We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing, excellent service. Just a little costly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #7 of 81 hotels in Agadir
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing, excellent service. Just a little costly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful oasis for a short holiday with guaranteed sun. The place was spotlessly clean and very modern with some amazing design details in all of the public areas and in the rooms. Wherever you go it feels luxurious and well attended. Every single member of staff is more than ready to help with a smile, with the highest degree of service in mind. If you want to be left alone no problem, if you want help in any way no problem with that as well. There are some small niggles with the property like the cost of some of the food in particular, it is lovely and of good quality but not perhaps to the standard of the cost. Very aligned with major cities cost not the middle of Agadir. There is a fantastic breakfast place a very short walk along the promenade that considerably helped offset the buffet breakfast cost for us. Also make sure you check out the villa Blanche restaurant next door. Fabulous food and much better wine. one thing not to miss is the nightly entertainment in the medicine bar - great musicians/singer in a wonderfull setting as the sun goes down. Grab a cocktail and relax.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am extremely pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa. Indeed, each and every “Ambassador” enjoys every chance at pampering our guests.

I am equally pleased to read that you highly recommend our live jazz duo Cliff & Barbara at the newly-named “Amane Bar” (previously “Medicine bar”) - they do pull in a crowd indeed!
We look forward to welcoming you back.

A très bientôt.

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    124
    55
    19
    11
See reviews for
88
290
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very good hotel. We had a very nice stay, the staff were all friendly and courteous. We used many of the facilties including the gym and tennis. I particularly enjoyed the yoga classes run twice daily by Melodie who was an excellent teacher and very encouraging and helpful, the added bonus was that they were free. The food poolside was tasty and reasonably priced. We liked the fact that at night we could also eat at the neighbouring Sofitel hotel which widened the choice and price range of food. We felt that at our hotel the choice of restaurant was limited and the fine dining restaurant was overpriced. A note of caution when booking your room, we booked online an ocean side room and had to lean out over our balcony to get a peep of the sea which was very disappointing but when we complained we were moved to a room overlooking the pool and ocean so I would recommend booking a room overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean, book on the 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the pool. Views from non pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team of Ambassadors and yoga instructors.

You are so right to mention that while staying at either of the hotels on the Sofitel hotel site in Agadir, you now have the choice of two “worlds”; one whose theme is “fire”, the Sofitel Agadir Royal Bay Resort, and one whose theme is “water”, the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa, which is of course where you stayed.
Guests have twice the choice, and can benefit from any of the facilities of any of the two Sofitel hotels. We believe it makes choosing easier!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa and for recommending us on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the entire team I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff were so welcoming, the hotel is just magnificent - although quite dark! The bedrooms take your breath away. Food here is very good, an excellent breakfast. I like the way that water and soft drinks are in the refrigerator and are complementary.
The bar is friendly, a wonderful little lady called Fatima was working whilst I had a few drinks with friends.
The concierge kindly connected my mobile to WiFi when I was struggling with technology.
Sofitel sits on it's own private beach, it has a heated pool and an incredible Spa.
this is the perfect hotel to stay at if you want real luxury and friendly helpful service. Management you are very good you lead by example!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I sincerely thank you very much for your feedback.
It is always a great pleasure for us to pamper all of our guests, so I am glad to hear that you had a Magnifique experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa.
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Au revoir,
Raphael

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very pleasant stay extremely courteous staff needing some guidance at restaurants, very nice pool and facilities.the only minus is the darkness of the corridors, black is the colour of the hotel! Highly recommend Sofitel Thalassa and Spa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa.
We all look forward to your next stay.
Au revoir,
Raphael

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is a paradisiac place, i will definitely go there again. One of the best hotels i ever stayed in my life!

The wifi in the room was great.

The personnel is fabulous and very professional.

The hotel is overall In excellent condition and very clean!

The restaurant is a bit dark and rather expensive, although i have to admit of high quality!

Room Tip: Ask if possible a room from which you can hear the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Antonia,

It is an extreme delight to read such praise of our hotel and services following your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with our Ambassadors who continue to have the guest experience at the core of our everyday activities.

It was pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Needing to escape the hustle & bustle of Marrakech, we normally go to the Sofitel in essaoura, which we love.

