We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden to your Saves list
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Algiers
Algiers, Algeria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not that good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

was not one of my best experiences i expected more!
It is expensive, but the staff display the best levels of service (mostly) that I have experienced in Algiers. I have tried two other hotels during my visits and always come back at one trip trying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

I take this opportunity to apologise that your experience does not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    92
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
5
20
26
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice hotel set behind a raft of security measures (necessary for this location) - tend to get the feeling of wanting to stay in and not go out but there are a few restaurants within the protective circle. Otherwise the rooms are good & the food is great. Service amongst the best

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

I am delighted that your stay in our house was just great. Our Ambassadors have had the pleasure to make you enjoy special moments, your satisfaction is our greatest reward.

We are pleased to welcome you back next stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a classical Businesstrip to Algier. As it already have been recommended to me from other Businesspartners, i did went into this Sofitel Hotel and i can say, that it was a good Choice. It have a nice and cosy Design - i liked it. Top friendly Service there. Staff did speak good english and also they gave me few good Recommendation for some typical Restaurants in that Area. Also in that Area have been few very good Shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is expensive, but the staff display the best levels of service (mostly) that I have experienced in Algiers. I have tried two other hotels during my visits and always come back at one trip trying elsewhere. Allow time for breakfast, the service is near the slowest ever experienced.
But t generally I like the gym, pool area, bar area and it is immaculately clean. Mini bar full of soft drinks is complimentary.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Hôte,

Je vous remercie d’avoir partagé votre ressenti suite à votre séjour dans notre maison, c’est avec bonheur que je lis que vous avez apprécié notre fitness et l’efficacité de nos équipes.

Par ailleurs je suis navré de savoir que votre petit déjeuner était un peu long.

Je ne manquerai pas de partager vos commentaires avec l’ensemble de mon équipe dont l’ultime objectif est de vous offrir une magnifique expérience au cœur d’Alger la Blanche.

C’est avec plaisir que nous vous accueillerons lors de votre prochaine escale Algéroise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This Sofitel in Algier had been booked thru my company, i have been there for 4 Nights. I did enjoyed this Trip very much, due the Hotel and it Service have been very professional and great Atmosphere there. Mostly Businesstravellers there and the Businesscenter was well outfitted. I had a Standard Room, wich was nice decorated. Good Service in their Restaurant too. Safe Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.

It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.

Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a couple stays at this hotel. It is quite welcoming.
The rooms service is quick.
The check-in is rather slow but not painful.
The rooms are comfy and quiet.
I particularly like their bar at night, they have a great selection of teas and a piano musician playing classic French songs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors as there tends to be conventions and you can have noisy parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us following your recent stay at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden.
It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team.
Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have spent a night in this hotel and must say it has been almost a nightmare. Receptionists are absolutely incapable of doing anything (it took me ONE HOUR to check in because receptionists were not capable to understand that my company had already sent them the payment details. They also wanted my personal card, just in case to charge both!!!! What a shame!!!! And they got angry when I told them that I wanted to pay extras in cash!!! It's not exactly what one would expect from a 5-star hotel!!). Reception staff is unhelpful and not qualified to be there. After such an argument, I was not of the best mood to appreciate the hotel. Anyway, my room was nice, clean and well kept, although my colleague found MOULD in his (they changed his room, but MOULD was in BOTH ROOMS!!!). The hotel is good but not worth the price! The location is good, in the city center. That's a good thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luc L, Directeur général at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Hôte,

Tout d’abord je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre ressenti, suite à votre séjour au Sofitel Alger.

Nous avons pris connaissance de vos remarques concernant votre expérience notamment au niveau de la réception, et nous souhaitons nous en excuser.
Votre commentaire a été partagé avec l’ensemble des équipes, afin que les prochains séjours soient meilleurs.

J’espère avoir l’occasion de vous accueillir prochainement et je reste à votre disposition pour toute demande particulière.
Dans l’attente de vous recevoir, veuillez accepter mes sincères salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

Address: 172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers 16015, Algeria
Location: Algeria > Algiers Province > Algiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Algiers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for your next business trip, the Sofitel Alger is just 5 minutes from downtown, less than 20 minutes from the airport, right by the Botanical Gardens, the National Library and the Fine Arts Museum. The funicular can take you up the hill overlooking the old souk and the port. The 3 restaurants offer a variety of options: El Mordjane serves fabulous Algerian dishes, Le Continental boasts French gourmet meals, the coffee-shop is a great place to catch a quick bite between meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden Hotel Algiers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.