We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this resort for 9 days with my partner. The drive/entrance-way to the hotel was beautiful, especially in the early evening. Our room was gorgeous - huge comfortable bed, good sized shower with fun coloured lights. The decor of the room was elegant with a good hint of Moroccan charm.

The beach was a bit dirty whilst we were there but we were told that this is because there was lots of rain around our stay. However, the section of the beach that was for the resort was spotless! This was a big plus point for us.

The outdoor pools were spotless. The staff were very attentive, especially then reception staff who were always on hand to give us recommendations for dinner as well as helping us to play various trips ( day trip to Marrakech and camel ride - both of which I would highly recommend).

The restaurants were expensive but the food was nice. We preferred the buffet style area as opposed to the dining room as the food was actually better and it felt less pretentious.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel - it was beautiful.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here about your recent experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was very pleased to read from your feedback that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Ambassadors.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    134
    59
    21
    13
See reviews for
100
309
21
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent a week at the Sofitel mid-March and it was *fantastic*.

Best parts:
- our room : we had a junior suite overlooking the pool with direct views to the sea. Massive balcony with a day bed, enormous room, great shower, comfiest bed I've slept in for a long time
- weather : sunny, warm delicious sea breeze. Need I say more when the UK is in the grip of some kind of mini ice age
- staff : exceptionally efficient and professional; every request was met in full and usually with a follow-up call to make sure we were satisfied
- pool area : extremely luxurious with cabana beds and great service on towels and refreshments

The hotel itself is new and very stylish. Everything is immaculately clean and well maintained. The clientele is mainly French and quite chic/elegant. People dress nicely for all meals including breakfast.
The gym and spa were wonderful, great facilities.

Bits I was not so keen on:
- there were quite a few families with little babies and children who screamed and cried around the pool. It's not an adults-only hotel, but maybe it should be... it doesn't feel like a family vibe being so stylish and quite minimalistic. I am sure that families are welcomed...but if I were the management I would try to create a quiet zone somewhere in the pool or grounds so your sunbathing/relaxing is not interrupted by screaming children
- the beach is not pretty. The sand is dark and there is some construction happening there. Also the sea is rough & choppy, being the Atlantic. If you are after a beach holiday, this is not the one for you
- food & drink is shockingly expensive. We were on half board so had breakfast & dinner included every day. For both meals there was plenty of choice, everything was of top quality and freshly prepared. However lunch by the pool cost in excess of €40 for the two of us every day, for just a salad and some fries and a soft drink. A glass of house wine was €7, a glass of champagne €30. We brought our own wine and had a couple of glasses in the room every evening which no one seemed to mind. We also brought our desserts up every evening to have on the balcony or while watching a movie and no one complained about that either.

Couple of hints - if you are flying from the UK, try to go BA as the flight times are good and there is a lovely lounge at Agadir airport. Bring plenty of warm clothes as evening and morning temperatures are chilly. The sun is extremely strong from 11 - 4, so pack high factors.

Would I go back? 100% YES, no hesitation. A great holiday and we have been to many 5* resorts.

Room Tip: We had room 111 which was spacious with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post it.
It was a pleasure to read about everything you loved about your stay, as well as your suggestions for improvement. Your comments have been shared and allow me to assure you that we appreciate all the feedback we can get so that we can continue to strive for perfection with regards to the global guest experience at our hotel.

Again, thank you for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Best regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spent a week here at the beginning of March. It was utter perfectiom from beginning to end. The staff are amazing and cannt do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you need something, you ask and you have it. The hotel itself is just beautifully decorated and very clean. The reception staff in particular Sara and Malika were wonderfully helpful. The Doorman Yassine was fantastic and the pool staff particulary Yassine and Moussa very attentive. The weather was not brilliant the week we went, but in a hotel as gorgeous as this is didnt stop us enjoying our week. The bedrooms are just so comfortable, beds that you just dont want to get out of and we were welcomed to the room with a lovely complementary bottle of wine and snacks. The mini bar is an amazing bonus as all soft drinks in here are free of charge and replenished on a daily basis, as is bottled water!!

