We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Luxury Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Luxury Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel Thalassa for five days over the Eid Holiday. We had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel. The restaurants, bars, outdoor pool, rooms, and spa were all top notch. It has a great indoor (therapy) pool and gym that my wife and I used frequently. The service was commensurate with what one would expect at a 5 Star Hotel - staff were very attentive, responsive, and fast. Overall the rooms were great but there was a small issue with the shower - it leaked past the door and would periodically spill over into the room. Regardless, the maids always had it taken care of by the time we returned. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for the luxury option in Agadir.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following to your recent stay in our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided by our team as well as the facilities of our resort.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for recommending our hotel and wish you a wonderful 2013.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    146
    62
    24
    13
See reviews for
117
353
25
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Black and white design hotel, wonderfu and impressive architecture. Well kept gardens. Clean pool. Rooms of sufficient size with wonderful bed. Long stretch of clean beach. Extremely attentive staff. Breakfast room turns into buffet style restaurant in the evening. The choice is staggering for breakfast. At evening the buffet offers show cooking with wonderful fresh fish. And the 'patisserie' is unbelievably good.
A little goodie is provided in the room every afternoon.
Unfortunately the SPA was closed and we had to frequent the SPA in the hotel next door which is quite small and a little old.
Only criticism: Check-in is slow

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

We were pleased to read that you were fully satisfied with our facilities and the service provided by our team members.

We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention your constructive feedback about the speed of check out; we will investigate this situation very seriously in order to increase our efficiency.

Once again, it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angers
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We've spent few days last september in this great hotel.

The architecture is a mixture of black and white modernity and classical arab style.
Though we were on a late flight our arrival was perfect, with tea, delicious pastries and warm towels orange bloom.
I had my accor card on me, and they've decided to allow us a nicer and bigger room, as big as an appartment, high tech, arabic sofas, bottle of wine, pastries, chromatherapy shower...
Luxury was around us, everywhere, in the lobbies, in the restaurants, at the pool, the private beach just in front of the hotel, and the smell was delicious.

The team was perfect, hardworking, very efficient and polite.
A special thank to Rachid from the Atlantide Restaurant for his sense of humour !

We travel a lot in the world, and this is a real 5 stars hotel, it's worth it.

Laure From France

Room Tip: sea view and bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

We were very happy to ready that your arrival experience was very pleasant, and that we exceeded your expectations with regards to the room allocation.

I will share your comments with our team: on behalf of all of us, thank you for recommending our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed one week at the end of November in this great hotel. The entrance area welcomes the guests with an interesting mixture of Orient and French style, modest but impressive black and white is dominating. The staff is friendly and supportive, all admin and luggage service is done during a drink is served.
The rooms are well equipped with a terrace area; we'd strongly recommend sea view.
Breakfast buffet shows a good offer and also the staff is keen to satisfy guests although it seems sometimes not perfectly organised. The same restaurant turns into dinner buffet in the evening - good quality of food incl. show cooking. Perhaps the arrangements of the tables can be improved - well placed tables for two would reduce need of discussion during placement since most of the guests are couples.
Pool and beach area including staff are really great, lots of space to relax, to swim or to enjoy some snacks. Another is the Medicine bar with the wonderful live soul music, a real cosy place at the end of the day.
We can really recommend this hotel for some restful days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and that you recommend our hotel for its service, comfort and atmosphere.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A good first impression became quickly tainted in this elegant looking resort. Check-in was slow and laboured despite being offered mint tea in the sweet smelling reception area. We were fortunate to be allocated a suite overlooking the sea but also rather unfortunately the private pool below (I would NOT have been happy if I were guests in that suite being completely overlooked) - the surrounding gardens looked dirty and unkempt. However, the suite was well appointed. Sadly the bed was extremely poor and despite me asking for the top mattress to be changed this did not happen for a number of days and despite assurances that the entire bed had been replaced, I slept so poorly there that I ended up on the sofa for a couple of nights! Service is erratic and wholly inconsistent. We had to ask for the room to be serviced on two occasions and specific requests for the mini bar were initially ignored. Breakfast is fine and as expected in such a property and buffet dinners are also served in this room. We did not like to witness a couple of staff members being reprimanded in full view of diners and also staff displaying obvious "attitude" towards each other. This is unacceptable.
Despite claims to the contrary, the pool was freezing. I lasted about 10 minutes. Pool staff were reassuring that tomorrow would be better - it never was. I would much rather honesty in that either the heater was faulty, it was not possible to heat at all than the constant lying. This was a big disappointment. The sun was warm but the wind made it feel rather chilly. The beach has that rather dirty looking sand and was as a result somewhat unappealing. A walk along the croisette down to the Marina is recommended.
WARNING: when taking taxis, agree a price before entering. Drivers happily ask what you would like to pay and then demand more money - this was very unpleasant.
The front desk staff enquired about our stay and when informed of the problems seemed bemused. Despite pre-booking a transfer on our departure this was poorly handled resulting in a long wait. It did not leave us with a very positive impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed only one night here in this hotel. I had booked 3 nights but we decided to move on to another different city and not stay in Agadir since we prefer not to stay on the beach since we have this type of city from where we come from. The Sofitel hotel is incredible very good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope that your next visit will be longer than the previous one.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to recognize the friendliness of our Ambassadors and the quality of our facilities.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.