We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel cheated out of the 5 star experience we were expecting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir
Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Feel cheated out of the 5 star experience we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a difficult review to write, I could tell everyone what a fantastic hotel this is, well in a way it is but I think you should write a review on your holiday experiences and not what it could have been and as the hotel was not fully completed this is reflected in our review.

On arrival you are amazed by the grand entrance and the general feel of quality in the reception. Our cases were taken to our room, and I did think the rooms were a little smaller than expected. The finish is all very good with good lighting etc. The room is split on two levels, which is fine for us but if you have to get up in the night and it’s pitch dark be very careful you don’t fall over. The bathroom is lovely but in some ways it’s been over designed, the doors are louvred which look great but does not provide much privacy you’re on the loo. The shower is lovely, loads of hot water but there is no light and you can’t read the shower dials and you shower in half darkness, how the cleaner manages I don’t know. Room Safe was ok, fridge contained soft drinks and beer and we were pleased to see a kettle with Tea and Coffee. You get hangers in the wardrobes but there are no shelves or drawers so your clothes end up on the floor, and it would have been nice to have somewhere to put your cases. The TV is good but the only English channels are Sky news, CNN and BBC World News. I plugged my Blackberry Playbook into the TV and watched some films and looked at the Internet as the weather was a bit dodgy some days. For WiFi in the room you have to plug into the wall. Lovely soft chairs on the balcony. Our room did not get much sun during the day, we did book a pool view room which was well worth the extra money but if you face outwards the views are not so good, so I would recommend spending the extra. We did order room service a couple of mornings, leave your order outside your room the night before and fresh coffee and toast arrived at the time requested.

When we were there the restaurants were fairly quiet, everything is new so it’s all very clean and I can’t fault it. It was the same food as the other Riu hotels in Agadir, it’s just that in the Palace you’re waited on for drinks etc and it’s not a mass scrum when you get your food. Because the restaurants were fairly quiet I think the selection was a little limited and as with all Buffet meals it could have been hotter. We stayed in the Club Hotel Tikida Dunas for two days, breakfast was mad but the Omelettes were made with about 4 eggs where as the Palace was one and a half, oh well, that’s fine dining. For the first few days we ate lunch in the main restaurant as the restaurant by the pool was not ready, when it did open we preferred eating lunch there, the salads etc were all very good. We did eat in the Krystal restaurant on the first night it opened, it was quite bright with little atmosphere, the wine was the same as all the other restaurants. We chose our 3 course’s from the menu, after 45 minutes two main courses arrived, not what we had ordered and we had still not had our appetisers or starters, I could go on but it did not get much better.

The sun loungers are lovely and comfortable, If you didn’t want to read your book you could always watch the builders, Health and Safety looked nonexistent in Morocco so to watch them hanging off roofs painting was quite amusing, not so amusing was the constant drilling etc. and I don’t think the builders should have been allowed to walk through the pool area while people were lying around. There was a drinks trolley around the pool as only one pool bar opened on our last day and I never did find where the pool snacks were.

In the evening the main bar was very good, waiters would come round and take your orders and they were always pleasant and friendly, well worthy of a tip. The entertainment hall was not finished so we only saw one show which was good for amateurs. The whole entertainment scene was pretty low key but hadn’t really got started yet and it depends what you like really anyway. One word of warning, in the entertainment room we saw a lady fall over an unexpected step in the floor so watch where you walk. The only entertainment during the day was boules.

Overall the hotel will be lovely when it is finished and the restaurants are used to busy service but we were disappointed that the private beach area had not been set up, the fitness rooms were not ready, the gym opened on our last day but was not fully operational, the indoor pool could be used but the surrounding floor was filthy and the walls were bare plaster, of the two toilets around the outdoor pool one could be used but was not finished, the other was still a work in progress.

Although we had no children with us we were told by other families with children that there was no kids club up and running and the kids area was not fit for play.ie. Builders taking water and refilling their dirty buckets from the paddling area.

