We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

just returned from an 11 night stay at the Riu palace Agadir, and i have to say i cannot fault this hotel, or its staff.
the rooms are very nice, and i found the bed very comfortable. bathroom facilities are excellent.
all the staff are friendly and really do go out of their way to help.
special mention to the assistant manager(raphael) was on hand all the time helping with any query.
the a la carte restaurants were both excellent in my opinion too!
Pool area was great, lovely sunbeds, and one pool was heated which was a pleasant change from other places i have been.
yes the spa/hairdressers wasnt open yet, but i wouldnt have used either anyway.
in my opinion it was without doubt the nicest hotel in Agadir, and i would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: level 3 rooms are good, as they are on the same floor as the reception/restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    355
    114
    23
    7
See reviews for
287
796
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent 7 nights here, the second part of a twin centre holiday. We were pretty nervous about what we might find as the hotel had not been open long but we loved it here.
They are making great progress and the only things that were not ready were the hairdressers (who goes on holiday for a haircut?!), the spa (but very reasonable trips for massage available) and the games room (I have no idea what they will do in there!).

We had a 4th floor room with a sea view and a view of the mountains and it was beautiful. Decorated to a high standard, a lovely bathroom and hard beds that personally suited me down to the ground. I would have been disappointed with a pool view as the mountain view is pretty special. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day, the towels are soft and the air conditioning effective.

The pool is beautiful. There are two, one heated, one not. Even though it was 44 degrees when we were there, we still found the unheated pool pretty cold but it is early in the season. Most comfortable sunbeds ever and drinks service at your lounger.

Food was good, although I think there could have been more variety, particularly at lunchtime, as the selection was the same every day. However, there is plnety to choose from. Evening meals are nice but there is nowhere to eat outside in the evenings. Breakfast tables outside are at a premium but even in the time we were there, the management were responsive and were adding more tables and putting more staff on outside service. Gorgeous breakfast buffet. The speciality restaurants are mixed - the moroccan was amazing, although the 5 courses were too much and I could not move afterwards! The tagine was beautiful and the restaurant is stylish. I found the decor of the Krystal restaurant a little cold and too stylistic and the food was distinctly average - other Riu Krytal restuarants have been of a much better standard.

The staff were helpful and very responsive. Any small suggestion made, inevitably you found the management responding to it the next day.

Very little building work going on and actually, many hotels have the same level of constant maintanence ongoing. Some people were complaining about the smallest things and expect so much. This hotel is an absolute bargain - what you get for your money is superb.

Agadir is dull, dull, dull so my advice is to combine a stay here with a few nights in Marrakech where you can experience a more authentic Morocco. We walked out in the evenings and it feels very safe but there is nothin of Morocco to see there. Agadir reminds me of a down market Blackpool but all we wanted to do after a hectic time in Marrakach was to chill out in luxury and we certainly got that as the hotel is outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Having trawled the hotels in Agadir (we had to leave a disaterous hotel after only 1 night!) and physically looked at at least 4 hotels (including Sofitel) I can honestly say that I would be shocked if anyone could find anything better. From the moment we made our begging inquiries as to their availabilty to the time we checked out, I can honestly say that I have no complaints as everything was perfect. We have been doing this annual birthday holiday for years and this is the first time a hotel has "ticked all the boxes" and met with our very high expectations - so much so ,we're already looking to book again before the end of the year. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't get into their restaurants - that wasn't the fault of the hotel as we had only 3 days left of our stay and they work on a rotating restaurant system so I would suggest you book on arrival if you can!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed for 10 nights April/May 2012, although there were still a few finishing touches to be made it was fabulous. The hotel wasn't filled to capacity only about 300 guests out of a possible 900 but the staff although a bit a bit sparse worked very hard. The food was excellent and the night we went to the Krystal was amaxing, first class although we were unable to get booked in the 2nd week and also the Moroccan restuarant was fullly booked. Rafael the deputy manager was always around checking that everything was in order. We has a pool view which was outstanding. Our room was lovely although the beds were a bit hard as were the pillows for my liking. There are no drawers in the rooms but plenty of shelving. The rooms very quite noisy you could here people walking along the corridors. The spa wasn't open when we there which was a pity,also neither was the swim up pool bar or 2 of the other bars. The entertainment team worked very hard and were very friendly. The could have been a bit more choice of food in the restuarant it became a bit boring after a week. Although not stated in the brochure men must wear long trousers to dine on an evening.
As we were there for 10 nights our flight times were very good although the plane was very shabby. Getting through passport control was a trial, so slow, also checking in when leaving took 40 minutes to which was a nightmare.
The only disappointment we had was we ordered drinks one night at 11.45pm (the bar shuts at 12) and due to the service not poured until 12 they refused to let us have them!
Moez the rep was very pleasant and helpful as was Rafael, nothing was to much trouble.
Overall I thought this hotel was pretty special and hope to return again later in the year. It will be great to see it in all it's glory.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel as a whole is stunning, we had a suite which was like a two bedroom flat-just breathtaking which when arrived at 23:30 is exactly what you needed! Agree the the beds are rock hard. The pool area was lovely, everywhere was clean, staff very friendly, our 15 month old daughter was treated like a star! Food-good choice and quality, although not quite as good as the Riu Palaces we've stayed at in Aruba and Mexico. Flight times are the only factor that would prevent us revisiting-please change Thomson! You will not be disappointed by this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A brand new hotel with a few teething problems!!!!!!!!!!

