We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #148 of 389 attractions in Morocco
Type: Valleys, Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We hired a car and a driver for our trip to the valley. We went on a Monday which turned out to be lucky as first stop at the four of the mountains was the weekly souk for locals. It was incredibly busy, and with only a few tourists it was as authentic as it gets. Not for everyone I would guess - you will see chickens having their knacks wrung etc. You will also see men being shaved, and the odd tooth extraction.
Next stop was a commune in a Berber house. You get to tour the house for a donation of your own choosing.
The valley and the mountains are spectacular - the tops were still snow covered. We then visited a medicinal herb centre, before lunch and a trek to the waterfalls.
I would agree with other comments that the area is aimed at tourists - what would you expect? Also the walk up to the waterfalls is spoilt by the rubbish - probably from the tourists, but you should still go if you can make it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    92
    40
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agouraï, Meknes, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“getting away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went up up and up into the mountains until we found a little restaurant making real tajine. There was a little river running through it and it was absolutely fabulous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice water falls but over all, the best tajine chicken with lemmon confit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we went to the ourika valley for trekking and visiting the waterfalls, very nice and our bereber guide we hired there was very nice with good hhandle of the spanish, our mother language.
too many souvenir shops along the way for my taste but the best was to have lunch at one of the home made mom and pop bereber villager restaurants sitting by the river, great morrococan salade and the best tajine chicken to confgit of lemmon ever eaten in morrocco bereber style.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Scenic break from a busy city. A must in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Looked at the other reviews and listened to other people in our hotel and decided to give this trip a go.
Took the trip with a friend of the security guard at our hotel (Moroccan House in Gueliz) as our guide. He was absolutely brilliant and cheap compared to the hotel, holiday rep and the excursion people in town.
We drove about an hour over to the foothills of Atlas, into Ourika Valley. The guide allowed us to stop wherever we wanted to take pictures and shop as and when we wanted, and didn't rush us about at all, in fact he kept telling us to take our time. I stopped him quite a few times because there are some seriously beautiful views to be taken in and some very interesting shop selling Berber craft.
He pointed out a lot of interested Berber history things and even took us to a Berber house, run exactly as Berbers live. We bought some beautiful souvenirs in the shop there, and cheaply as well.
At the end of the drive we came to the last village in Ourika Valley, which was Setti Fatma. We had some lovely, and cheap lunch at a Berber restaurant called La Belle Rose. It was a set menu of a 3 course meal for 120 MAD per person. A highly recommended experience in my opinion, both because it was delicious and it was a chance to try true Berber food. There are apparently some lovely water falls in Setti Fatma, but unfortunately because we have a 2yr old son we couldn't climb up to see them as he would last the 45 or so minute walk.
On the way back we stopped and took lots more pictures.
This trip to Ourika is one that will not be forgotten in a rush, truly special.
i have to say our guide made our visit amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good but take sturdy shoes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We did a day trip up into the foothills of the Atlas mountains up to setti fatma . Whilst it was quite interesting you are very much in the foothills of the mountains ,so it is not dramatic . The village of Setti Fatma is very uninspiring . The main attraction is the walk up to the waterfall and pool . Both of which are good but the walk up is rather more of a rock scramble in places than a walk and not suitable for anyone who is not good on their feet . Also sturdy shoes at least are required , with heels a real no no .

If you are generally fit do not bother with a guide, you don't need one as the way up is obvious. Their only use is if you need a hand .
I would investigate other day trips as I am sure they would be others more rewarding .

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Casablanca, Grand Casablanca Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.