We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Buckinghamshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from 8 nights at the Sofitel Thalassa Sea and Spa and have mixed feelings.
When we arrived I thought it all looked wonderful.
- the look of the hotel is stylish
- the welcome was friendly and efficient
- the room had a great layout and design features (although the light switches took a little getting used to)
- outside areas were well designed and looked after
- quality of food was very good
- spa pool was impressive

But... there were a few things that began to take the shine off, such as
- the cleaning service was very hit and miss, under the bed was filthy (only noticed as I dropped something under there - found a bracelet from a previous resident!)
- the fridge, although a great bonus, wasn't replenished daily so we were often without water, tea or milk which was annoying
- the pool staff were never that attentive, which wasn't that problematic as we're capable of setting ourselves up, but when there were no clean towels out and we asked for some I watched the member of staff walk to the end of the pool, take towels off 2 beds then walk around the corner and fold them back up so they looked new then give them to his colleague to give to us, to give the impression they were clean! This really didn't impress and when I pulled him up on it he feigned ignorance so I demanded he got clean towels from the spa, after all who wants to lie on used towels!!!
- also every day, due to an allergy, we asked for a club sandwich without egg for lunch and this was only done 2 out of 5 times... really shouldn't be that hard.
- in the buffet restaurant for dinner we would be waiting for ages before we could order a drink, most of the time we would have to wave frantically to get someone's attention.
- and lastly, I'm afraid to say it, if you don't speak French or have children, you are somewhat invisible... and on the subject of children, there were quite a few more than we expected at a hotel which really should be adults only, as there are no facilities for the little darlings. So if you're going as a couple for a romantic break beware that there will be children whose parents don't seem to care about it being your one week of the year to relax in peace and quiet!

So, little things, but when you're paying for 5 star you expect 5 star service, and the Sofitel Thalassa Sea and Spa just didn't quite deliver so I'm not sure I'd return. Having experienced top service at other 5 star hotels I can honestly say that this is more important than double sun loungers or designer hanging chairs... although these are nice too!

And beware the Agadir mist! We had no idea about it prior to booking but after 3 days of cold grey weather we are certainly aware of it now!

Note: don't book the transfers though Expedia with Sahara, they were rather shabby

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    146
    62
    24
    13
See reviews for
117
352
25
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited this hotel last year as a couple and this year returned as a family with older teenagers. We arranged our stay with the hotel directly and were met at Agadir airport by a car arranged by the hotel. Check in was simple and were soon occupying 3 rooms on the first floor with ocean views. These were very quiet with a pleasant breeze looking away from the main town of Agadir.

Buffet breakfasts were as good as last time but sometimes it wasn't so easy to find some items. It was only after the third day we found the daily selection of smoothies!

The pool area was perfectly clean at all times - both in and out of the water. The staff had genuine pride at keeping their section of the hotel clean. Service was attentive but not intrusive and drinks and food served promptly.

The spa was used by all 5 in our family at different times. They are very keen to please but on a couple of occasions there was a communication breakdown regarding the types of treatment due to language. My poor French probably but it was soon sorted out.

We used the concierge service to book a quad biking excurson. Note it is 'Le Quad' not 'quad bikes' otherwise you will end up with four bicycles, as we did! Once remedied, we went to a nearby beach where the quads were well maintained and the excursion took us along the beach, through the dunes and up into the Atlas mountains. It was a really good trip, particluarly as we did not know what to expect.

I am unsure about a previous comment about the evening buffet. We had the chnace to eat out each night but all the family preferred the choices offered in the hotel. The area was hygienically clean, staff very careful with cooking and serving and a wide range of local and international foods available each day. The younger ones in our group also had oysters for the first time one night but not sure they were to their liking. We however thought them excellent.

The manager and his senior staff were visble throughout our stay and were interested in our experiences. A couple of thing we noted to them were immediately rectified. It was apparent they were striving for the highest standards possible.

We enjoyed our time there and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was very pleased to read from your feedback that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with the service provided by our Ambassadors.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June. The staff were fantastic and when we had a problem with our room they did everything they could to put it right. Sarah who is in charge of customer service was so understanding and upgraded us for the last half of the trip which we were really happy about!

Service by the pool was excellent and what you would expect from 5*. The Spa is top class and I was really pleased with my massage, scrub and mani/pedi.

The property is nearly new and the staff kept it immaculate. It was soooo clean.

