We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Agadir” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Agadir”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed only one night here in this hotel. I had booked 3 nights but we decided to move on to another different city and not stay in Agadir since we prefer not to stay on the beach since we have this type of city from where we come from. The Sofitel hotel is incredible very good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We hope that your next visit will be longer than the previous one.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to recognize the friendliness of our Ambassadors and the quality of our facilities.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    165
    69
    29
    13
See reviews for
143
395
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londerzeel, Brabant, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for one week in this great design hotel. location is just perfect for a relaxing holiday; right on the long beach of 6km long ! The staff of the hotel is very friendly, only could be a bit more "educated". Long waiting in the restaurant is the only min point of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

We would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the waiting time in the restaurants, and assure you that the appropriate measures to address the situation and prevent future occurrence have been taken.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed one week at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa. Check in was personalised in the comfortable seating area in the reception, nicely complimented by wet towels and some tea. The receptionist took us on a tour of the hotel and led us to our room, a very well appointed junior suite overlooking the pool area. A bottle of wine and some sweets were waiting in the room for us.

The junior suite was simply stunning. A very comfortable living room complete with fresh flowers, a great HD TV with a good selection of channels and a free mini bar full of soft drinks (restocked daily(ish)). The bathroom featured a rain-shower and an enormous bathtub. Toiletries were Hermes (standard at Sofitel). The bedroom featured the signature Sofitel Mybed which is just heaven and also had a walk in wardrobe with plenty of storage area. WiFi was free but very slow.

The common areas of the hotel are well designed if maybe a bit over designed. They are stunning but lacking warmth. The pool area is very large and there were no shortages of loungers or cabanas.

Where the hotel faces significant challenges is on the service side (and reading a recent review here I'm glad I am not the only one picking up on this). The breakfast service was uncoordinated and getting cutlery, juice, coffee took forever. Yes the staff were trying and in most cases with a smile but they were decidedly not up to the job. Once this was discussed with management things improved slightly but not enough.

The selection of breakfast items was ok but the buffet was by no means the best I have ever seen at other Sofitels.

The hotel bar suffered from the same problem that the staff did not know what they were doing. Quite a number of guests sent their drinks back due to a lack of alcohol (amazing considering the stellar prices they were charging).

The bar and restaurant were also suffering from increased fruit fly activity, not sure if this is seasonable but will need addressing.

Interestingly the staff at the pool were the best, friendly and on call every time one needed a drink or bite to eat.

Housekeeping were hit and miss, some days perfect, other days less attention to detail on display.

Having told we had to book a table at the a la carte restaurant we did so but it was virtually empty with only three tables occupied (one of which had their wine glasses covered with a butter dish due to the fruit flies) Prices were extremely high and when I tried ordering the wine I was told that a whole section was unavailable. We decided to leave and try the “old” Sofitel next door. Not only were prices lower next door, the service and atmosphere were much better than at our shiny new Sofitel.

As Le Club Accorhotels Platinum member I had agreed the room upgrade in advance of arriving, but other than that perks were slightly unclear. The normal welcome drinks could have been the bottle of wine but normally there should have been 2 free drinks at the bar. On some days we got one! (there were two of us in the room) sweets delivered to the room, some other days none. Again service was inconsistent.

Overall the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa is a very nice hotel. The hard product (rooms, architecture, design, pool etc) are great, the soft product (service, price levels) currently less so.

Management did make amends for the service issues and are fully aware that they need to upscale service if they want to command five stars and justify the admittedly very high (too high) prices they charge.

Would I return? Very unsure, I would need to know that they have markedly improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We are truly sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience during your recent stay with us at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused and thank you again for sharing your concerns.

It is always very valuable for us to understand our guest experiences so that we can continue to monitor our service offerings.
Please be assured that your feedback has been positively taken onboard and has been shared with the relevant managers in order to take the appropriate actions.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and we would appreciate the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Agadir.

