We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, resto services needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, resto services needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

we arrived around 10 pm and were immediately impressed by the modern oriental style and the atmosphere of tranquility in the reception. The receptionist just needs your name to take care of the administration, while your are seated in a cossy armchair. After signing some papers the receptionist guides you around this splendid oriental design hotel, including a welcome cocktail in rhe bar. The tour ends in your room, where your luggage is wating for you.
We booked a luxury room with a view on the ocean and on the pool. The room is nice and has a large terras including a large sofa where you can enjoy the marvellous view. When unpacking, you will notice that the wardrobe is rather small to arrange the clothing for two people for one week. The minibar contains water, soft drinks and fruit juice daily refilled for free.
Breakfast is served from 6:30am until 10:30am. The selection of food is ok but the service is bad. Some examples: cups are not clean, table dressing is incomplete, it takes sometimes more than 10 minutes before you're getting coffee, water for tea is luke warm. The staff is very friendly and certainly wants to help you but are badly organized. Quality control is missing or at least not effective. Back to the strengths of this hotel: the garden with the large heated pool is nicely integreated wth the surroundings and has very comfortable deckchairs, cabanes and free towel service. you have direct access to the private beach with large cabanes or beds including towel and bar service.
We enjoyed our one week stay very much, if the hotel managent will focus on improving some of the services, then this Sofitel will certainly become the best hotel in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to ready that you enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the facilities of our resort.

We would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns with regards to the service in the restaurant, and reassure you that this issue will be address immediately as it is not representative of our normal standard of quality.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    145
    61
    24
    13
See reviews for
116
342
25
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautifull place with brand new hotel and all the TOP design around you is the finest touch of your holidays. Excelent cuisine with realy high standards make you spoil all your sences. Great experience, congratulation to whole team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, you're king as soon as you exit your taxi at the main entrance. You enter a world of kindness and care for customers. Yatamanzi scents bring you right away in the world of relaxation.
The pool area is kept impeccable the beach area is a paradise. No Russians blocking seats with their towels at six in the morning ;-)
Breakfast is closer to brunch, so you may not need lunch... The pool restaurant is gorgeous (try the "crevettes sauvages" it's a treat). Evening buffet is nice, but don't trust when they say they will bring it to your table - it may end up in a warmup place. Morocco wines are pricy though (4 X factor applied)
Rooms are beautifully kept. Super kind and attention and kindness.
Special mention to the "Directeur de restauration" who is omni present and runs a tight ship.
One warning though, the hotel was built on a thighs schedule I think, so some maintenance issues may pop up soon, but in the meantime, enjoy as I did

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa on Tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the quality of our restaurants, the facilities of the hotel and the service provided by our team.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Beautiful entrance and the aroma as you walked through the door was lovely. Stayed in a suite with a huge balcony and a beautifully laid out room. The hotel itself was exceptional. The staff were incredibly helpful, all spoke English and were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make you comfortable.
The food at the hotel was lovely if a little expensive. During our stay there was a cabaret singer in the bar who was quite impressive and definitely at one with the music.
The pool and private beach were also lovely. I have no negative comments about this hotel as I immensely enjoyed my stay there and would definitely go back for a good beach holiday.
One tip, get a room with either a pool or beach view.

Room Tip: Get a beach or pool view room. There are rooms with a road view which is not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Madame,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review on Tripadvisor, and we will definetely share your feedback with our team.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Worth the spend - one of the best hotels in Agadir.

The decor of the hotel was stunning, opulent and grand, without being overstated.

First room we were given was lovely. The layout and fixings were of high standard. A couch and chairs on the balcony was a nice touch. Shower was great, mattress pillow was extra soft (a little too soft but comfy nonetheless). Soft drinks water and juices in the minibar are free (nice touch).

We were then shifted to one of their Suites (see comments below regarding ocean view) which was even more impressive, with a couch and bed on the balcony, large living area, large bedroom, walk in closet and impressive shower/bath. The hotel was relatively quiet hence the availability of the suite, but even so, it was a nice compromise.

The pool was super impressive and large, slightly warmed, with many nooks and crannies to laze about near. A raised platform slightly under water level allowed one to be slightly submerged while lying in the sun. The pool, not being a boring rectangular shape, had many places to relax around. Surrounding it were mini hedged gardens with outdoor chairs to lounge in.

