We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with KIDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fillenwarth Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arnolds Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fillenwarth Beach
Save
You added Fillenwarth Beach to your Saves list
87 Lakeshore Drive, PO Box 536, Arnolds Park, IA 51331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay with KIDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this resort over Labor Day weekend. The location is great. Easy walk to everything. Kids had fun with all the free extras! We will be staying here again next year. Friendly staff and guests, everything was perfect. Kitchen is loaded with anything you could possibly need to prepare a meal and the gas grill was a plus.

Room Tip: South Beach has easy access to lake swimming and boat docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I travel alot for work and pleasure and I know the difference between good and awesome service and value. Fillenwarth Beach is a top knotch resort for people looking for an out of the way non-commercialized vacation spot. This is not a Marriott or a Westin but what you dont see in expensive draperies and furniture are made up in clean lake air, super friendly service - which I rarely see at the top end conventional hotels these days - and complimentary canoes, sailing and boat tours (with FREE DRINKS & BEER !!!). They are easy walking distance to the park, restaurants, bars and a convenience store. The Monday evening happy hour gathering on the deck is super fun mingling with other guests, the owners and downing mixed drinks (again complimentary) with the cool lake breeze and a local cover band playing Steve Miller, Eagles and Johnny Cash cover tunes. Make no mistake this place is for families to hang out and enjoy the scenery and the cute town. If you are going to Okoboji you are crazy not to stay at the Fillenwarth Beach. I plan on making the trip an annual summer event for my family. To the Fillenwarth family running this place- PLEASE do not change a thing!

Room Tip: We stayed in the North BEach cottages- 2 small but sufficient bedrooms, 2 pullout couches and 1 bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family just came back from this resort last week. We were to spend 7 days in Okoboji but came back 2 days early. The only good thing I can say about this resort is "it has wonderful kids working there". The workers were very nice. The rest left much to be desired. We went on a cruise they hosted and got to see about 10% of the lake. 20 minutes out then back to shore, boring, they offered ony wine and miller beer. The water skiing was in 15 minute slots per person, not even long enough to give skiing a good try let alone showing what you can do. We also were told our room would have a lake view, but all we saw was trees. The pools were 4 feet deep and very very small. The arcade had 4 games a pool table and ping pong table, both in need of major repairs. The room smelled of animal urine and when we asked the management to fix this issue we were told "its just the way the carpet smells when wet"... EWWWWW yuck! My new truck recieved 2 dents and 2 scratches totaling about $400.00 dollars in damage due to the parking spaces being so tight that if you have cars on either side of you you cant get in or out of you vehicle,and 1 dent was in the roof of the truck ??? Our room also tilted away from the lake and sloped bad enough that my wife almost kept rolling out of the bed. When we brought up all these issues to the owners daughter we were offered our 7th day free when we rented 7 days next year. Whats wrong with this picture? We paid almost 3 thousand dollars for the time we spent there and would never rent there again so her offer was just to weak and insulting. They should have offered us a partial refund, especially when we were leaving 2 days early due to all the issues. I would never embarress myself by recommending this resort to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Remember when you were a child and you went to summer camp? That's this place.
There were so many fun things to do and see. So many acitivities at the resort, you'd never have to leave. All the free stuff advertised really is free (a rarity these days). Perfect place for families including your dog.
The staff were OUTSTANDING! Very helpful, friendly and kind.
We stayed in Cottage 421. There were 2 adults and 2 kids. It was a very comfortable size. We had another couple come one night and we were still fine.
While I wouldn't consider our cabin completely updated, it certainly met all our needs and it was clean. The beds were firm but comfortable. The pull out was also firm but comfortable (not your usual pull-out with the bars you can feel)
Had a great time and really enjoyed this resort.

Room Tip: Probably not the best choice for someone with mobility issues. There are lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

On the surface this place can seem outdated and old but once you settle in you really start to appreciate what they have to offer their guests!! The cabins are rustic but updated to the best of the resorts ability without tearing them down and starting over. They offer so much for the families that visit them! There is arts and crafts each morning for the kids, beer, wine, and chocolate tasting for adults! Then there is the lake cruises that offer open bar and snacks while you look at all the amazing properties on the lake! There is an adult only version and a family friendly version as well! All of this with their great location to Arnolds Park, the down town scene, and close proximity to all the shopping is just perfect! Lake Okoboji and Fillenwarth is truly palm trees in Iowa! An amazing hidden jewel in the midwest! Thank you Fillenwarth for another memory filled family vacation!!

Room Tip: We prefer the cottage colony because it is our own little "cabin". Rustic yet clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family has been going up to the Okoboji area for over 10 years. We love staying at Fillenwarth due to all the activites they have available. They have crafts in the am for kids young and old, skiing lessons, canoes and paddle boats. In the evening you can take a family cruise or the adult cruise and your drinks are included. Their are afternoon or evening "theme" activities which include wine tasting and chocolate tasting.They have a large dock with chairs for laying out or taking an afternoon nap. It is walking distance to stores, restrauants, and the amusement park. Okoboji has great bike and walking trails. My most favorite part.....the sunsets.

Room Tip: You are not in your room much, so we get the smaller room(apartments) but it sleeps 4 great. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed elsewhere in Okoboji, but prefer Fillenwarth because of everything they offer. The rooms are super small, but who cares? You want to be out of the room, right? The rooms are clean and kept updated. The staff is amazing. Everyone goes above and beyond for your needs. They do a great job cleaning, keeping the grounds clean, and helping in any way. The activities are great. They have an indoor and outdoor pool, 2 playgrounds, tetherball, rowboats, paddleboats, canoes, beaches, docks, waterskiing, booze cruises (booze free, pop for kids, crackers and cheese free for all, plus free cups to go home), history boat tour, million dollar home tour boat tour, sailboating, crafts for all ages, wine and beer tasting, chocolate tasting, welcome party with free drinks and entertainment, volleyball nets.... it goes on and on. You can stay elsewhere cheaper and get bigger rooms, but this place has it all and it is worth the extra to get it all! The history here is cool too! It is family owned and operated and always has been in the same family. Nothing beats this place.

Room Tip: The small rooms are SMALL! Believe it when they say small and how many people each place fits. 426...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnolds Park
1.5 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#4 of 5 in Okoboji
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Milford
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 4 in Spirit Lake
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites near Okoboji Lake
0.8 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Okoboji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fillenwarth Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fillenwarth Beach

Address: 87 Lakeshore Drive, PO Box 536, Arnolds Park, IA 51331
Location: United States > Iowa > Arnolds Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnolds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated summer resort on West Lake Okoboji, in Arnolds Park, Okoboji's entertainment center. Our 96 units are lakeside or nearby with lake access and are fully furnished apartments, studios and cottages for one to 18 people. All amenities are free including boat rides, indoor and outdoor pools, large sunning docks and in-season recreation program. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fillenwarth Beach Hotel Arnolds Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fillenwarth Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.