We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked for next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Already booked for next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a week in this stunning hotel. Without reiterating all the other very positive reviews on here we had one our best holidays ever. Never known a week go so quickly.

Apart from the usual Gatwick trauma not helped by an overly officious Thomson check-in manager (what is the point of having self-service check-in kiosks but no bag drop facility) the flight was on a brand new 737-800 a pleasant not too long 3 hour flight; Agadir airport was quiet by the time we arrived at 10.30 pm. A quick 30 minute transfer, easy check-in & a cold buffet waiting for us all of which made the journey more bearable.

The hotel is only 3 months old so still being finished off; not that it interrupted the holiday. Once the gardens have matured & finishing touches complete it will be even better. Definitely has the “wow” factor.

It is the little things that make all the difference; the drinks trolley round the pool; the most comfortable sunbeds we have been on; mini-bar (free) in the room & tea & coffee; drinks served at all meals; a great view from the bar looking over the pool & sea; the hotel management being very visible; great friendly staff; the whole hotel spotless clean.

Bedrooms are large, very spacious even though there is a lack of drawers & shelves. Yes the beds are hard but once you get back to your room after the bar has closed at midnight you don’t notice!

Ignore anyone who says the food is "samey". Apart from the A la Carte, which we didn’t really enjoy, choice, presentation & quality of the food is excellent. Nothing better than starting the day with a fresh cooked to order omelette with a glass of fizz sitting outside overlooking the pool & sea.

Agadir is a lovely resort, wonderful sandy beach; great prom running all along the beach, plenty of shops to browse & buy in (just across the road from the front of the hotel). We always felt very safe & the “sellers” didn’t hassle you once they know you weren’t interested in buying.

Our tips would be:-
Book a pool view room – it is definitely worth the little extra
Book your late check-out room as soon as possible – 600 dirhams (£45.50) until 6 pm (we had a 7.30pm pick-up) Although it is now a pre-bookable option on Thomson’s website for summer 2013
Don’t worry about the cloudy mornings – the lazy sun (as the locals call it) usually breaks through by lunchtime – but you will still get burnt.
Get out & see the resort.

Our only real criticism would be that the lovely ambience of the hotel would be better suited for adults only.

A perfect holiday – amazing value for money & yes we have booked for next year. Ignore the negative reviews on here - not sure that the person who wrote the review titled “not 5” stayed at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a pool view - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    399
    125
    23
    6
See reviews for
314
898
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Visited this hotel mid-May for a girlie chill out week. Did not disappoint!
Arrived midnight and were pleasantly surprised that a cold platter was available on arrival, which was greatly appreciated.
Disliked the wrist bands, but accept that this is pretty much par for the course with most all inclusive hotels.
Our standard room with pool view on 3rd floor surpassed expectations. Spacious, very tasteful decor and great additional seating area indoor and on the balcony. Loved the bathroom with double basins and found wardrobe storage and shelving adequate but not generous. Ceiling fan nice alternative to air-con and used this most nights.
Outdoor pool tempted us to a pre breakfast swim every day and was a good opportunity to secure our very comfy sun beds. Despite signs saying ‘do not reserve sun beds’ this was obviously disregarded and unfortunately you inevitably get caught up in this if you want to relax by the pool. Having said this there was additional outdoor seating with very comfortable furniture available further away from the pool. This area will probably be more appealing when the 2nd bar is open. Also lovely having fresh clean pool towels available every day. The pool area was very clean; pool was great to swim in and the bar and bar service was good, especially when they came round to your sun bed with the drinks trolley!! Impressed that our drinks were made with branded spirits. Although any drink is available from the bar, the availability of bottles of water would be a useful addition.
Food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent and again beyond expectations. Amazing choice and particularly enjoyed the range of regional dishes available. Whilst the ambience of the A La Carte restaurants are worth enjoying, the food is frankly no better than the main restaurant and the service does not reflect a 5* A La Carte restaurant. Generally it would appear that staff are trained to whisk plates away very promptly – sometimes too promptly – but more often than not service is accompanied with a beautiful Moroccan smile.
The animation team work hard for all to make use of the activities but are very respectful if, like us, you were happy not to leave your sun bed. Lovely friendly team and was a pleasure chatting with them. They also provided good fun entertainment during the evening shows.
From the hotel across a pedestrianised promenade lies an amazing beach. The sun bed area is not of the standard of the pool area and there is a slight feeling of being penned in. However, for long walks to the Marina, or in the other direction towards the Kings summer residence (or as close as you can get!) it was just perfect. Also very easy to walk from the hotel and explore Agadir.
Beautiful climate with very comfy breeze and regardless of whether or not the sun is shining, you do need high factor sun cream if you don’t want to burn. We booked our holiday through Thomsons, as a late booking, and overall were delighted with our choice and would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at Riu Palace end of May and I have to say it was simply the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

