We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing break from Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #147 of 382 attractions in Morocco
Type: Valleys, Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Refreshing break from Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Five of us took a cab from Jemaa el Fna out to Ouriki Valley and back for 400Dh. (Negotiate this fare as low as you can if you plan on taking a cab!) Although the cab driver was rude and disgruntled by our wanting to hike all the way up, we had a blast.

Ouriki Valley has seven spring-fed waterfalls. The bottom one is the most popular, swamped with people all day long. I highly suggest that everyone (who is semi-in shape) hikes up to the upper waterfalls. There's a clever businessman with a ladder that you need to climb for 10Dh. After hiking a few meters, you'll see a small bar/shack perched on the cliff next to you. Walk to the left of the bar and trek up to the left. You'll never regret it.

The views were amazing. The water was ice cold and refreshing to swim in. Take your time to relax and soak in Ouriki Valley; it's deserves a good 5 hours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    87
    36
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best time ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I am very pleased with the place is a perfect place to go if you plan it well. I rent it the car and followed one road out of Marakesh just follow Mohamed the 6th Blv and you will see the road that will take you there. If you drive don't stop until you see a small parking in the end of the road on the left look for a guide name Youssef he speaks a bit English he took us to a good spot for some Moroocan brunch and followed to the falls it was a great experience a good climb and look at the clear a tasty water. We got some crazy cool rugs ask for Nassr el Din shop he is well English spoken and the rugs are from cactus woven silk to sheep whoop our bargain was accepted in good way we had great shopping for our house. Distance 45 Km rent a car choose a good Guide have great time. A lot of people will harasse you be firm keep cool and bargain.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trekking Atlas Mountains Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayd two days in Marrakesh, my boyfriend and I wanted to get out of the city. We decided late Monday night to try to go to Atlas mountains. We emailed Ahmed and got a response that night! Ahmed arranged a taxi to come pick us up Tuesday morning at 9 a.m. The drive was just one hour from Marrakech,
We start the trek from Imlil Our guide Mohammed was great- always helped us with difficult bits, knew the area really well, he was very friendly and encouraging
(we were absolutely inexperienced) He managed to get us safely to the summit and back, what a joy!
Definitely would recommend. www.trekkingatlasmountains.co.uk

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this great day out with the lovely guide Jamal. It's a unique experience, although does involve a fair amount of walking (we did the moderate excursion). Not to worry though, they have a donkey to Mule the bags and that can provide your legs with a brief rest!
The families you meet along the way are lovely, and provide the most amazing mid-morning snack and meal. A must for anyone staying in Marrakech and looking for a day trip into the mountains to discover the Berber villages!
I would highly recommend www.trekkinginmorocco.net

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trekking in the Atlas mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The website WWW.TREKKINGINMOROCCO.NET provided clear and detailed information about this walking day trip to experience Berber life and culture. Ahmed arranged for the transportation from Marrakech He met us in Imlil and the excursion was well organised.
The combination of beautiful setting, kind and generous hosts and Ahmed's insightful commentary provided us with an unforgettable experience (even the transport ride was fun) - the highlight of our trip to Marrakech!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Ourika, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ourika Valley to your Saves list