Kind Regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Reading all the positive reviews on this hotel i felt that we were in a totally different hotel !
if you read this and you are a true 5* customer , if LHW , shangri la, oberoi , six sense , anantara, aman , mandarin oriental, royal meridien, st regis , slh , grand hyatt , rings a bell to you than i suggest you stay away for the moment from this hotel as you will be disappointed !
the service in the restaurants and in the room is just the most frustrating we ever had, you need to constantly chase the staff for absolutely everything and it is very very tiring , some people reviewed this as annoying but manageable because staff is always friendly and smiling , well for the price you pay i think this is unacceptable doesnt matter how friendly people are at some point you pay for a service and you expect to get it .
by chance at the end of our stay we were able to have an open hearted discussion about this with the hotel manager and he himself recognize that the hotel being a new sofitel unit they needed to adjust service and staff training in order to meet the 5* hotel customers’ requirements, in the meantime he offered us a commercial gesture and advice he would do the his best to get things running in the right direction during the end of our stay. To be honest we did notice a change the next morning at the restaurant for the breakfast and our room was all shiny and tidy when we came back from the beach but he still has a massive task ahead of him because the staff although very friendly and wiling to learn is not the most rigorous people.
We wish him the best of luck and really hope that if we ever come back we will be able to add a new review with a better rating.
For now, sorry but for us the sofitel thalassa Agadir is not up to a 5 * standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel looks impressive and has an excellent private beach, very large pool, plenty of sunbeds/loungers and very good restaurants.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, occasionally they were a little forgetful but it was clear this was due to being under pressure from lack of organisation by the managers. The managers were good at looking around and asking how things were but they had implemented some odd and slow procedures for the staff to obtain customers' coffee, juice, etc at breakfast. The greeters at the entrance to the restaurant were very pleasant but once you were at your table you did feel a little abandoned - a small complaint but something they need to address for true 5 star recognition.

The quality and variety of food was excellent. It is a huge advantage to have such skilled kitchen staff and chefs team in a restuarant where customers may be there for a week or more. The tagines, for example, were varied, beatifully cooked but equally there was very good fish and meat selections. Again, the only difficulty was that there was no system of getting food that took a little longer to prepare back to your table so was a little hit and miss.

Our room overlooking the sea was very nice if somewhat compact. There are definitely minor maintenace issues they are still dealing with, e.g. the room safe did not fit the wardrobe and was not fitted when we arrived, the sink was blocked, the shower constantly flooded the bathroom due to a one inch gap in the shower screen, the room lights operated without any logic and the shower lighting was complicated to operate. However, the maintenance issues were resolved promptly and with friendly and helpful staff keen to make sure we were happy.

There were nice touches with food and drinks left each day for us after the room had been made. Our thanks must go to Mussa for inviting us (via the mayor) to the local mayor's house (along with a few other guests) to enjoy some Eid celebrations.

Fatssal, Yossine, Hashim and Boudigram were all staff who were efficient, firendly and made an effort to be helpful and enquiring but without being too inquisitive - a credit to the hotel.

The pool/beach staff are incredibly well-organised and will do whatever they can to make you feel comfortable. The spa pool, hammam and massage facilites are excellent if a little expensive.

We highly recommend this hotel and with a flight time of under four hours with BA, 30 minutes from the airport and a beautiful setting, it is a perfect break from winter weather.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. Seaview rooms are well worth the money. Inland views were very nice thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments about the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa sea & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We were happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to specially thank you for recognizing the commitment of our teams. We will definitely share your review with our Ambassadors.

Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated, as it will allow us to continue monitoring and improving our service.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we arrived around 10 pm and were immediately impressed by the modern oriental style and the atmosphere of tranquility in the reception. The receptionist just needs your name to take care of the administration, while your are seated in a cossy armchair. After signing some papers the receptionist guides you around this splendid oriental design hotel, including a welcome cocktail in rhe bar. The tour ends in your room, where your luggage is wating for you.
We booked a luxury room with a view on the ocean and on the pool. The room is nice and has a large terras including a large sofa where you can enjoy the marvellous view. When unpacking, you will notice that the wardrobe is rather small to arrange the clothing for two people for one week. The minibar contains water, soft drinks and fruit juice daily refilled for free.
Breakfast is served from 6:30am until 10:30am. The selection of food is ok but the service is bad. Some examples: cups are not clean, table dressing is incomplete, it takes sometimes more than 10 minutes before you're getting coffee, water for tea is luke warm. The staff is very friendly and certainly wants to help you but are badly organized. Quality control is missing or at least not effective. Back to the strengths of this hotel: the garden with the large heated pool is nicely integreated wth the surroundings and has very comfortable deckchairs, cabanes and free towel service. you have direct access to the private beach with large cabanes or beds including towel and bar service.
We enjoyed our one week stay very much, if the hotel managent will focus on improving some of the services, then this Sofitel will certainly become the best hotel in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to ready that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the facilities of our resort.

We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns with regards to the service in the restaurant, and reassure you that this issue will be address immediately as it is not representative of our normal standard of quality.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.