We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach Appart-Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Beach Appart-Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Beach Appart-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot. No 3 Secteur C | Lot. No 3 Secteur C, Zone Touristique Founty Sonaba, Agadir 80000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Agadir
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for money apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just came back from Agadir in October, weather was reasonable around 25degrees after 11.00am the sun comes out. slightly breezy and chilly in evenings need a thick cardigan.
free towels in apartment and free blue towels near pool. plenty of sun beds . there was a childrens shallow pool and the main swimming pool was 1.15M deep; going to a depth of 1.8M at the deepest end.The water is pretty chilly but once you get in and swim then its ok in the sun.be careful and try to shower after a dip in the pool otherwise your white swimming costume will turn a yellowy green colour. the rooms and resturant only have expresso size cups, coffee is very strong. pizzas are pretty good about 60Dh (£5.00) for a vege pizza , chips are about £2.00 like McD fries med size portion, coke +soft drinks are about £1.00. pool music is old +repetative however the pool guy is quite fit.
food ordered near pool normally arrives within 20mins, where pizzas are foil wrapped to keep them warm. Loos near the pool are for both men +women (2 in total). pool is on the 1st floor. staff are friendly but mostly speak french or burber. they find english difficult to understand.
room has only 4 hangers , no tea towel. no hair dryer no mirror except in bathroom where lighting is poor, so for ladies makeup will be a problem. a clothes horse is provided to hang clothes but take your own pegs.take some mugs teabags, coffee, biscuits . supermarket (MARJANE) is close by about 5min drive or you could walk for 20mins. cab fare varies from 30Dh to a metered cab 9DH to supermarket. cabs cost more in evenings so negotiate price b4 getting in .
Breakfast is very repetative croissants, french bread, maderia cake, cofe/tea, orange juice with sugar!, butter, honey, jam 35Dh, or egg and yoghurt as well 40Dh. towels are normally collected 9.20am every morning and new ones are given later on in the afternoon so you may need to hold 1 towel back to use in the mean time, till new ones are delivered. bathroom has a bidet , rough toilet paper, shower area has no lighting. their complimentary shower gel and soap are pretty rubbish, so buy your own from the supermarket. the shop next to the hotel is very expensive, pringles £3.00 per can, icecreams over £2.00 each. we had a room facing back of hotel on 2nd floor 211 so a view of trees main road and parked cars. air conditioning makes alot of noise but was efficient. tv had mtv and an amercian news channel. 2 large sofas which have to be used as beds if you have a family. there were 2 sep single beds in the bedroom, with open plan features so no privacy between the bedroom and lounge area. if you cook in the apartment then clean up immediately after yourselves otherwise you will get an ant attack. liquor is fairley cheap in the supermarket £10.00 for a bottle of vodka. everything is written in french in the supermarket. the supermarket is like tesco hypermarket, selling kitchen white goods, toys, clothes, veg, meat , booze etc..al the fruit +veg have to be weighed +tagged with a price tag before going to the checkout. cabs are readily available outside, go for metered cab they are cheaper.
supermarket is open 7 days a week till late.2 electric plates are in the kitchen, a kettle, micro, fridge are also available. to use the safe you have to pay £2.50 per day or take a suitcase lock and put valuables in there. when checking in a 10Dh tax fee per head per day has to be paid. when converting sterling to dhiram at airport keep your reciept as changing back to sterling they require original reciept of how you paid and they always run out of sterling so they give you euros instead. Free wifi 10mg on 2nd floor. There is another hotel which is almost ready next door but work is very slow so not any dust or major noise going on. food can be ordered in room or pool area at no extra cost .
beautiful roses make a centre piece of reception area.
the sea was fairly choppy with strong waves , loos on beach have to be paid for, as do sunbeds.

Room Tip: if you want pool view ask for back room. internet signal was good on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Coulsdon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just got back from this hotel which is on the outskirts of the tourist zone but close to beach and some great restaurants to be found within a 10 minute walk, little Norway, la marquese and le Maxwell which I will review separately.
Rooms more than adequate, a few teething problems ie air con not working, patio door wouldn't lock and safe not working but all fixed quickly. Breakfast was repetitive after a week but we ordered eggs which you pay for at the end of your stay, along with any extra coffees you may have.
Nice hotel which we would happily return to as the pool area was nice and quiet too

Room Tip: Choose a room from 3rd floor up and use booking.com ( our friends used this company and had a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Golden Beach is close to the beach although it is a bit of a walk from the more central part of Agadir tourist centre/town centre. Having said this, it is easy to pick up a taxi.

The apartment was clean, really nice pool and sun lounger area, with an on site shop and restaurant. Good air conditioning in room and a small kitchen area.

Hotel was busy as it was just after Ramadan, but there were plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas round pool. Breakfast from Restaurant was good and pizzas were nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

W e should have done our homework better before booking a holiday at this hotel in July so I hope you will read this and take advice. We were unaware that it was Ramadan and that the clocks went back one hour. Having been told there was no time difference by the tour operator we spent the first week a bit out of kilter with the rest of Morocco. We were also very surprised to discover that in July Agadir experiences heavy cloud which creeps across the city trapping Agadir between the sea and the mountains in what only can be described as fog. We did learn that it is possible to get a tan whilst "sun bathing" in fog. A novel experience.The hotel caters for foreign tourists but hosts a large number of Moroccan families as well.

