We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to learn more about Berber life in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Ourika Valley like an insider
Private Tour
$134*
and up
Private Tour: Three Valleys and Atlas Mountains...
Attraction details
Vilnius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best way to learn more about Berber life in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visiting Photography Museum in Marakesh (which is a must in itself) i found out they are incouraging day trips to their other museum in ourika valley to help visitors learn more about Berber culture. Surprisingly there were no reservations at a price of only 21 euro!!!
My local guide Khalid, working in Berber culture museum in village who met me upon arrival was one of the most cheerful guides i have ever met, very passionate for walking, not the best English speaking guide, but his passion for showing around his home village was inspirational enough. Home hosted lunch in his mothers house - culinary and cultural highlight, and a chance to peek into a real home. After seeing local pottery shop and short walk in a village we set off for trekking around the gardens of a village - please be prepared if it is a hot day, this was an issue for me. Dont want to go in details of every little thing we saw or did on a way, but i must say if You are thinking slow travel, sustainable, responsible and ethical tourism, cultural trips, budget options, safe trip for single lady, nature trekking, paying local direct without intermediaries - this was one of the best composed trips to learn about how really locals live apart from serving us in hotels and trying to sell things. They have an option of staying overnight in the Berber museum, by the way, and continuing trekking more, also visiting local souks on Mondays and Thursdays.
Certainly museum doesn't mean to make profits on this since they agreed to make it for me alone - with escort to the grand taxi starting in Marakesh. Many thanks to Maison de la Photographie for being so generous and thoughtful! Of course, transportation not included makes a price lower but still - working in tourism industry many years i have never heard of private tour for such a low price. Also, i guess its a matter of concept - using local transportation You are getting to know local life better) Paying direct for taxi, guide and meal again shows the museum is showing a good meaningful charity example. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    144
    64
    18
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but arrange yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have just got back - A beautiful place for a good day trip away from hectic Marrakech.
However... Would advise that you sort all costs yourself. We paid 600dhm for a driver for the full day with stops along the way an (can be done fir 25-50dhm per person each way) then an extra 200 for a guide when we got to the falls. The guide was a TOTAL rip off and only interested in getting us there/back as fast as possible. Both he and the driver went on about how it wasn't an easy climb or obvious to find, but when we got closer to the main route there was an enormous procession up to the falls - you'd have to be blind not to find the way. So a big argument ensued and we were annoyed that the driver (organised by our riad) didn't at least give us a little local advice not to waste our money. My advice, the driver with the local stops and freedom etc is debatable but do not pay anyone to help you to the falls. They are worth the day visit though despite the usual Moroccan bartering :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Contrasting day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked this online 2 days before with ClickExcursions. We were joined by 2 others so total of 4 plus guide/driver Ahmed in a 4x4. Paid £24 each which included local guide at waterfalls, visit to blacksmith, mint tea stops; only extra paid was for lunch. Really enjoyed drive across flat fertile plain to Berber villages in the foothills of the snowcapped Atlas mountains. Photo stops enroute, walks over rope bridges for mint tea next to raging river.
Many Moroccan tourists as public holidays. It was 37 degrees in Marrakesh so understand why this cool valley is so popular. The restaurants have set tables and chairs so you can cool your feet in the river whilst you eat!! Great views, super contrast to downtown Marrakesh and brings some cash into the rural communities.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good day trip, becareful organizing a taxi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's a good day trip if you feel you've done all the sights in Marrakech. It was between the Ourika Valley and the artificial lake, and we chose Ourika. It is what it says on the packet, a rural village with waterfalls.

We picked up a taxi in Marrakech after being advised on prices in the riad (25dh per seat per way is roughly what locals pay). However our taxi driver quoted us a price in euros, we only realized this when we arrived back in Marrakech after a 10 hour day - resulting in a massive argument on the street, we paid 3/5 of what he wanted and a policeman forced him on his way. Be sure to check the price is dirhams, not euros!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Ourika Valley near Marrakesh, Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

John and I traveled with Enjoy Tours: Transport Touristique for fourteen days and one of the days spent in Marrakesh, we decided to veer from the itinerary and climb to the falls in the Ourika Valley. We were escorted by our driver,Houssam. Halfway to the falls, we contemplated turning around but were spurred on by Houssam and by seeing other people near our age of 65 clambering up the rocks and boulders. We decided to continue along. When we reached the falls after two hours of a straight up climb, we were thrilled that we had because it was magnificent. We put our feet in the cool water and rested for a while before returning to the bottom and having a bite to eat. It was truly worth every minute.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.