We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ourika Valley

Ourika Valley
KM 21 Route de Ourika, Marrakesh , Maroc, 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #147 of 382 attractions in Morocco
Type: Valleys, Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Agouraï, Meknes, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“getting away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went up up and up into the mountains until we found a little restaurant making real tajine. There was a little river running through it and it was absolutely fabulous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    87
    36
    9
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice water falls but over all, the best tajine chicken with lemmon confit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

we went to the ourika valley for trekking and visiting the waterfalls, very nice and our bereber guide we hired there was very nice with good hhandle of the spanish, our mother language.
too many souvenir shops along the way for my taste but the best was to have lunch at one of the home made mom and pop bereber villager restaurants sitting by the river, great morrococan salade and the best tajine chicken to confgit of lemmon ever eaten in morrocco bereber style.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Scenic break from a busy city. A must in my opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Looked at the other reviews and listened to other people in our hotel and decided to give this trip a go.
Took the trip with a friend of the security guard at our hotel (Moroccan House in Gueliz) as our guide. He was absolutely brilliant and cheap compared to the hotel, holiday rep and the excursion people in town.
We drove about an hour over to the foothills of Atlas, into Ourika Valley. The guide allowed us to stop wherever we wanted to take pictures and shop as and when we wanted, and didn't rush us about at all, in fact he kept telling us to take our time. I stopped him quite a few times because there are some seriously beautiful views to be taken in and some very interesting shop selling Berber craft.
He pointed out a lot of interested Berber history things and even took us to a Berber house, run exactly as Berbers live. We bought some beautiful souvenirs in the shop there, and cheaply as well.
At the end of the drive we came to the last village in Ourika Valley, which was Setti Fatma. We had some lovely, and cheap lunch at a Berber restaurant called La Belle Rose. It was a set menu of a 3 course meal for 120 MAD per person. A highly recommended experience in my opinion, both because it was delicious and it was a chance to try true Berber food. There are apparently some lovely water falls in Setti Fatma, but unfortunately because we have a 2yr old son we couldn't climb up to see them as he would last the 45 or so minute walk.
On the way back we stopped and took lots more pictures.
This trip to Ourika is one that will not be forgotten in a rush, truly special.
i have to say our guide made our visit amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good but take sturdy shoes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We did a day trip up into the foothills of the Atlas mountains up to setti fatma . Whilst it was quite interesting you are very much in the foothills of the mountains ,so it is not dramatic . The village of Setti Fatma is very uninspiring . The main attraction is the walk up to the waterfall and pool . Both of which are good but the walk up is rather more of a rock scramble in places than a walk and not suitable for anyone who is not good on their feet . Also sturdy shoes at least are required , with heels a real no no .

If you are generally fit do not bother with a guide, you don't need one as the way up is obvious. Their only use is if you need a hand .
I would investigate other day trips as I am sure they would be others more rewarding .

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap trip- Find a different route or a different waterfall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Convinced by friends that a day trip outside of the city was a good idea even though I knew it was going to be touristy cattle drive to spend money. It is so unfortunate that such a beautiful area looks so degraded and fake. We stopped near the main square to the grand taxis to haggle for price. We settled pretty quickly on 500 to go to an Argan oil cooperative, Berber home and the waterfalls. Our middle man put us in the taxi with Said. Who spoke no English, fine for him but for us no French or Arabic losers was a bit inconvenient. We drove in silence until we reached the cooperative where the nice ladies that speak every language in the known world it seems take you around to learn about Argan oil production. In my opinion it was worse than Disneyland, in the store we were encouraged to buy and even got a little discount but in the end didn't make an purchases. On to the Berber house which had been flooded and under reconstruction. We got the fastest and most uninspired explanation ever which I believe was in English but it was hard to tell before putting our small donation in the family box and shown the store. Next to the falls where Said picked up our "guide" on the trunk of the car. We stopped and our guide graciously offered to show us the way for 100dh. We said no thanks and just followed all of the other people with guides all the while guys trying to tell us the wrong way and take us anyway. After they finally gave up they gave us a wink when they passes us with their groups. Since it is winter and we were on the clock with Said we only had time for one of the falls and lunch. The stream side restaurant will try and take you for a 80dh ride for a single tanjine if you let them. Even 80 for two isn't a good price if you factor in the lack of meat they added. Opt for a snack and wait until you get back to Marrakech. There were just too many people, too many grand taxis and tour groups, too many camels and roadside shops to feel like you've done anything special. I think it's better to rent a car and take side roads and get lost in the hills to discover hidden gems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ourika Valley also viewed

Ourika, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Ourika Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ourika Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ourika Valley to your Saves list