We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would highly recommend this great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #144 of 388 attractions in Morocco
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Valleys
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I would highly recommend this great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this great day out with the lovely guide Jamal. It's a unique experience, although does involve a fair amount of walking (we did the moderate excursion). Not to worry though, they have a donkey to Mule the bags and that can provide your legs with a brief rest!
The families you meet along the way are lovely, and provide the most amazing mid-morning snack and meal. A must for anyone staying in Marrakech and looking for a day trip into the mountains to discover the Berber villages!
I would highly recommend www.trekkinginmorocco.net

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    92
    41
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Trekking in the Atlas mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The website WWW.TREKKINGINMOROCCO.NET provided clear and detailed information about this walking day trip to experience Berber life and culture. Ahmed arranged for the transportation from Marrakech He met us in Imlil and the excursion was well organised.
The combination of beautiful setting, kind and generous hosts and Ahmed's insightful commentary provided us with an unforgettable experience (even the transport ride was fun) - the highlight of our trip to Marrakech!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Berber life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I booked a day trip to the Ourika Valley after seeing it advertised in our hotel brochure at Les Borjs de la Kasbah in Marrakech .Our guide, Issam, knew the valley very well and guided us through the village (without hassle!). We were taken on a tour of the beautiful valley, climbing up past the waterfalls to an amazing platform where we drank orange juice and took in the wonderful mountain views.We had a superb tagine lunch with views of the beautiful river below us, which was carpeted in jewel bright colours of all the sofas, tables and chairs that were placed down the banks of the river(you have to see it to believe it).We ate fresh melon in a beautiful meadow before the drive home, courtesy of our wonderful guide.A truly welcome break from the craziness of the city.(Of course getting a good guide helps!) You could see all this without assistance but it might not be so much fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sun, Fun, Camel ride and hike over waterfalls - heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked our day in the Ourika Valley before we left UK and paid 1601 dirhams/135 euros for 3 of us. We booked through moroccanviews. We were picked up at 9 from our riad and travelled in style, collecting four other people up on the way. Our group was made up of 7 people. My daughters are 28 and 31 yrs old,[ both party goers] and they loved it. Our guide Mohammed was great and well informed. We had about 20 minutes on camels which was fun, hiked up the valley through cherry trees, waterfalls, little shops and cafes on the riverside with a visit to a berber household. The whole day was fantastic, the best part of our four day trip. It is so beautiful and so unexpected after a couple of days in Marrakech town. If you are thinking about the cost, put some money aside and plan to incorporate this into your itinerary, you won't regret it. The hike is not too taxing and great fun. Lunch was included and the food fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best way to learn more about Berber life in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visiting Photography Museum in Marakesh (which is a must in itself) i found out they are incouraging day trips to their other museum in ourika valley to help visitors learn more about Berber culture. Surprisingly there were no reservations at a price of only 21 euro!!!
My local guide Khalid, working in Berber culture museum in village who met me upon arrival was one of the most cheerful guides i have ever met, very passionate for walking, not the best English speaking guide, but his passion for showing around his home village was inspirational enough. Home hosted lunch in his mothers house - culinary and cultural highlight, and a chance to peek into a real home. After seeing local pottery shop and short walk in a village we set off for trekking around the gardens of a village - please be prepared if it is a hot day, this was an issue for me. Dont want to go in details of every little thing we saw or did on a way, but i must say if You are thinking slow travel, sustainable, responsible and ethical tourism, cultural trips, budget options, safe trip for single lady, nature trekking, paying local direct without intermediaries - this was one of the best composed trips to learn about how really locals live apart from serving us in hotels and trying to sell things. They have an option of staying overnight in the Berber museum, by the way, and continuing trekking more, also visiting local souks on Mondays and Thursdays.
Certainly museum doesn't mean to make profits on this since they agreed to make it for me alone - with escort to the grand taxi starting in Marakesh. Many thanks to Maison de la Photographie for being so generous and thoughtful! Of course, transportation not included makes a price lower but still - working in tourism industry many years i have never heard of private tour for such a low price. Also, i guess its a matter of concept - using local transportation You are getting to know local life better) Paying direct for taxi, guide and meal again shows the museum is showing a good meaningful charity example. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.