The private beach was nice sized area of sand (20m deep and the width of the resort) cordoned off, with canopied beds and open air sun lounges. The beach in front of the hotel's roped off area was accessible by all.

The two restaurants were decent, as you'd expect from a hotel. One was a buffet, the other fine dining. Little pricey, but not unlike the cost of similar establishments in the area. Food was good, service was good.

The bar was fairly plain, but in front of the bar was worth a few visits. Sofas as large as two people end to end, shiny grey pillows, a couple of singing chairs, grand piano,... Very nice. The entertainment was a lovely jazz-styled singer with a brilliant voice, accompanied by a guitarist on a couple of nights, and a band another night. Definitely worth listening to her over a couple of drinks.

Concierge service was very helpful, very polite, and made sure you arrived and left feeling special. Staff were superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

It is a great pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed the service and the facilities of our hotel.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We included Agadir in our World trip, and we chose to stay at the new Sofitel, which had been recommended to us. We were not disappointed.
The hotel service was excellent, especially considering that the hotel had only recently opened. All the staff, from reception to room service were trained and made a real effort to please us.
Upon check in, our room was upgraded, which we appreciated. Our room, balcony, and view of the beach made our time spent in the room very enjoyable.
The quality of finish out in the hotel is at a high level. Overall, we were VERY pleased and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
As for Agadir, since we visited off-season, things were very quiet, but had not changed since our prior visit. Locals were very kind and helpful. We visited Agadir following our visit to Marrakech, and we were happy with this decision.

Room Tip: As always, try for an upgrade to a suite, or negotiate for a suite by calling directly. The view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa.

I will share your comments with our team : on behalf of all of us, thank you for recommending our hotel.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On arrival we were taken to the sofas, served water, coffee and Moroccan treats and asked to compete the check in forms at our leisure, we were then given a short tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The rooms are compact but have everything you need, the mini bar of soft drinks is refreshed daily free of charge. The gym is very modern and they have free twice daily yoga sessions.

Food - Don't be put off by the buffet description at Market restaurant, the food is sensational, the main courses are freshly cooked for you theatre style. Well worth a visit but I wish they would heat the plates!! Breakfast is also served at Market and offers everything you could want from smoothies, to pastries, to crepes to a sophisticated fry up!!

Lunch at L'Atlantique between the beach and the pool is very good, prices are what you would expect from a hotel poolside eatery. We were disappointed that it wasn't open in the evening as advertised on the website!

The a la carte restaurant - Palais du Jardin - is truly incredible, we ate there one night and were the only diners, I think it's grandeur and prices puts people off but it was exceptional. The hotel has quirky interior designs and lots of contemporary seating areas. There is live music in the medicine cocktail bar most evenings.

Facilities - The pool is heated which is a lovely touch as means you can go for an early morning swim. The sun loungers are so comfortable and each one has a pillow so it feels like a real bed! We were told the hotel was currently at 15% occupancy so were curious why it was so busy around the pool, it seemed that people from the neighbouring hotel were wandering in and using the facilities?!? Other reviews talk of struggling to find available sunbeds, while this wasn't a problem for us I did notice the pool staff, including the life guard, 'reserving' beds for people who didn't appear until after midday. We hope the hotel addresses this situation of external intruders as it could really spoil the tranquil environment they have created which would be a huge shame and might influence whether we return to this hotel or not.

All staff are eager to assist but if you want or need something its best to ask the waiters or junior staff as there seemed to be a lot of men in suits wandering around not doing very much other than smiling! This is definitely a resort for adults/couples, there is nothing at all for children to do. We stayed for 10 nights but I think 5-7 nights is the ideal. The average age was approx. 50 years so we were probably the youngest guests by about 15 years but this could be the time of year.

The hotel is a gem set at the end of a strip of run down hotels, Agadir is quite an ugly place but once inside the grounds of the Sofitel Thalassa it's paradise, so if you appreciate luxury and want to totally unwind in peaceful surroundings then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel_12, Manager at Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the quality of our restaurants and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

Thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the pool area, however we would like to assure you that the hotel has enough sunbeds and gazebos between the beach and the pool to satisfy the demand of our guests, even when fully booked.

Once again, we would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa

Address: Baie des Palmiers, Agadir 80010, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Agadir Thalassa Sea & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.