We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stunning new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a stunning new hotel in a great beachfront setting! The decor is elegant, the atmosphere relaxing, the food excellent and the service welcoming and efficient. The rooms are spacious and well equipped with a particularly impressive bathroom/dressing room area ( though, oddly, there is no drawer space). The pool area is chic with lovely sunbeds and attentive bar staff; one of the pools is heated. The garden is a work in progress but already shows promise. The indoor pool is available for use though the decor is not yet finished. The spa isn't ready yet and there is some building work going on but it is unobtrusive. The Thomson rep, Moez, is most helpful and goes out of his way to ensure guests have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    459
    146
    27
    11
See reviews for
364
1,054
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent the 12th-19th of April at this hotel and had a fantastic time. Work is still ongoing and I could see that the early bookers perhaps got a different experience from us but believe me you hardly notice the work going on and if you do notice it you will admire the attention to detail going on! There are still people moaning at the hotel but everyone I spoke to was more than happy with the whole holiday experience and found any disruption to be kept to a minimum during the busy day time periods.

Pros; food is fantastic in the main restaurant and varied and they will cook fresh for you, speciality restaurants were very enjoyable. Beautiful hotel, amazing architecture and design, lovely staff with good sense of humour and management with caring attitude. Great location and lovely place to relax. Certainly gives off a "5 star" ambience.

Cons: The bedroom doors are heavy and make quite a noise when shutting meaning the corridors are quite noisy in the morning and we also found we could hear some noise from adjacent rooms(we were next to a young family with a baby). The animation team tried hard but it was a little tedious at times but hey, you don't have to watch it.

To summarise: Enjoy this hotel as it is superb in many ways and is getting better by the day. The pros far outweigh the cons and we would definitely think about returning next year which for us is a first as we tend to like to try different countries every time we go away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just got back this morning at 4.00am and wanted to write straight away about the magical experience we had at the Rui Palace. Yes, the hotel isn't finished yet but the staff more than make up for any inconvenience and the fact the hotel was half empty added to the relaxation and the personal touch's from the hotel management. The food was to die for, so much choice and freshness. We tried all the restaurants, all were excellent. We had two 13 year old with us and they loved the pool and the choice of food at the buffet table. Really sorry if the hotel have now ran out of chocolate orange ice-cream! The Thompson rep was outstanding, really doing his job and worked hard to solve any problems. We hope in years to come we will be able to afford to go back and see the hotel developing, especially the gardens.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife and I are just back from a week at this hotel. Although many things are not yet completed (shop, hairdresser, gym) the hotel is very much up-and-running. The room was spacious and quite superb. The food in the main buffet restaurant first class, with great variety and excellent service. The staff are very willing and well trained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it will be fun to return one day and see how the gardens are maturing.
The hotel also has a wonderful location halfway along the very nice Agadir prom.
The things which were not yet ready did not detract from our holiday at all, we knew the hotel had just opened before we went.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We just got back yesterday from a relaxing week at the Riu Palace Tikida Agadir.

Ok, the hotel isn't completely finished yet, but I think other people told enough about that part in previous reviews ;-)

We had a great week and would recommand this hotel to anyone who'd like to go to Agadir. We took a walk along the Promenade and believe me, this is by far the nicest hotel in the area! People walking by, stood still to take a look, really an impressive building.

By arrival, we got a drink and check in was friendly and quick. The reception and lobby area have a very luxurious look (and this wasn't our first 5* experience ;-)) and nice seats.

We really liked the room : spacious, large balcony, huge bed (I must say a bit too hard for me, maybe because they're brand new?), great rainshower,... : no complaints at all!

The food is very nice : cooks are very friendly and all the food looks very fresh. There was enough choice, but I think it will get even better when more people arrive at the hotel. At breakfast, you could get a glass of sparkling wine and fresh juices. We had dinner at the Maroccan restaurant (get the fish tajine!) and at the fusion restaurant Krystal : both were nice experiences, you should try it.

We loved the pool area! Great seats, waiters coming around to bring your drinks, huge pool (heated, so very nice to take a swim!,... When we were there, they were installing rainshowers near the pool (not finished yet) and the Balinese beds were getting finished.

The people working at this hotel are very very friendly and professional. Always a smile on their faces and asking how you were doing. The managers are walking around alot and asking how you're doing and if everything is ok.

We think we had great value for money, so don't worry if you're going here soon! Just be prepared that there's still working going on, but don't let this spoil your holiday!

WE WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK!!

