We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ Turkey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bandana's Bar Bq

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bandana's Bar Bq
301 E 1st St, Ankeny, IA 50021
(515) 964-9989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Ankeny
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Turkey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. The pulled pork and BBQ turkey are really good and well presented. The ribs were not to my liking but everything else was great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bandanas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good bbq. Friendly atmosphere, family friendly too. Wide variety of side choices, which is nice. Never tried the desserts there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Loved every bite of our meal at Bandana's. Ribs were juicy, BBQ pork was perfect, chicken was small but still good. Enjoyed it so much we went back the following night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Prices were good, but both me and my dining partners food was just average. A bit fattier than we're used to and the sauces were uninspiring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“EExcellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ate here twice on recent trip to Des Moines. Best BBQ beef I've had in years. Wife says pork BBQ excellent too and we're from the Deep South.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandana's Bar Bq also viewed

 

Been to Bandana's Bar Bq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandana's Bar Bq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.