We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I anticipated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bridges Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bridges Bay Resort to your Saves list
Bridges Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   630 Linden Drive, Arnolds Park, IA 51331   |  
Hotel amenities
wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what I anticipated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Our troubles began before we even arrived at the resort. We had a large family reunion planned and when a relative called to confirm the reservations she was told that the rates we had been quoted were incorrect and that they were already overbooked. (I know this is a common practice, but it is not something that the staff should be telling customers) Luckily, we kept our confirmation numbers so they honored the originally quoted rates. We were also told we could check in at a certain time so many of our family members arrived only to be told they would have to wait a few hours to check in. (We had family from all over the country who were not in the mood to hang out in a hotel lobby) The hotel itself was fairly nice. My children enjoyed the pool and waterpark, although I was disappointed that the outdoor pool closed before the indoor pool and there was nothing available after 9PM. The arcade and fitness center were filthy. It was also difficult to get clean towels and additional blankets or pillows. For the cost I was expecting a lot more than I received. I have stayed in much less expensive places which were cleaner and had friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Management at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
We would like to thank you for the comments you made in your review. We appreciate the input of guests so we can work to correct our shortfalls and ensure that any negative experiences are not repeated. We work hard to achieve a welcoming and enjoyable environment at Bridges Bay and do everything possible to provide services and accomodations that exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you again for your comments...we look forward to your return so we can provide you with the level of service and accomodations you've come to know and expect from your friends at Bridges Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    23
    16
    24
See reviews for
79
6
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My family just returned from a weekend at Bridges Bay Resort. We were visiting Arnolds Park for a family reunion. We were looking forward to staying at Bridges because there was an outdoor pool and an indoor water park. We could even bring our dog.

Upon entering the hotel, my son said, "What's that smell? It smells bad in here." It's true the hotel smelled kind of chemically and nasty. Our room was fine, (not great, just fine) though the walls seemed very thin. We could clearly hear the group in the room next to ours.

This wasn't the worst part of our stay. The housekeeping staff seemed oblivious to the mess in the hallways and on the floor. They must have passed the beer cans, gum, dirt on the stairways but they didn't bother to clean up the mess. Hmmm...

We were disappointed at the TV services offered too. For a "family" hotel they had a lame offering - no pay per view movies, HBO, Showtime, video games, etc.

The Video Arcade consisted of about five video games in a room - lame. In my opinion two treadmills doesn't equal a fitness center.

For the money, this place was BAD. It's worth about $129 per night (not double +). Don't stay here - it's a ripoff!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridges_Bay_Manager, Management at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
On behalf of the staff and management at Bridges Bay Resort, we would like to thank you for comments regarding your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the limited TV service that we offer in the guest rooms. With an outdoor pool with swim up bar, outdoor restaurant, outdoor play structure, large dock for swimming and indoor water park along with all the other things to do in the lakes area, we have found that people just don't spend a lot of time in their rooms. With the 30 miles of bike trails in the lakes area that go right in front of the resort we have found that the two treadmills & two elliptical machines with free weights is all our guests have asked us for. We appreciate the ideas for adding extra things to the facility to accommodate our guests in the future. Again, we would like to thank you for the comments on the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Bridges Bay Resort is wonderful! First of all, this was not where I had originally booked our family vacation. Due to a very late notice from Kings Point Resort in Storm Lake (where I had four nights reserved) that their waterparks would be closed for most of my vacation I found myself scrambling to find a new location for our vacation. I got a hold of Laura in reservations and she was awesome. She said that she had received several other calls from others who were also trying to reschedule vacations from Kings Pointe Resort. She was able to offer me a terrific rate that included water park passes for each person in my group.

Our room was a 2-bedroom, 2 bath unit with full kitchen and living/dining room area. We overlooked that outdoor pool area. Service was excellent and I would recommend this property to anyone that is looking for a place to get-away to in Okoboji.

The on-site restaurant - Bracco's - was a great place to hang out - excellent staff (Kurt and Blake rock) and great food.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, Management at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
We are so glad we were able to accommodate your vacation on such short notice! We appreciate that you found all our amenities to have excellent guest appeal. We have many different options for room types to help us accommodate groups and families of any size.

Thank you again for your comments...we look forward to your return so we can provide you with the level of service and accomodations you've come to know and expect from your friends at Bridges Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridges Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges Bay Resort

Address: 630 Linden Drive, Arnolds Park, IA 51331
Location: United States > Iowa > Arnolds Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Arnolds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bridges Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridges Bay Resort is a full-service, value-added condominium resort featuring beautiful condos that can accommodate up to 12 people per unit, or standard hotel-room style accommodations. On site you will find 'Boji Splash,' the area's only indoor water park as well as outdoor pool & swim up bar. Our resort also features Bracco Waterfront Grill & Island Bar overlooking the lake during the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bridges Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridges Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.