The evening dinners were gorgeous and each dish freshly prepared for you on order, breakfast could be a little bit chaotic and maybe needs a little tweeking when being seated, but this didnt bother us too much.

Really loved the pool area and again the sunbeds and clean fresh towels were fantastic.

Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and really would look forward to returning here for another week of relaxation for myself in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words following your stay with us, especially taking the time to name several of our Ambassadors; we share all feedback with the team on a daily basis and such accurate appreciation really keeps the level of pride and joy among the team at a very high level.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and we'll do what we can to ensure better weather for you next time!

Kind regards,

Raphael Mukarji
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hi, i spent 4 nights 'solo' at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa and really were unforgattable,
The Hotel is just amazing,
If your are looking for comfort and relaxation, it's the best and the one.
The location is also perfect just near the beach and Marina.
The quality of service is high, and the team is just friendly
When your are in need of anything they are just at your service.
Food is excellent.
And please, if your are visiting Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, just don't forget to go to the spa center, they will take care of you and they will offer you many refreshing spa treatment, you will never regret it.
I've enjoyed everything and had the best time ever.
I highly recommend it.
I'm sure i will go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your recent experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was very pleased to read from your feedback that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with the service provided by our Ambassadors.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Quite simply I cannot fault this hotel. If you are looking for a relaxed and restful break then you could do a lot worse than stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

From the moment you arrive you are treated professionally by friendly and helpful staff who invariably have a smile on their faces. You need to remember that in North Africa, French is spoken virtually as the main language but English much less so. This can lead to some misunderstanding in trying to communicate in English, and any difficulties encountered can be because of this problem. However, there are enough members of staff who can speak English to resolve any problems, particularly given the pleasant nature of the Moroccan people.

Breakfast is terrific with plenty of choice of fruit, hot and cold dishes, pastries, etc. The hot food is cooked to order for you as you make your choice, from bacon, eggs, sausage, etc or if you prefer pancakes, which again are cooked to order, or both it is your choice. Service in the breakfast is in the main very good, but as always this will depend on the individual who is looking after you with some better than others,

The hotel is very modern, but with an unmistakable Moroccan flavour. The rooms have everything you need together with a complementary mini-fridge service.

I would certainly have no hesitation in returning to this hotel, although in my opinion I would say that the hotel is more suited to couples rather than families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous tenions à vous remercier vivement pour vos compliments, aussi bien au niveau du décor et du design de l’hôtel, de la restauration que du service proposé par nos équipes.

Nous avons été ravis d'apprendre que votre séjour parmi nous vous a donné pleine satisfaction et nous espèrons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir une nouvelle fois lors de votre prochain séjour à Agadir.

Bien cordialement,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Got off to a bad start when we arrived at the Hotel but thankfully our problems were promptly resolved by Sara from guest services who continued to be on hand to deal with any questions throughout our stay, many thanks Sara,
The holiday itself was wonderfully relaxing, all the staff were polite and helpful and could not do enough for you. The food was excellent, something for all tastes. I must mention Ilham, she would always greet us with a smile at breakfast and go out of her way to look after us.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a very relaxing stressfree holiday.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, Directeur général at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments with regards to the service and facilities at the hotel are greatly appreciated.

It was pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Daniel KARBOWNIK
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had booked the old Sofitel in Agadir, but when arrived we found that we had been upgraded to the new one.
The hotel is very modern, with however a Moroccan soul.
We found the room comfortable; with a nice terrace overlooking the gardens and partially the sea.
The main restaurant was very good, with plenty of options both at breakfast and dinner.
The staff was great, from housekeeping to pool attendants, from waiters to receptionists, every body was helpful and friendly.
Overall a very good stay.
I recommend this hotel for anybody who is looking for comfort, relax and friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of the room, the quality of the food and more important the service provided by our team.
I would definitely share your feedback with all our Ambassadors.

Once again, thank you for recommending the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.