Our room was on the second floor however it did not have twin beds(as requested) nor a balcony. There was no kettle,only one hotplate worked and there was only two towels and no bathmat making the marble floor very slippery. We immediately asked for a room change and the next day we were moved to another room,still on the second floor but with a balcony. There were two long couches in the lounge so I slept on one of those and it was very comfortable.This room also had a kettle,a working hotplate,bathmat,sufficient towels,microwave and fridge.No decent sized coffee mugs so we used the tooth mugs and no hairdryer.
Monday morning we were woken to the sound of building works at the half completed hotel next door. In Ramadan the builders start early while the weather is cooler. This made eating breakfast on our balcony very difficult due to the noise,dust and being stared at by the builders. The hotel is clean and most of the staff are friendly. This hotel and bar is alcohol free so remember to buy some drinks at duty free. Alcohol can also be purchased at the big supermarket but you must take your passport.A petit taxi is 20 d roughly £2.00 so a quick trip to the supermarket is essential as the local shop is very expensive indeed.The taxi driver will wait an hour to run you back.
We had a cuppa in the hotel bar once but found the service slow. We ordered room service once and the service was very quick and the food (burger and chips) very good.
The pool is nice with free chairs,sunbeds and towels and umbrellas. The music is very repetitive. Unfortunately there were several unsupervised children who shouted and splashed and made the pool visits not as relaxing as they could have been. The pool shower works occasionally and the pool toilets are unpleasant.The plants are lovely.

There are certain pieces of information we would have been grateful for but had to find out for ourselves. The hotel staff are not forthcoming is sharing information which is a shame.
1. If you book a restaurant via reception the restaurant will provide free transport there and back.
2.The pool man has free towels.
3. The clocks go back one hour in Ramadan
4. Shops shut early in Ramadan
5. Some restaurants and shops close altogether in Ramadan.
6.There are virtually no taxis available at approx. 8pm as the drivers go to break their fast.
7.The aircon in your room is free but it is your job to empty the big plastic container daily. This is situated on the balcony otherwise it overflows.
8.There is a drying rack on each balcony. Take a few pegs.
9. The lounge holds 2 couches which are comfy and can be slept on.
10. Coat hangers are scarce so take a few long
11.Towels changed daily but you are often left desperate for a shower but with no towels so it is worth holding one back or taking one with you.
12. The coffee/tea cups are espresso size so pack a mug or do as we did and use the big tooth-mugs for a coffee.
13. Only tabacs sell cigarettes. be careful on day one we were over charged. 19d is about right for 20.
14. You can change money in the hotel but not on a Monday morning until they have been to the bank. You can not change it back at the end of your hols but have to wait until you get to the airport. There they did not have GBP so we got some Euros then spent them in duty free.

We did not find Agadir particularly cheap but the hotel is within easy walking distance for the free beach . Ladies beware being proportioned for sex whilst on the beach. Only happened once but a bit unnerving as after we had rebuffed him he loitered on the prom and watched us walk to our hotel.Alcohol is expensive but the measures in the restaurants are very generous.the hotel is within easy walking distance of at least two good restaurants.

Room Tip: rooms to the left of the building as you approach from the street look out onto a half finished hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was much better than I expected, the room was very nice with fully working appliances and cleaned on a daily basis, the rooms have a balcony too. The hotel has a decent sized pool which is well maintained, however the downside of it is that it closes at 6pm! and is always cold!! We stayed on the 1st floor and the WiFi connection was a little patchy during evening times, but it works fine in the reception area. The hotel also has a restaurant and a shop, the shop prices are extortionate!!! Food at the restaurant is pretty ordinary. Most of the staff are very friendly and affable but at times do lack competency. All in all, it is a very good hotel to stay especially if your a family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our apartment was really nice and big enough for three people, we also had a terrace were we could eat in every moment of the day. In the other hand I was a bit disappointed about furniture in the kitchen.
There is a small market were tou can buy everything you need for aj honest price.
The swimming pool is clean and nice.
You have to pay the safe extra.
We never tryed the restaurant.
Is 20/30 min far by wolk to the city center, but that's isn't an huge problem.
Overall it's a lovely place where you can spend a pleasant holiday without spend too much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

the hotel was really nice, has a shop next to it and restaurant... the shop has friendly staff and restaurant staff are cons they try to charge extra.... never fall for people from the beach that sweet talk you into cheap activities but really they gt commission, always book it with the hotel although we was never told by the hotel staff, we ended up getting ripped off by outside people.. then found out hotel do better prices. the hotel is kind and not strict they gave us our own privacy down side is cant bring girls back :(
overall nice hotel, cons if you want a good 1 week holiday prepare to spend at least £200 a day. wizii -1-

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Beach Appart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Appart-Hotel

Address: Lot. No 3 Secteur C | Lot. No 3 Secteur C, Zone Touristique Founty Sonaba, Agadir 80000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Appart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beachfront, this modern Appart'hotel is a 10-minute walk from the centre of Agadir. It offers an outdoor swimming pool with a sun terrace. The air-conditioned apartments at the Golden Beach include a lounge with a TV. Each apartment features a balcony and a kitchenette equipped with a microwave. A pizzeria and a mini-supermarket are both available on site at the Golden Beach Appart'hotel. A breakfast is served every morning and guests can relax in the tea room. The property has a 24-hour reception. Free Wi-Fi access is available in public areas. Soleil Golf Course is 5 km away and free private parking is possible nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Golden Beach Appart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Appart Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach Appart-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.