My first experience with this Sofitel done by the same architect, was already not a very pleasant one; around 3 weeks ago I was meeting there for a business lunch; after waiting for about 20 minutes at a dirty table, and asked several waiters for a menu and taking our drink order, it took another 20 minutes until a bottle of water appeared and 2 different glasses. We finally gave up on trying to get a food order across and left. (After waiting for another 15 minutes for the bill) The good thing was, all guests 'bonded' because of the similar experience.

As these things happen, we decided to give it another try and go there for the weekend.

We arrived around 3 o'clock on a Saturday afternoon and after notifying the reception and giving them our passports, were kindly asked to take a seat. 20 minutes later without seeing anyone, my partner went to the reception and asked what was going on. One of the approximate 6 receptionists assured us, they were with us shortly, as 'they were looking for our booking'

After another 10 minutes I went up and asked again. They were still not able to find the booking and if I could email them the confirmation of booking.com (??)and they would sort things out.

We decided to go and have lunch; a déjà vu: 15 minutes again without seeing a waiter, I went inside to pick up a menu. Again no waiter in sight to take our order so asked a pool boy, after finally our order was taken.

A friendly lady of the reception arrived, to ask what kind of room we had booked, which rate etc etc. showed her again my booking.com confirmation and of she went, 'taking care of things'

Let's not go into the quality of the food, what is there to mess up about a Caesar salad, well they can.

After needing to walk in again to ask for a second round of drinks, we gave up and decided after being there for 1 1/2 hours, we would not let it ruin our weekend. Collected our stuff and left.

Beautiful surroundings & design but service.... Plenty of staff but no structure nor content. Such a shame

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your review here and giving us your thoughts and feedback on the service and facilities at the hotel.

We are truly concerned by your comments with regards to your experience both at check in and in the restaurants, and apologise for not having met your expectations on this occasion.

Being new to the property myself, I hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to prove ourselves as better hosts in the near future.

Thank you once agian for your feedback,

Kind regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I went to stay at the Thalassa Spa for a week from the 25th of March 2013. The arrival area was impressive and you were immediately swept into the cool reception area and served with Moroccan tea, pastries and bottles of water with hot towels to, perfect after a long journey from Gatwick. There was an air of relaxed elegance and a definite feeling of a luxurey 5* hotel. Our room was beautiful with a large very comfortable bed, lovely modern bathroom facilities, great view of the swimming pool and sea, comfortable balcony area with day bed/sofa to lounge on and more or less everything you would need in a room for a comfy stay. The only problem was trying to get out of bed in the morning as the curtains were very effective at keeping the light out. The pool area was spotless as were any of the communal areas I witnessed at the hotel, the staff were polite and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Around the pool we were very spoilt with being greeted in the morning and escorted to a lovely sunbed with fresh towels laid out for us and canopies to keep us from the sun if we needed. We were then asked what else we needed in the way of refreshments etc. even a table would be brought over to have your food on so you didn't need to move a muscle if you didnt want to. We liked getting a taxi into the Marina area at night and found a nice restaurant called the madrague which did great seafood and also a variety of other things like burgers, steak, chicken and pastas etc. We also ate at the Market in the hotel which was very nice buffet style and friendly chefs to allow you have whatever you wanted. I thought I was in paradise every morning when I woke up in a dark room, pulled back the curtains to see an immaculate garden and pool area, beautiful blue sky, crashing waves and soft breeze with birdsong in the distance. It was the epitomy of what I would describe as the perfect relaxing holiday with pure luxury as well. How often can you say that? I have to mention Yassim at the pool for his amazing knowledge about almost every subject and his unfailing courtesy every moment of our holiday. Also Marouane who worked at the Atlantique restaurant and was charming and funny and always had something interesting to talk about. We were made to feel special by everybody there which is very rare these days in such a huge travel industry. I will definitely return there again as I felt like it was a little haven, a gem in the Atlantic, with the warmth of the Moroccan people who we have found to be so welcoming to us in their country.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107 on the first floor a superior room with pool and ocean view. It was a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & spa on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially in such detail.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated and I can assure you that they have been shared with the team of Ambassadors here.

It was pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.