Had a good flight from Gatwick, and an easy check into the hotel which all ran smoothly. Rooms are all much the same unless you ask for a double bed, or two singles. I wish we had asked for two singles as the double was far too hard and I had to ask them to make up the sofa bed for me to sleep on. They did this with no problem. Yes there are no drawers, but plenty of shelving so can’t see the problem with previous people moaning about this. We noticed that after returning to our room on a daily basis the maids had replaced all of the plugs, we realised why after returning and using the sinks etc if you didn’t you would get a nasty smell from them. Something I think they may be working on. We found the rooms to be very noisy!!! Doors banging from other rooms, scraping furniture, people walking around in other rooms.

Food was good but much the same on a daily basis. Couldn't get booked into the Crystal Restaurant as it was already booked after our first day of arriving. We visited the Moroccan resturant, which was excellent!

Moez the rep really helpful and very experienced. We experienced the two hour massage, brilliant value for money, it work out about £27.00, we recommend this!!

Pool area excellent but be warned when we were there they were ordering more sun beds which we think would over crowd the pool area greatly!!! We went to the beach but found the private section too packed in, but otherwise it was ok. BEWARE, if you are likely to get bitten by mosquitoes, take Jungle Formula with you to use in the day, not many mosquitoes but nasty tiny flies and bugs that bite like mad!!!! The entertainment staff worked very hard and all could not do enough for you.

In all I don't think yet this hotel deserves the 5 star it has, the reason for this is, in my opinion a 5 star hotel should be completely top of the range! This hotel is trying very hard but with the lack of staff to cope with the amount of people and the noisy rooms and lack of bars not opened and restaurants being completely booked, it is struggling. It needs to treble the staff for them to be able to attend to their guest that you would expect from a 5 star!!!

Had a good holiday, meet some wonderful people, but would we return? NO!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms good but opt for the two singles as the doubles are really hard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Palace. Weather was fantastic and pool area amazing. Quality of furnishings in the bedrooms and the public areas are first class. Krystal and Moroccan restaurants open but not the Italian or the Spa. Had disastrous night in Krystal due to staff being under resourced - waited almost an hour and a half for main meal so left. Complained to Manager, Raphael who eventually resolved the situation. Bedrooms - no draws and no sockets infront of mirrors for us ladies so drying/straightening hair almost impossible - I asked for extension which was supplied. Mattresses rock hard so didn't sleep very well, sunbeds round pool much more compfy! Entertainment in the evening is poor - the animation team do their best but amateurish to say the least - come on Rui - you are a big enough chain to get some decent acts in. Beach disappointing - loads of rubbish incl dirty nappies - needs attention as otherwise spoils Agadir's main attraction. Thomson rep, Moez is brilliant - great guy and dependable. After saying all that though, I do think it is worth another visit so we have booked again for 10 nights next May and it will be interesting to see if my comments have made any difference.

Room Tip: Take a jig-a-pick for the Sugar Puffs at breakfast!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.