We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the climb !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$228*
and up
Private Tour: High Atlas Mountains Day Trip from...
Attraction details
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth the climb !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Warning be prepared wear suitable shoes as the climb can be slippery. We had a lovely guide who held my hand most of the time. Beautiful views the downside being having a mint tea for 2 and charged 60 DH. When quiried was told the charge included sitting at their dirty plastic table to enjoy the view !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    162
    71
    21
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This valley is very charming and easy to climb to see the 5 cascads (out of 7). It's better to be equipped with appropriate shoes though.
Ask your driver to stop on the way and you will discover berber villages, traditional argan exploitation and... tourists-oriented camel riding (a few minutes for 50 DH :-)).
You definitely need a guide (we paid 150DH).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The trip organized by Sanikel Tours was the worst ever. They brought us to a Berber house and offered tea and bread and then asked everyone to pay 10 dirhams at the end of it. And then there was the camel ride that only a handful of us were interested in. Next, they brought us to this garden, which really is a store selling oils and perfume. And then there was the overpriced lunch by the river. And then finally, a waterfall that was so dirty and unimpressive. The hike up to the waterfall though was a good one. On the way back, we were brought to a souvenir shop and one of us was coerced into buying something. Overall, I was really disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Lovely day trip from Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you only do one day trip from Marrakech then this is probably the one to do.

Its a short trip about 1-1.5 hours from the centre and takes you up a lush river valley in the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. As you meander up the valley you go through interesting little Berber villages, take in the beautiful views and end up at the head of the valley.

Here you'll find the final Berber village in the valley where you'll find lovely restaurants and cafes in the river bed and its your starting point for a hike clambering over rocks and climbing up the valley until you get to the waterfalls.

It all depends on how long you have but I'd recommend that you try to get to the 2nd waterfall which is pretty spectacular.

If you're booking one of these trips make sure you check what is included - you may have to pay extra for a guide to take you to the waterfalls, you might have lunch included, you might be in a large group with a tourist guide or you might be in a private tour in a car with your own personal driver.

Overall its a lovely day out and you get to see a beautiful part of the Moroccan scenery.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good place to visit when you have little time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A good place to go when you have little time to make a trip outside Marrakech. We did a privat tour by Morocco Hikes. Started 1 pm from our hotel. When we arrived in the valley we made a short camel ride like 15 minutes. After we tried to walk over an unstable bridge and of course we climbed to the waterfalls. At the end of the afternoon around 6.30 pm we were back in the hotel. We had a perfect time thanks to Mouloud, our tourguide of Morocco Hikes. Next time we hope to have more time to travel around.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.