Breakfast is really good but I wouldn't recommend the evening buffet. The Garden restaurant was fantastic and the chef was so good. I would definitely recommend a few nights eating in there. Room service was great also.

The entertainment was great in the bar from, two amazing artists from New York, Kevin and Barbara.

All the staff made our stay really special including Youness (who nominated himself as our butler!), Fatima from the bar (who also makes very yummy cocktails), Brahim, Sarah (as mentioned above), Boujema (sorry the spelling is wrong!!) Mohamed and everyone else.

Room Tip: Book a suite and make sure you have a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely amazing - well worth every single penny.

We stayed here on a Half board basis - highly recommended.

The breakfasts were fresh, and eggs, pancakes etc cooked right in front of you - plenty of fresh fruit juices available and fresh bread and fruit stations too.

Dinner was fantastic - freshly cooked in front of you, steaks, chicken, vegetables, mash, whatever you want.

All staff were attentive and friendly without being over-friendly as can be found in many hotels in Agadir!

The rooms are nothing short of sumptuous - the bed is amazingly comfortable with a wonderful balcony - mine overlooked the sand dunes outside and beach. The fridge was stocked with all sorts of fruit juices and water which was replenished free of charge each day. The shower is amazing and changes colour - there's room for at least 3 people!

On arrival I was met with complimentary wine and cakes/sweets.

Probably the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed at, but worth it - it definitely gave me a taste of the 5 star treatment!

Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
On behalf of the Ambassadors here at the hotel, I thank you very much for your words of praise. Our utmost reward is to hear extremely satisfied guests like you stating that Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa gave you "a taste of the 5 star treatment!" in a hotel. Wow!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientôt,

Raphael

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just had a wonderful family hotel at this luxurious new hotel. Staff were exceptionally friendly, rooms were perfect. Could not recommend this hotel enough if you are looking for some relaxation in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your family had such a "wonderful holiday" at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa! Thank you for pointing this out in your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back as often as possible, especially since Paris has direct flights to Agadir!

Au revoir,

Raphael

Raphael Mukarj
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angers
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've spent another days in May at Sofitel Thalassa Sea and Spa in Agadir.

The weather was great, very sunny, hot, the private beach is amazing, and what a joy to walk in the morning in the waves, through this long and wonderful beach !

The hotel is very modern, with luxury bedrooms, try the ones with terrace on the sea.
The all hotel is very clean, the breakfast at the buffet is delightfull with lots of fresh fruits, morocan pastries, all sorts of fruits juices and everything to get satisfied.
The bar is huge, with elegant furniture, all the gardens are cleaned everyday, it's reallly beautiful.

The staff is nice, friendly and helpfull.
We've had our lunch at the Atlantic, and the staff guys were as friendly as before, the had nice little attentions for us and it was lovely.

It's a perfect getway from stress and work for a week or less, not too far by plane from Europe, with sunny beach and another culture as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view, it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
What great feedback! Thank you for so much praise covering many of our departments in the hotel, as well as the weather we had on offer at the time of your stay!

Our team of Ambassadors look forward to interacting with guests with enthusiasm everyday. Your feedback is extremely encouraging and we will keep on providing such high standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

A bientôt,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful oasis for a short holiday with guaranteed sun. The place was spotlessly clean and very modern with some amazing design details in all of the public areas and in the rooms. Wherever you go it feels luxurious and well attended. Every single member of staff is more than ready to help with a smile, with the highest degree of service in mind. If you want to be left alone no problem, if you want help in any way no problem with that as well. There are some small niggles with the property like the cost of some of the food in particular, it is lovely and of good quality but not perhaps to the standard of the cost. Very aligned with major cities cost not the middle of Agadir. There is a fantastic breakfast place a very short walk along the promenade that considerably helped offset the buffet breakfast cost for us. Also make sure you check out the villa Blanche restaurant next door. Fabulous food and much better wine. one thing not to miss is the nightly entertainment in the medicine bar - great musicians/singer in a wonderfull setting as the sun goes down. Grab a cocktail and relax.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am extremely pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa. Indeed, each and every “Ambassador” enjoys every chance at pampering our guests.

I am equally pleased to read that you highly recommend our live jazz duo Cliff & Barbara at the newly-named “Amane Bar” (previously “Medicine bar”) - they do pull in a crowd indeed!
We look forward to welcoming you back.

A très bientôt.

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.