We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip was Great !! We were pleased with everything...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines to your Saves list
Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   206 SE Delaware Avenue, I-35 Exit 92, Ankeny, IA 50023   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Nelson
1 review
“Our Trip was Great !! We were pleased with everything...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our Trip was Great !! We were pleased with everything, thanks Teresa for the extra help booking our rooms !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    33
    34
    56
See reviews for
71
18
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

JMJ I had enough points to stay at this Super 8 ,for free , which was nearby an attraction I wanted to visit. I've stayed a Super 8s before and thought they were just enough, for when price WAS the object. The location was good-right off the expressway and right near the Applebees where I wanted to have dinner. I was excited upon arrival ,seeing that there was also an indoor pool, which usually means a hot tub to soak in. Well the hot tub had only recently been removed; the cement to fill it was still wet. The refrigerator didn't work in the room and they said they'd have a handyman look at it, but I don't think anyone did and no one was at the desk when I can in later on to tell me if it was fixed or move my room. Also after showering I discovered that the hairdryer didn't work either. Most of the hotel and my room just seemed tired!..Like the staff and the management didn't need to work at upkeep, except closing the hot tub for some unknown reason. One positive, they had a sign on the door that pets were Not welcomed-I like that-I don't want to sleep where someone else's animal has done who knows what! Usually I like the Super Start Breakfast but again the meal was tired. Not much of a selection; no fresh fruit; the waffle tasted a little funny? This hotel needs a little shaking up and some management oversight!

Room Tip: JMJ Many they had some updated rooms and maybe I got this run down room because I used my membershi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was just OK. The room smelled a little musty and the staff was not real professional, although they were courteous and helpful. We reserved it through Travelocity for $89. The manager said we could have reserved it directly for $69, but he could not change the rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was probably the worst value per night hotel I have ever stayed at. The room smelled, the whole hotel felt damp and musty. The two beds in my room were horrible. They felt like you were rolling to the center of the bed when you laid on them. They never had fresh towels when asked for them. The continental breakfast was pathetic at best. All they had to offer for our first morning was white or wheat toast, yogurt, two stale cereals, milk, and horrible tasting waffles. The Apple juice machine worked but the orange juice machine only spit out water. I requested for them to fill it but they never did. Absolutely horrible hotel. Honestly you are better off sleeping in your car than spending the money to stay at this hotel. I am embarrassed that this hotel is in my hometown!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines

Address: 206 SE Delaware Avenue, I-35 Exit 92, Ankeny, IA 50023
Location: United States > Iowa > Ankeny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Ankeny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ankeny
Super Eight Ankeny
Ankeny Super 8
Ankeny Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Ankeny/Des Moines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.