Room Tip: You should book a room with pool view. We didn't do that, and were looking at a part of the prom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I feel a bit like Wico32 as I start writing this, but since we weren't there the very first week it opened, I think we probably got a slightly better deal. Nevertheless, my issue is with the amount of money we paid for a week during school holidays, when they always hike the prices up, and for that reason I feel we had poor value for money.
There is definitely the WOW factor as you walk into the lobby/reception area, and the room was lovely, as described by Wico, but I agree a lack of drawers could be an issue for some, perhaps especially a bedside drawer. Everywhere in the main building is spotless - with constant cleaning going on!
We arrived in the evening after dark, so waited until morning to view the outside. The pool area was getting there - one pool bar is now open and waiter service means you don't have to get up for a drink. There was no need to worry about getting a sunbed - more than enough for the people there - I assume more will be delivered as they take more bookings as there seemed to be an awful lot of open space waiting to be filled! As I've already said elsewhere - the sunbeds were the most comfortable I've ever sat on - ideal for a post lunch nap! More cushions arrived during the week for the large 'posh' 4-poster beds, and these beds were also being finished - one evening the men worked after dark putting roofs on, painting the wooden structures, and attaching curtain hooks for the tie-backs on each of the four posts. There is still a lot of work to be done - one morning they looked like they were arc welding posts ready to receive glass panels, which are going to be all around the edge of the pool area. As we left they were installing poolside showers. Drilling and/or hammering could often be heard around the site. And they were just finishing the painting Wico referred to - only up a ladder the full height of the building! Not a safety helmet or harness in site! A word of warning to gentlemen guests regarding the pool toilets located next to the lunchtime restaurant - while we were there, the urinals were in full view of everyone who walked past!
Regarding the restaurants: Only one speciality restaurant was open each night, either the Moroccan or the Krystal. When we arrived we were told at our welcome meeting that these were fully booked throughout our week's stay! Basically because there were only about 250 of us in a hotel with a capacity of 900+, they were only half filling one restaurant for one sitting each night! The Thomson rep had a word with the management and managed to persuade them to take a second sitting, so we went to the Krystal last Sunday, which was very nice, although little atmosphere as it was quite empty for the second sitting, possibly because others accepted the situation without an argument! The Italian restaurant doubles up as the lunchtime restaurant, but was not yet open in the evening. This same restaurant is also supposed to offer continental breakfast between 10.30 - 12.30, but while we were there it wasn't open. The food on offer was good, although not always hot, and because there were so few people in residence, the hot food was not replenished as often as it should have been which often meant waiting around the buffet area for things to be cooked, especially fried eggs at breakfast. In my experience, having stayed at 3 other Riu hotels, the food was not up to their usual standard.
When we arrived the beach area was still loungers piled up & 1 broken parasol. By the end of the week, the loungers had been spread out & the parasol removed, but it looked like anyone could come along and use them. The spa and shop are still not open, although this didn't really bother us.
Daytime entertainment consisted of an occasional morning Arabic lesson & 1 game of boules, which when you're used to a full day of activities, as my husband is, was a little disappointing. The evening entertainment was as always a little cheesey, but the team tried hard in front of about 20 of us on a good night! In fact it was great to get a seat every night no problem!
Finally, and the only thing we actually complained about, we were woken up on our last 3 mornings by the noise of hammering, 8.30, 8.15 and 7am on our last day. Whilst it wasn't constant, it stopped and started, it was very annoying, and shouldn't have been going on so early.
I think the fact that we arrived 8 days after the first guests, meant the difference between genuine disappointment/real reason to complain and some inconvenience for us! I would probably advise giving it 6 months to sort itself out - we went to the Riu Tikida Palmeraie in Marrakech about 6 months after it opened and it was great. Having said that there may be some great deals available if you can go anytime - I'm a teacher so am stuck with school holidays.
If you are booked in for the next few weeks, expect some inconvenience, but don't let it spoil your holiday - just sit back on one of those sunbeds, put your headphones on and have a few drinks! Take heart from the fact that you will almost certainly have paid less than we did! As I said, the poor value for money as the hotel stands at the moment is my main criticism.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I was literally in tears days before we were due to fly out and soon as we arrived, the greeting at the hotel changed everything!

This hotel is a palace n will definitely go on to becoming the best hotel in agadir!

Yes the gardens are not finished and small cosmetic work is going on but really the service was fantastic, food amazing and great variety, sun beds you could fall asleep on and luxurious rooms! All in all the good out weighed the bad.

For the price we paid for the hotel I truly believe we got an amazing deal and were lucky to be some of the first people to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.