We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trekking Atlas Mountains Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #148 of 382 attractions in Morocco
Type: Valleys, Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trekking Atlas Mountains Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayd two days in Marrakesh, my boyfriend and I wanted to get out of the city. We decided late Monday night to try to go to Atlas mountains. We emailed Ahmed and got a response that night! Ahmed arranged a taxi to come pick us up Tuesday morning at 9 a.m. The drive was just one hour from Marrakech,
We start the trek from Imlil Our guide Mohammed was great- always helped us with difficult bits, knew the area really well, he was very friendly and encouraging
(we were absolutely inexperienced) He managed to get us safely to the summit and back, what a joy!
Definitely would recommend. www.trekkingatlasmountains.co.uk

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    87
    36
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this great day out with the lovely guide Jamal. It's a unique experience, although does involve a fair amount of walking (we did the moderate excursion). Not to worry though, they have a donkey to Mule the bags and that can provide your legs with a brief rest!
The families you meet along the way are lovely, and provide the most amazing mid-morning snack and meal. A must for anyone staying in Marrakech and looking for a day trip into the mountains to discover the Berber villages!
I would highly recommend www.trekkinginmorocco.net

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trekking in the Atlas mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The website WWW.TREKKINGINMOROCCO.NET provided clear and detailed information about this walking day trip to experience Berber life and culture. Ahmed arranged for the transportation from Marrakech He met us in Imlil and the excursion was well organised.
The combination of beautiful setting, kind and generous hosts and Ahmed's insightful commentary provided us with an unforgettable experience (even the transport ride was fun) - the highlight of our trip to Marrakech!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Berber life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a day trip to the Ourika Valley after seeing it advertised in our hotel brochure at Les Borjs de la Kasbah in Marrakech .Our guide, Issam, knew the valley very well and guided us through the village (without hassle!). We were taken on a tour of the beautiful valley, climbing up past the waterfalls to an amazing platform where we drank orange juice and took in the wonderful mountain views.We had a superb tagine lunch with views of the beautiful river below us, which was carpeted in jewel bright colours of all the sofas, tables and chairs that were placed down the banks of the river(you have to see it to believe it).We ate fresh melon in a beautiful meadow before the drive home, courtesy of our wonderful guide.A truly welcome break from the craziness of the city.(Of course getting a good guide helps!) You could see all this without assistance but it might not be so much fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sun, Fun, Camel ride and hike over waterfalls - heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked our day in the Ourika Valley before we left UK and paid 1601 dirhams/135 euros for 3 of us. We booked through moroccanviews. We were picked up at 9 from our riad and travelled in style, collecting four other people up on the way. Our group was made up of 7 people. My daughters are 28 and 31 yrs old,[ both party goers] and they loved it. Our guide Mohammed was great and well informed. We had about 20 minutes on camels which was fun, hiked up the valley through cherry trees, waterfalls, little shops and cafes on the riverside with a visit to a berber household. The whole day was fantastic, the best part of our four day trip. It is so beautiful and so unexpected after a couple of days in Marrakech town. If you are thinking about the cost, put some money aside and plan to incorporate this into your itinerary, you won't regret it. The hike is not too taxing and great fun. Lunch was included and the food fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Ourika, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ourika Valley to your Saves list