We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Beach Appart-Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Beach Appart-Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Beach Appart-Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot. No 3 Secteur C, Zone touristique Founty Sonaba, Agadir, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 81 hotels in Agadir
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The food was terrible. Bland, cold, and not good. Food took too long when ordered and when it arrived it didn't look nice on the plate. Overall hotel was ok, but it lacked good food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    22
    11
    8
See reviews for
38
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've just returned from Agadir. we were with our baby, so we chose to go to apprt-hotel. We reserved 1 week before. We were shoked how dirty was the apprt. you couldnt walk on the floor and the carpets without sneakers, which we did. But our baby in 5 mins, just when we did something else, was already black. The sheets were used and not changed. We asked them to clean or change the room and they insisted that they would clean it next day. I could use nothing in the kitchen, because of the hilarous dirt in it. So my baby was without food until next day (which we anticipated to leave this place). My god who let them open this thing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Me and my mum stayed here in July 2010 for a week. To start with, the room we were given had a horrible view of a derelict building being reconstructed, however we requested for a room change and they were happy to do so. There was also a foul, sewage like smell in the main entrance of the hotel which was unpleasant at times. The rooms are clean and spacious with substancially sized balconies. The bathroom was decently sized. The use of catering facilities was excellent (fridge, small 2 burner electric cooker, kettle etc). However, breakfast was quite boring as it was just bread, butter and jam with no change throughout the week. Eventually we got bored of this and ate our own breakfasts. The staff were really polite towards us and we hardly encountered problems. Being British, we felt really left out in the hotel because the guests were mainly Moroccan and there were hardly any other tourists from other countries. The hotel was in a slightly isolated area, whereby you can't simply walk to shops/the beach and rather you have to take a taxi instead which is not a problem as taxis are relatively cheap. The hotel 'supermarket' was just a small convenienve store which was quite pricey and the restaurant didn't have much choice in terms of dishes. I would say this hotel is a good place if you're looking for somewhere quiet, clean, safe and simple and also if you are out most of the time. This hotel is probably not suitable for families with elderly people or toddlers/babies but perfect for friends/solo travelling. I would not reccomend it for a honeymoon or for a romantic getaway because it is quite a simple hotel and there is not much in the way of a romantic ambience. We enjoyed our stay, but we would probably stay in a beachfront hotel next time and not this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms towards the back for a pool view, because the rooms at the sides of the hotel are surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

do not stay here we are a family of 4 with two young children we stayed here in may 2012 and hated it every morning from 6am there is maintainance being carried out on the top floor it was so loud do not stay on the 3rd floor or on the side were there is work being done on another appartment on the right. the appartment was very diry and you cannot sit on the balcony because of all the bugs and bird poo it really smells had to keep doors locked because of bugs i even found a cockroach !!! tv did not work , ant all over sofer there is no double bed it is two singles pushed together staff are rude and do not speak english but the main point for a family with childeren is it is really far from the main tourist area i would not stop here again even if you payed me !!!!

Room Tip: do not stay on the 3rd floor or on the right
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Founty Agadir 6-12/4/12

We went self catering and were given a very nice room 216 which had a hotplate with 2 burners a fridge and a micro wave and a Kettle Bathroom had a bidet, shower, toilet and sink, and was large, BUT the basin taps only trickled out, so needed to fill a pan in the kitchen sink with hot water if you wanted to wash/shave, as no plugs in any sink. Lovely big Bed with huge wardrobe and shelf space and 2 bedside tables. The lounge area had a TV and got Spanish, Morracan,Canary Island+ French stations with one arab station with arab subtitles and English films. The lounge had 2 big settees – which could be made into beds with loads of cushions/pillows, and a low marble table, which if you eat off you will need cushions to bring it up to the right level. Sliding doors lead out to big balcony over-looking the pool, with a drying rack and the 2 air cond units, railings and lovely plants which birds would sing from, and a plastic table and 4 chairs. We used the pool once – it was v cold, and mostly used by children in the afternoon – open 9 – 6, there is also a sunbathing area, and a children’s separate (2foot deep x 10 feet across) roundpool. Equipped for 4 people, it had 4 of all cutlery, bread+ sharp knife, 3 pans and a frying pan but no can-opener, scissors, sieve, or garlic press. Maid service every day, who changed the towels, and tidied everywhere – safe in bedroom but didn’t use – locked cases, laundry service offered. There is a building being built next to the hotel, but it wasn’t very noisy, but then we weren’t there all day. No sign of a disco. Small shop downstairs – lift and beautiful foyer with large settee made of leather, but the internet service at 25 dirhms per hr (£2) is a bit hit and miss – used it for 30m and next day went to use rest of mins, but it was off, so had to blag free computer use of Hotel Tikida Beach – twice. Needed to buy dishcloth and washing-up liquid.

