We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridges Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Bridges Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bridges Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   630 Linden Drive, Arnolds Park, IA 51331   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I was very skeptical after having a bad experience at this hotel last winter. After looking around we decided to give it another shot and I am so glad we did. I cannot say enough great things about our stay there this time! The staff was very welcoming, the rooms looked brand new- I was told they are remodeling all the rooms, and we had a great time in the water park. We are already making our plans to come back in the summer!

Room Tip: The suites have a full kitchen which is great for cooking breakfast since their restaurant is only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We have worked very hard since your last stay to ensure that Bridges Bay Resort delivers the value-added condo experience that our guests expect. I am very happy to see that you had a great stay. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    20
    14
    21
See reviews for
71
6
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Off the beaten path and not well marked...BUT what a fabulous experience! We were greeted with kindness and a plate of warm cookies at the front desk after a long day of travel. They put out warm cookies every day in the late afternoon. The front desk keeps a basket on its counter of the coffee packets you'll need for your room coffee maker 24/7 (no charge, either). They have gourmet coffees you brew yourself set out in the cozy lobby 24/7. The rooms are very clean & quiet. The service if perfect. Almost everywhere you need to go is within 1-2 miles in every direction. Adorable, friendly town has one of everything plus plenty of antique shops. Bay Bridges appears to be new. It is well worth finding it-we look forward to staying there again. Check it out!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and are so happy to see you had a great stay in our condos. We look forward to having you again when you return to the great lakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Room was spacious but don't let that fool you. The property is not run well at all....staff at check in are rude and slow. Never ever get a room but on the top floor because you will hear noise all night long. Pool was was luke warm, bathrooms and gym are extremely dirty and already things are broken. Game room is a joke with only 1 or 2 games working. Save your money and do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We wanted to let you know the steps we have taken to ensure that your issues are addressed.

Our housekeeping staff has made strides since your stay and continues to be retrained with a focus on perfect cleanliness in the condos and around the property. In addition, our entire staff is being retrained in all things customer service to ensure that they are attentive and efficient.

We are focused on ensuring that all facets of our condominiums meet guest expectations going forward and have begun a full refresh of the property inside the condos as well as our public areas such as the arcade. We hope you will visit Bridges Bay condominiums again to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Plain and simple....
For what they charge you should get much better service. Only two passes with room to waterpark. No towels in the waterpark every time over a period of 3 days! There was no water pressure in the room to the point that I could not get the shampoo out of my hair. If I was in the shower for more than 5 minutes it was ICE cold. There was no maid service so we had to call and wait for new towels, make own beds, and garbage cans were overflowing because no body emptied them without us getting a charge. The lock on the patio door was broken so basically the room was open all of the time. There was also a dog down the hall that barked ALL day! They made no attempt to contact the guest to let them know their dog was going crazy in the room. Bracco's was the only good thing about this place and you can go there if you stay somewhere else. Save your money and stay at a resort with a beach!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have carefully reviewed your experience and wanted to let you know the steps we have taken to ensure that your issues are addressed.

Each of our condominiums receives two 'Boji Splash passes per section, so a full condo receives 6 complimentary good for the entire length of your stay. I am very sorry that this was not told to you during the booking process. We have revised our protocol for our reservation agents to ensure that all guests are aware of our policies prior to making a reservation.

We have begun a full refresh of our Bridges Bay Resort Condominiums in order to deliver the experience that our guests expect. All condos are having wall-to-wall repairs and updates that should be completed soon and have finished upgrading our water system for improved water pressure as well as eliminating cold water problems.

As a condominium our housekeeping policy does differ from a typical hotel but we want to give our guests as many options as possible. Unlike traditional condos, housekeeping is available for any days throughout your stay, not just a cleaning fee at the end. We also give our guests the option to decline any housekeeping service at no additional cost. A complimentary refresh is available every three days in order to ensure that towels are exchanged, trash is removed and you have the in room amenities needed.

I am very sorry for the experience that you had with another guest's dog barking. We take this very serious and will improve on our response to noise issues. We are also increasing our staffing at the property to ensure that we have someone there to catch these issues before they affect your stay.

