We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El-Djazair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El-Djazair to your Saves list
Hotel El-Djazair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Avenue Souidani Boujemaa, Algiers 16070, Algeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Algiers
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Expensive but very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is old and very well located. The hotel has a worldclass garden.
The room is nice.
If you have a chance take a room with a bay view. The food offered has a large choice. Breakfast is horrible.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    56
    46
    22
    18
See reviews for
5
14
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

During French colonial times, 50 years ago now, Algiers was a apparently magnet for many who could not afford Southern France. Those who had the wealth to choose and found themselves in Algiers regardless would have almost certainly stayed here, at what was one of the finest hotels of its day. It has entertained so many famous names, pictures of many of whom can be seen in the bar area. Today Algiers sadly sees few tourists and so the hotel caters largely for the business community and perhaps wealthy expatriates but it competes for their custom with newer chain establishments. Still, the location here is a trump - with chronic traffic in rush hour alternative top end hotels are quite some drive away. So beyond this what was on offer?
Check in was not the best introduction. Language was a slight challenge but check in is not rocket science, things however got interesting when my key failed to work. I had to return to reception for assistance and when this came it transpired that I had been given an occupied room. Eventually I was given another room which I was told would be quieter - and quiet it was.
By this time almost an hour had past as I traipsed to and fro along the long corridors.
The room was acceptable, size fair, bathroom clean and everything seemed to work. Decor could have been several years ago but to be fair it was probably just based on such times all except for the TV which was modern and had English channels.
The common areas were stunning and I spent much time wondering both internally and within the beautiful grounds where facilities include a beautifully kept garden and substantial pool. I did at times feel I had been transported back some years but all in a good way.
Due to the prices I neither ate or drank in the hotel - a small beer was about £6 and the breakfast was, as I recall, in excess of £20 for (based on the comments of others) not such a great deal.
Service was for the most part a little stiff but there were some positive exceptions. Check out was a relative breeze and this left me time to chat to the most friendly people of all, the security guards, as I waited for my lift on the final day.
If you can put the shortcomings and possible frustrations to one side this is like staying in a museum and well worth doing if you enjoy nostalgia, have an interest of history or simply if it is a good location for you (as opposed to that of the competition). If I were to return to Algiers I am fairly confident I would opt for the same again. If you like a place to stay with history and character and can afford then it is a must. No, it is not cheap but, from what I gather, few hotels that a business man would gravitate towards are in Algiers.

Room Tip: Based on what I am told be away from the pool and class areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A rather dated place, obviously loaded with history which is nice. Certainly stayed in worse places in Algers, stayed in a better places too. Although the hotel maintenance seems fine, the age is showing. Staff speaks english and is generally friendly and helpful. Rooms are quite large but not very comfortable. Bed good enough and I slept well. Bathroom: Ok. Restaurant is really good. Breakfast fine. Bar is in pleasant environment (if the weather is good the outside is great) but extreme patience is required simply not enough staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

In a nutshell - overpriced, rude hotel concierge staff, extremely noisy, and uncomfortable beds. If you are here on business stay away unless you are into that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Algiers hotels

Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

State owned hotel, which might explain the level of service, but it's full of history, rather pretty by the way and has a lovely terrace, outdoor pool etc. Obviously not a brand new 5 star hotel, but worth a stay. Be aware of special constraints in state owned hotels during Ramadan though!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

i'm a heavy traveler, I'm not picky.. but my experience with EL-Djazair Hotel is the worst one yet considering it as a 5 Stars hotel. May be I would not have been writing this if I were going to stay in a 1 star hotel or a Starless one.
The list is long but I will put it into points:

- I had to change the room 2 times in my first night and one time next day.
- The hotel is very hot "AC is very weeak"
- The hotel cannot provide a press for the clothes to rooms ! I have to give it to them to press it for me.
- Breakfast is a 3 stars standard continental breakfast
- Can't take coffee from breakfast place to the outside garden while eating, you must order from the garden.
- Everything you normally do or ask for in a 5 stars hotel they tell you "NOT ALLOWED", you will feel like living in a military base.
- One a public holiday day while all the hotel guests (the majority) for business are off, the swimming pool is closed for a private function, so I had to spent a long hot day in my old ugly room.
- The TV has only French channels, although I speak french but no nice entertaining channels.
- The security people treats guests' guests in a non respectful way... it happened with one of my friends... its a long stroy but shows no respect for anyone who is a walking by guest.
- I was shocked when I saw security cameras in every corner in the dining rooms of the hotel and the bar.. this is a very unusal place so they can monitor people eating drinking etc..
- You cannot have food between 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm unless its room service all outlets do not provide food!!! sounds to me like 2 stars hotels..

I was suppose to stay in the hotel for 18 nights but I'm leaving now to another hotel after 3 nights. As I wrote my review even before leaving the hotel.

Regret to be in this hotel even for one night..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having the desire for a hotel with character, comfort and greenery, El-Djazair was a very welcome place to be. Known to many as the St. George, its historic name and indeed, a place of history..the rooms were spacious, staff accommodating and the outdoor terrace and greenery were a wonderful place to enjoy a drink or meal. The indoor lobby, adjacent to the outdoors, are a display of the hotel's history, with photographs of the hotel's many past guests; Gen Omar Bradley, Gen (and former US President) Dwight Eisenhower (who also made it his office during WW 2), Albert Camus, Baron de Rothschild and Cheb Khaled, to name but a few.

Having read some reviews that were negative, I was a bit reluctant to pay the fare and be disappointed. So, I initially paid less in other hotels and was clearly disappointed (one of which is also reviewed on Trip Advisor). So, sometimes, the additional cost proves worth the splurge. Such was the case here...

In Algiers, if one wants comfort, greenery, good service with spacious rooms and ambiance, having researched many Algiers hotels...I don't think one can find anything that comes close!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the gardens. (see attached photos of garden and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El-Djazair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El-Djazair

Address: 24 Avenue Souidani Boujemaa, Algiers 16070, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El-Djazair 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel El-Djazair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Djazair Hotel Algiers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El-Djazair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.