & the cocktails were fab. The hotel didn't actually recommend or arrange any trips for us but we did go on a camel ride which was certainly an experience. We also went horse riding on the beach which was fabulous we emailed the company ranch amodou cheval after reading reviews on here. All in all a great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Riu Palace Tikida in Agadir is a very beatiful hotel with a very nice pool area and a good cuisine. But you can really tell by the staff and the service provided that it has not been open for long. They are understaffed, unorganized and basically not up to the task yet of giving hundreds of customers value for their money. Don't get me wrong: the staff is very helpful and extremely friendly, they just need some more time to get everything up to speed and a good shepherd to distribute tasks.
Just one very annoying thing about the guests: everybody is reserving pool beds early morning, so if you don't join in on this awful habit, you won't have a pool bed during the day.
In general the hotel and staff have great potential and therefore I'm looking forward to the future reviews coming in ... let's say a year from now.

Room Tip: Only suites have frontal sea view, but all rooms are fairly large with a walkin dressing connecting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.