We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for fun, relaxing summer vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fillenwarth Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arnolds Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fillenwarth Beach
Save
You added Fillenwarth Beach to your Saves list
87 Lakeshore Drive, PO Box 536, Arnolds Park, IA 51331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for fun, relaxing summer vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Although I have been coming to Fillenwarth Beach for over 20 years, it always seems new again. The staff are very friendly and responsive. They treat you like royalty. Any problem is taken care of immediately. From my room is a marvelous view of the lake with fantastic sunsets and sailboat races on the weekends. Just outside the room on the boardwalk are tables and chairs where you can sit, relax, read, chat with friends and have coffee in the morning or drinks in the evening. Fillenwarth Beach is a fun relaxing peaceful resort unlike any other. The variety of fun activities free to guests is unbelievable. There are many kinds of boat rides--skiing, paddle boats, canoes, speed boats and my favorites, the exciting sailboat and complimentary cocktail cruise on the Sun Runner. You can go to chocolate, wine and beer tasting parties with live delightful piano music, relax in the indoor and outdoor pools, get a tan on the many lounge chairs on the dock, play ping pong or pool, or just sit and relax in the comfortable lounge chairs by the office and view the lake . Whether you want to kick back and relax or do fun things there is something for everyone. It is the best location on the lake and a short walk to nearby great restaurants, Emporium, many fun shops, unique boutiques, rides at Arnolds Park Amusement Park, local museums, landmarks and outdoor concerts by the lake. It doesn't get any better. It's a magical place where people come back year after year and dream and reminisce about in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Fillenwarth: we were greeted by a harassed-acting clerk. We were told speedily what our room was.

The beds were not comfortable for us, we are in our 60s. The pull-out sofa was probably okay for kids, but not for adults. When we pulled the covers back on the bed, the sheets were wrinkled [had obviously not been laundered] and the pillow case had make-up and and mascara. A young man showed up with clean sheets in about 10 minutes.

The bathroom was a generous size and the refrigerator was 3/4 size with a big freezer.

The "booze cruise" was lots of fun and we met very friendly people who had been coming to FBR for years.

The "sandy beach" was about 15-20 feet wide right under the docks. The kids pool was yellow and did not look sanitary. Perhaps since it is nearing the end of the season and they told us the staff was minimal

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fillebea, Manager at Fillenwarth Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
It is unfortunate that these guests were not fully satisfied will all aspects of their stay at Fillenwarth Beach, as we have spent more than nine decades providing the best possible experiences for our visitors. The bed in their room is a queen-sized pillowtop mattress in a firm, but plush, style from a well-known and reliable manufacturer. The sofa sleepers are make in Finland by a high end manufacturer. The beds and sofas are in very good condition.

Our sheets are 300 thread count or higher and have a high proportion of cotton. To keep them soft to the touch and to be green, we do not starch our sheets. If a piece of luggage is put on top of the bed, or if someone sits on it, the sheets can wrinkle. I am confident the sheets were changed prior to their arrival, had become wrinkled and the guests simply assumed they had been used.

We test our pools at least every four hours, keep detailed records and perform any needed maintenance in a timely manner. No discolored water was reported. Our pools were both functioning properly, according to our records.

West Lake Okoboji is a glacier-carved lake with natural rocky shorelines. For more than 60 years, we have maintained a 20' beach next to, not under, our Main Beach Dock, as advertised. There is a natural sand beach at our South Beach facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Four of us spent the weekend in Okoboji, IA for a girls' weekend. This is our second time there and we have a great time! We usually stay at Fillenwerth Resort. The resort itself is a bit outdated, but the location is fantastic, prices are reasonable, and overall the resort is clean and homey. It's located right on the lake and they offer free happy hour boat cruises, as well as a free home tour cruise. Staff are friendly. The resort is located right next to Arnold's Park as well.

The Arnold's Park/Okoboji area is a great place for a girls' weekend. Everything is within walking distance... shops, boutiques, restaurants, bars, beach, etc. Saturday nights seem to be the night for the "younger" crowd, but the over 35 crowd can still find a place to hang out, whether for a quiet evening or a fun-filled night of music. The rest of the time, it seems that the tourists are mostly 30+.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We found this as a last minute weekend road trip and we loved our two night stay at Fillenwarth Beach. Our room was tiny but were informed of this before we made the reservation. For us it was just fine but for others that particular room might be tight quarters, though other rooms had a bigger floor plan. More than making up for this were the following positives: the fact that we could lay in our bed and look right out over the lake, a kitchenette with everything we needed, a nearly new gas grill and a table and chairs to sit and relax right outside our door on the patio/deck. The grounds were clean and the docks were sweet. The staff was awesome. I'm so glad that there are places like Fillenwarth that retain the pleasant and comfortable feeling of the past instead of becoming one of the herd of cookie cutter hotel rooms.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Great hotel for a short trip, lots to do. Swimming in the lake was fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We just spent a long weekend at Fillenwarth Beach. We had a group of 12 staying in a 14-person cabin. The room was dated but clean, there was enough space for all of us, and everything was in working order. Parking was easy and everything was in walking distance.

Since we had a wide range of ages and interests, it was great that there was something for everyone. The included activities - skiing, cocktail cruises, arts and crafts, tennis, sailing, paddleboating, canoeing, and swimming at the beach - were tons of fun and easily accessible. They had plenty of life jackets in all sizes and everyone we encountered from the staff was very nice. We all had fun. For more options, Arnold's Park and jet skis to rent were nearby (within walking distance).

This is definitely not a fancy place, but for a really fun family get-away with little hassle, this resort is great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fla
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Had extended family reunion at resort last weekend.
Nice place with a lot of free things that other resorts charge for.
Free stuff-kids crafts every morning,beer tasting,chocolate tasting,paddle boats,canoes,booze cruise,home tour cruise,family cruise,play ground,ping pong,pool.
Olde resort with some exterior cosmetic repairs needed but staff was excellent and interior of cabins great.We were in 141,,2 bedrooms,4 beds and a pullout.
Kitchen very well equiipped,pots and pans better than what we have at home.
Only downside is not a lot of green places for kids to run around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fillenwarth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fillenwarth Beach

Address: 87 Lakeshore Drive, PO Box 536, Arnolds Park, IA 51331
Location: United States > Iowa > Arnolds Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated summer resort on West Lake Okoboji, in Arnolds Park, Okoboji's entertainment center. Our 96 units are lakeside or nearby with lake access and are fully furnished apartments, studios and cottages for one to 18 people. All amenities are free including boat rides, indoor and outdoor pools, large sunning docks and in-season recreation program. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fillenwarth Beach Hotel Arnolds Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fillenwarth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.