We are focused on ensuring that all facets of our condominiums meet guest expectations now and into the future. We hope you will visit Bridges Bay condominiums again to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefferson,SD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Minimum of 2 night stay-$160 a night-no maid service(unless you paid for it)-as my son said "I couldn't get the shampoo out and I'm bald" in other words there was no water pressure and the water was never hot- you could get clean towels with no charge but you had to take your used ones to the front desk and exchange them-no breakfast-no restaurant for breakfast-no vending machines with snacks. Every floor was the same as far as the water pressure and hot water. We heard so many complaints. It was pretty obvious they received complaints all the time and were used to them so I guess they were not really working on fixing the problem. I cannot believe they would have any repeat customers. For $160 a night I expected better!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother with this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have carefully reviewed your experience and wanted to let you know the steps we have taken to ensure that your issues are addressed.

We have begun a full refresh of our Bridges Bay Resort Condominiums in order to deliver the experience that our guests expect. All condos are having wall-to-wall repairs and updates that should be completed soon including overhauling our hot water system to ensure it consistently keeps up with demand.

As a condominium our housekeeping policy does differ from a typical hotel but we want to give our guests as many options as possible. Unlike traditional condos, housekeeping is available for any days during your stay, not just a cleaning fee at the end. We also give our guests the option to decline any housekeeping service at no additional cost.

I am very sorry for the experience that you had but we are focused on ensuring that all facets of our condominiums meet guest expectations now and into the future. We hope you will visit Bridges Bay condominiums again to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a great place to stay for a long holiday weekend! Our room was huge! King size bed, bathroom with exterior vanity and then you walk into the living area which consisted of a full sized kitchen with a 6 person dining table, living room with couch, chair and table, and then a full deck with another 4 person table. 2 TVs in the room which worked well for me to watch football on both at same time. I also used the internet daily for work and the connection was great. The hotels decor is very top end and the restaurant on site was a great addition. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We sincerely appreciate your business and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working very hard to provide the experience that our guests expect and constantly improve at the same time. We look forward to seeing you again at Bridges Bay Resort's condominiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

First of all I was booked into the wrong room. The desk clerk was helpful and nice, but still had no authority and directed me to talk to the manager the next day. She was rude and unhelpful. She offered me a 20% discount which I declined and promised a call from the General Manager. The service was beyond terrible. The showers were cold. The fire alarm went off at 2:30 am and there were drunk people everywhere. Never did we see any hotel staff during the fire alarm incident. I never did get a call from the general manger. The service at the restaurant was terrible as well. I know it is Iowa, but I get better treatment at McDonalds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArrowwoodManager, General Manager at Bridges Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I would like to apologize for the experience you had at Bridges Bay. We unfortunately had some very unruly guests the night of your stay that were escorted from the property due to the behavior described in your review. We are taking steps to increase our overnight staffing to ensure this does not happen again.

As you said in your review, our Facilities Manager tried to resolve your issue but, unfortunately, you declined what she was able to do for you. I attempted to reach you two times at the phone number we have on file but could not. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had but myself and my staff have done our best to ensure your concerns were addressed.

Please understand that we responded to the guests pulling the fire alarm in the middle of the night. Police were involved and staff was onsite with the fire department. I know this was an inconvenience but we followed our emergency policy to ensure safety first. This was a big disruption, of course, but most guests understood and appreciated our immediate response.

I would still like the oportunity to discuss this with you and will follow up over the phone. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bridges Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges Bay Resort

Address: 630 Linden Drive, Arnolds Park, IA 51331
Location: United States > Iowa > Arnolds Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Arnolds Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bridges Bay Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridges Bay Resort is a full-service, value-added condominium resort featuring beautiful condos that can accommodate up to 12 people per unit, or standard hotel-room style accommodations. On site you will find 'Boji Splash,' the area's only indoor water park as well as outdoor pool & swim up bar. Our resort also features Bracco Waterfront Grill & Island Bar overlooking the lake during the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bridges Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridges Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.