We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$134*
and up
Private Tour: Three Valleys and Atlas Mountains...
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We hired a car with driver to take us to the valley from Marrakech. Cost 1000 dirhams but very nice comfy SUV and a driver who let us set the pace of what to do. Lovely drive up. Stopped at a Berber village on route which is a big rip off and hugely gimmicky. Once we got to setti fatma, ignored all the guides and wandered around the village ourselves and then by default found ourselves going towards the waterfall, though that wasn't the plan. Not an easy climb up, but very doable. Must have right shoes as it can every slippery. Constant stream of people going up and coming down, so doable without a guide ! We went up to the first waterfall and then came down ravenous as it as way past lunchtime. In the village had lunch at cafe azro ourika almost at the start of the village. Fixed lunch comprising of starter, main course n dessert for 60d !! Lovely table right on the river, great views and ambience ! Huge salad portions in the starter. The couscous was good and the yoghurt at the end was a perfect finish to a lovely day topped by a delightful lunch in an incredibly scenic setting !!! One of the nicest days we had in Morocco and delightful to be away from the madness of the Marrakech medina !!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    154
    66
    20
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ourika Valley – Great escape from the bustle and hassle of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

40 minutes drive away from the Marrakesh centre ,and you will find yourself in very scenic route up some breath taking landscapes. You are on the edge of the Atlas Mountain. There are many stops you may wish to do. But ultimately the final stop is at the end of the village of Setti Fatma. Been told no cars go beyond!!!! This is the start of climbing up Ourika Valley and ultimately to the its famous water fall.

On route up the summit there are berber villages, riverside restaurants, and the inevitable souvenir shops. Just like in Marrakesh, every shop owner in Ourika Valley uses the same old lines to rip you off. But the saving grace is the beauty scenery in and around the Valley. Simply breath taking.

The hike up to the water fall is not ideal for people with prams or with mobility problems.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you staying in Marrakech just buy a tour to this place u just need to go, isnt good to take children or old ppl, but with teenager is just fine a real adventure over there really nice pics u can take on this trip.
Wear nice and proper shoes to climb up the hill as the wrong shoes could be slippery.
Make an extra efford to go there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wear sensible shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was expecting to see the Ouzoud Falls but ended up in Ourika Valley due to a mix up with the arrangements so was not appropriately dressed. The large taxi we booked charged 500 dirhams for a tour from Riu Tikida Gardens hotel; we stopped at the pottery place (overpriced), the Argan oil house (overpriced), Ourika Valley and Koutoubia Mosque on the way back. We opted to miss out on the Berber house on the way back. It took nearly 2 hours to reach there and when you arrive you will see the local women washing their clothes in the river.

Your taxi driver usually drops you off at a parking place and then you have to walk to the falls yourself. We crossed a small, wooden bridge then carried on towards the left upwards. We opted not to pay the persistent guide who was difficult to get rid of despite his claims we were going the wrong way (I know they have to earn a living somehow). I asked a French speaking woman on her descent who confirmed we were going to the right way. There are plenty of other groups you can follow up if you get lost.

The climb to the highest waterfall is not easy and the path is dangerous but if you're going to do it you might as well go right to the top. I am glad the unfit members of our group and the children quit quite early on as they would have struggled but three of us more ‘active’ individuals made it to the top. It took us 1 hour to reach the top and for a novice there are lots of tricky parts as it gets slippery. It was my first ever climb but I enjoyed it even though my feet were wet.

When you reach the top you can get yourself some mint tea and sit on the chairs. I find it amazing how the Moroccan people have created shops in the middle of nowhere and dragged furniture up there. It is not exactly the Niagara Falls when you finally arrive but it is more the journey to the top that is the accomplishment. A closing comment from one of my companions was "this path need not be dangerous, if the workers even built one step a day, they would soon have a safe route to the top..."

Before we left Ourika Valley, we stopped at Restaurant Imlil for a delicious meal which cost about 260Dh (we were too tired to haggle). I only managed to reach the top in gladiator sandals because I had two men helping me so wear sensible shoes and enjoy if you decide to go.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gryon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Depressing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a really disappointing place. I'm sure there are beautiful parts to this valley but the waterfall we were taken to (late in the day after being paraded around various shops and tourists traps for most of it!) has been really spoilt. Cafés and tacky shops cover every inch of the river banks (and some even in the middle of the river too!) as well as the trail leading up to the waterfall. There is litter everywhere and graffiti on the surrounding rock walls. It's a real shame and really depressed me. I realise that morocco isn't a wealthy country and maybe they haven't the resources to invest much in the environment but marrakech and the surrounding area has been a tourist destination for a long time and they make money out of their natural environment. It's disappointing that they just seem to exploit it without any respect or care for it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.