1)the staff are extremely attentive, polite and hard working. Always with a smile on their faces and willingness to help. Most of them speak 4 languages which is very impressive. We tipped between 10-20dirham and they will all go the extra mile for you. I think no matter everything else the staff are the main thing for me that makes this hotel brilliant.
2) food was superb! You can eat a lot and you can also eat very healthily, you sometimes forget that you're eating a buffet food. There are plenty of lovely little starters and also tiny cakes so you can try 3 or 4 different types without filling up too much. Great selection at breakfast and in the evening they do different food themes like oriental etc. At the bar you can get a variety of lovely cocktails which are a must to try!
3)decor&rooms. We loved the decor of the hotel it's modern and sophisticated but also kept in the Moroccan style. Rooms lovely and spacious, loved the his and hers sinks. Yes no drawer but most places I've stayed at don't have draws, and besides that what on earth is wrong with shelves?!
4)entertainment was loads of fun. They usually do activities at about 11am and 4pm. There is plenty of choice from aqua gym to bingo and once you get involved its a lot of fun! I found evening entertainment really good and they put on a different show every night. If you fancy horse riding you must try amdou cheval ranch for a sunset ride on the beach.
5)the manager was constantly around and checking guest satisfaction. He is Very helpful and will go out of his way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.

Overall a brilliant stay and such a lovely holiday! We're already looking to book again for September .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Went to this hotel at the end of may,the weather was hot and the air con in rooms was not on had to ask at reception.
Have stayed at the rui tikida in Marrakesh which is only a 4* and offers so much more along with better service and more staff present around the hotel,the hotel was only 70% full and there was no where enough staff,only one outside bar was open.
The same food is offered every day in the lunch time restaurant which becomes a bit boring.
Couldn't get in the Krystal restaurant even though we tried the day we arrived,but did manage to eat in the Moroccan restaurant which was excellent best meal of the holiday.
I feel the hotel has opened to soon and they have rushed the finish they should have opened later when everything was ready.
also couldn't sit on the balcony as there was a horrible smell from outside drains.will go back to rui in Marrakesh as a lot nicer .
best thing about the holiday was the people we met and the two hour massage we had .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Recently returned from a week's stay at the palace, all inclusive with Thomson. We had night flights which took 3.30hrs and transferred from Agadir airport direct to hotel in 30mins with lots of great local info from the rep, was very quick & hassle free... No time difference from the UK either which suprised us as we thought there was 1hr!
The front of the hotel is not that impressive, but as you step into the lobby area - 'Wow'. The decor from floor to celing is stunning and represents a true 5* hotel. The reception staff on check in were very helpful and we received a welcome drink on arrival too, which was a nice touch.
As we arrived late to the hotel, the all inclusive was still available for us with a selection of cold dishes.
Arrived at our standard room on the 4th floor in the right wing of the hotel, bags had already been delivered. Very impressed to be fair, spacious, clean and very luxurious. Was two large twin beds pushed together, very comfy. Free mini bar stocked daily, safe, his & her's wardrobes and sinks. Amazing shower in the bath. Flat screen tv, with 1 english channel. A small lounge area with sofa and table and chairs. We had a large balcony looking out on to the tennis courts and the beach. Room was faultless. Maids cleaned the room daily & changed your towels once you left your old ones on the floor! No plug sockets near mirror's though :-( My only room complaint, except in the bathroom which wouldnt work for straightners. My husband's room complaint was the toilet roll was rubbish, ha.
Food was really good, Lots of hot & cold choices of food - You can't get bored! Drinks are served to your table and plates removed fairly quickly. There is only one choice of wine in either red, white or rose - but this is to a good standard to be fair! We ate at both the Krystal & Morrocan a la carte restaurants. The Morrocan was delicious and the decor was beautiful too. The Krystal i didnt really enjoy the experience, service was bad - very slow and food was not that great.
There was evening live music and a show both excellent!
The pool area was stunning, very cold though. We were lucky when we arrived that this wasnt very busy but as we got to the beginning of June this became increasingly busy and you struggled to find a sun lounger without a towel on after 9am. Too busy for us really, like everyone is watching you! Beach is lovely and quieter, although there is no beach bar :-( Bar by the pool is very good, service is very good.
All in all a very enjoyable week's holiday! One thing we didn't no before we came was the weather, Not as hot as we thought it was going to be - The sun did not come out till after lunchtime for 5 of the days we were there, which apparently is quite common... And it was always very windy.