We found a great supermarket – Marjane about 4kms away – we had a hire car, and a v sm tin+ veg shop on main street. Info tourist office is big blue building near the port, BUT it has nothing except a map – not as good as the reception’s map of town.REALLY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY.

Agadir – the prom was only ~200metres away, and a gentle stroll of 45mins will get you to bird valley (FREE), and the petite train – 18dhms each, which you can get off+on. No Souks nr centre of Agadir. Visited the old destroyed souk/town which is now a burial site - guide can cost a lot, camel rides,views over harbour - interesting.

With car we went out to Essaouira ~3hrs, we had a great seafood meal at the port and went around the souks, a lot cheaper than anywhere else in Morroco. Also Sidi Ifni 3.30m a little town with white + blue houses, and Spanish colonial buildings. Take the coast route, it’s faster than the mountain route which is full of hairpin bends, and stop off in the masa national park – loads of birds and very green area, with a river flowing through the park.

Room Tip: ask for the second floor with a view over the pool at the back - we had room 216 - a corner room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a large room with a lot of space and a balcony. The furniture was not maroccain and seemed a little out of time. Our bed was quite hard.

The swimmimg pool is behinde the hotel, so it was hot there. The sea is only 3 minutes away from the hotel, but because of the wind it was not hot.

The hotel is located between all the other hotels, which makes it difficult, if you're looking for a normal maroccain restaurant. At the beach you can only eat pizza&pizza&pizza...

The breakfast at the hotel is great! For 40Dh you get very very much (crėpe, baguette, croissant, cake, egg, yogurt, olives, honey, jam, butter, orange juice and a hot drink).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you like small, slighly out of the way then this Hotel is for you. We got back 4th April 2012, we spent a week there. The photographs that are on here are very true. But we did just our breakfast and then had Lunch and Dinner out. The Beach is just across the road, The Supermarket is a Taxi ride away 5 minutes. The taxis are something in themselves, they charge what they like, always ask if there meter is working, if not, send them on there way. It cost 7Dh to go to the supermarket and 50Dh coming back, we where not happy. Do not eat at the fishing port. It's amazing to look at, but we had one platter of fish between four of us and they tried to charge us £1200Dh. Absolute joke. The bartering is fun, if you like that sort of thing, but the things they shouldn't barter on, they tried to rip us off. Which spoilt it for us. Around the swimming pool is a real sun trap, fabulous. There was a bit of noise from the building work next door, it didn't really spoil it though. The swimming pool is cold, but it didn't stop my two kids from enjoying it. Outside the front of the hotel is a 4x4 and a gentleman selling excursions he is wonderful (called Jamal) go on the mini Sahara trip it's great fun. We thought the beach was a little dirty, the private ones are OK, the rest of it needs sorting, always wear sandles, there is glass. The coast is beautiful, the restaurants are all very similar in price down the front. But there is a Macdonalds if you have kids, great for midday. The hotel pizza's are nice, the hotel supermarket is mega expensive, has what you need though, when you first get there.

Room Tip: Never settle on the first choice if your not happy, I tried 4 different rooms, before being given t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Beach Appart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Appart-Hotel

Address: Lot. No 3 Secteur C, Zone touristique Founty Sonaba, Agadir, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Agadir
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 hotels in Agadir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Appart-Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Golden Beach Appart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Appart Hotel Agadir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Beach Appart-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.