The Moroccan people were friendly, a firm “no thankyou” to tradesmen outside did the trick and we made some good friends in the hotel as we all had something in common regarding the problems we were all experiencing and tried to get on with our holiday the best we could.
We would consider going back in a couple of years when everything is established.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    832
    323
    105
    23
    4
See reviews for
255
760
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We arrived the day after it opened to guests and as we stepped into the main lobby to check in, we were wowed. Truly stunning is to describe it. Onto the room, where a huge double bed greeted us and an en suite to die for. Very comfortable for our stay ( and we were just in a average room, not a suite as the lucky first reviewer had) Rooms were dusty, but so was the rest of the hotel due to all the works going on. In the room was a small fridge with 2 each of coke, fanta, sprite, still water and fizzy water, all of which were replenished when needed to be. There was a safe also in the roon which was easy to use. Flat screen tv and small seating area, which was comfortable. No shower cream in the dispenser and no hygienic bags in the dispenser in the toilet but not a problem for us. Many guests had problems with no running water or the temperature of the water but we were fine. One point about family rooms, i dont think there are any. We were told there were ajoining rooms but two families we were there with didnt have this. There was a sofa bed which a brother and a sister had to share and another family with 3 children had two separtate rooms so mum and dad had to be separtated and share with the children.
We experienced many problems during our stay and unfortunately we are having to take these matters up on our return home but future guests will not hopefully get to experience them. These included safety lighting not in operation, power cuts,
fire and sprinkler system not in operation and many other health and safety issues.
The restaurant and food were 5*, service a little lapse at times( like not getting your drink until you were finished your meal). A huge variety of food which would please everyone, even fussy kids. There were two other restaurants in operation which were opened, they operated 2 days Moroccan and ten two days Fusion. A few teething problems in both regarding mixing up orders and running out of starters but on the whole pretty good...although I never quite understood why tomato rubbed on bread was actually a shot glass of watery tomato juice with two soggy croutons in it. Maybe I'm just not refined enough. The Italian restaurant was not opened when we were there but I was told it would open when they received over 700 guests. This is situated down on the prom side and we ate in it at lunch time, again plenty of choice.
The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, a credit to the hotel. The pool area was not opened when we arrived but consists of two with an adjoining jacuzzi. One of the pools was supposed to be heated to 23 degrees and the jacuzzi to 30 degrees but this was not the case and they were freezing, so much so, the kids didn't even go in. Sunbeds, loungers , seating cushions were arriving on a a daily basis when we arrived and I can see its going to be a lovely area to relax and bathe once it's finished. Lots of concrete platforms and seating so toddlers beware.
The children's area was also still I progress when we were there. It looks like it will be a lovely place for smaller children. Animation team full of fun, laughter and smiles, lovely young friendly people. Gym was just getting finished and contains all mod cons any fitness fanatic would love, very impressive. Can't comment on the spa, boutique, rui art and all the others stuff that wasn't finished which is a shame. No beach area as yet, apart form a pile of loungers stacked high and one grotty broken parasol. Hopefully they will attend to this soon. There are many things to finish off in this hotel and I truly beleive it will be a superb 5* Hotel but it just isn't just there yet. I would love to return once it is finished and write another review. But all I can tell you is my experience and what I beleive to be true. Hope this helps. I will put some on my photos on ASAP ( the nice ones that is) and if anyone would like to see the building site photos I took when we arrived I have a link to them on a forum about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were some of the first visitors to stay in Riu's new hotel in Agadir and WOW what a treat. The lobby is like a Christmas Tree of beautiful art. The rooms are a hitch up on other Riu's that we have stayed. Flat screen TV, big bath and a 2 showers. A nice outside balcony. The spa wasnt finished (we were informed of this in advance) but the indoor pool was superb for our 2 boys 6 and 9. The foodhalls are in the same mould as all the Riu's and for us the local cuisine was a winner.

The main bar in the lobby was glamorous and had a 'West End' feel to it.

The staff were attentive and always smiling..The 'Animation Team' fantastic.

I think that word will get around and this hotel will fill up quickly. We're going to book up immediately for a return this autumn. 10/10

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel basically has great potential. It will be by far the most grand and swanky hotel in Agadir....BUT it's just not ready to receive guests yet. I guess RUI just didn't want to bite the bullet having already taken bookings. Disappointing from them.
We checked in last week and despite assurances that only minor finishing touches were going on, that is not the case. Angle grinders, builders' dust, general banging, landscaping, etc. The staff are trying to keep it clean and contained, but can only do so much. Also because not all rooms were available yet, occupancy is relatively low, which means the restaurants are operating on a restricted basis.
Spa is not open yet.
Fitness area, although open, is a work-in-progress: only a few machines in it and no facilities like towels, water, music, working air-con.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir

Address: Chemin des Dunes, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tikida Agadir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.