Room Tip: Standard room is excellent! 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This a great hotel. For the money we spent, we could not expect any more! We booked direct with the hotel and flew with BMI at decent times from LHR. The hotel is only 20mins away from the airport. The lobby was lovely and we were greeted with a drink apon arrival. Check in was quick and our bags taken to our room. The rooms are lovely alnd rather large. I found the beds very comfortable. Some people have complained about the lack of drawers but my partner found plenty of room to but our things. Maybe if one stays for over 3 months then the staff will be more than happy to put a chest of drawers in the room :-)

The pool area is lovely with plenty of comfortable sun beds. A swim up bar and towel service. The cocktails are very tasty. also there is drink service so need to get up! :-)

The entertainment team are great and very friendly. All sorts of games going. the night entertainment was also good fun.....lots of people might not enjoy it but that is only because they might expect to see a west end show. I am sure if one spends about £5000 more and stays at the Four Seasons there might be better shows. The entertainment team does a great job and try really hard and I think its great!... So I recommend going to the shows.. have a couple of drinks and join in!!!!

The Manager, Rafael, is simply the best manager I have ever met. He walks around the entire day and night checking on everyone and will go out of this way to ensure you have a great time.

The Staff are very friendly and always on hand to offer good service. The hotel is a full all inclusive but I still tipped (10-20dirhams) They are very grateful for this and will go the extra mile to help you next time.

The food is awesome..... sometimes I forgot I was not in a fancy expensive restaurant....
Try to get on the list of the Moroccan restaurant... fantastic food and table service.

We only left the resort twice. The first time was to go horse riding. google: Horse Back Riding at Ranch Amodou Cheval. This was a great way to see a bit of Adagir... We did the half day ride for only 800dirhams. If you like riding... you must do this ride...

The second time was for a Moroccan massage as the Spa was not open yet (but I think it opens on the 5th of June)

I am sure if you book this hotel.... 99% of you will not regret..

I

Room Tip: Top floor and facing the pool as you will then also get a great sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Found this hotel very nice with fantastic rooms, nice pool food was excellent, located on the beach. lots of flags flying as you pull up to the hotel but no Union jack??? was very disapionted with the thomson rep Moes, asked his help to seek some horse riding information, I waited 2 day with no reply eventually i asked reception to contact him, his reply was thomson don,t do horse riding. Obvious he just sells thomson tours. Do the hotel a favor, get rid of the thopmson salesman and get a proper rep.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.