We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“failure to meet expectations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yanni's Grill & Vineyard

Yanni's Grill & Vineyard
410 S Ankeny Blvd, Ankeny, IA 50023-3129
515-965-7802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Cuisines: Italian, Greek
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“failure to meet expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

we went to the father's day brunch 15jun14 round noon. Expecting greek foods found steak deburgo, overcooked not very savory. Italian style chicken, thin flat hard pieces of chicken very unimpressive. spaghetti was ok, but the sauce was just meat and oil, no tomato flavor kinda like bland chili. baklava was thick and dry and chewy.
so not to be all negative, the rolled cheese canneloni things were awesome, the greek salad was fresh and crunchy,lots of feta. very good. the baked fish was very nice. the steamed vegetables were very good. the raspberry creme brulee was magnificent.
service was fair and hurried, no refills no offer for coffee. i would have liked some coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
269 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“It's What's on the Inside That Counts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Yes, Yanni's shares a driveway and half a building with a Dairy Queen... but don't let that outside appearance deter you. The inside décor has a quaint, cozy Greek restaurant atmosphere. A combination of tables and booths with hanging stain-glass lamps. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive.

Yanni's Greek and Italian cuisine includes an extensive selection of appetizers, salads, soups, Greek Specialties, pasta, seafood, chicken, veal, steak, gyros, pizza and several desserts. They have a good variety of wine to chose from. Besides by the usual glass or bottle, there's half-carafe & full carafe options. With the menus comes a complementary basket of garlic-butter knots (small braided bread balls - best eaten while still warm) and slices of garlic bread. My dinner salad was average, crisp iceberg lettuce with a slice of tomato and cucumber. But Yanni's creamy parmesan dressing made it one of the best in the area.

For an appetizer we ordered their fried calamari containing both thin rings and tiny baby squids fried crispy in a light tempura batter with a side of marinara dipping sauce. Yanni's Fettuccini Alfredo is made from real cream, butter and parmesan cheese on top of homemade pasta. They have veal or chicken Picatta, both come in a lemon/caper butter sauce. Included was fresh broccoli & carrots cooked perfectly al-dente and a potato croquette (deep-fried mashed potato ball?). I traded the croquette for some of their homemade pasta to soak up the delicious lemon caper sauce.

A booth next to us ordered the Saganaki - flaming asiago cheese appetizer. It was served by several staff with the traditional Greek Opa! (OH- Pahh) cheer when lit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Every person has their, as Billy Joel says, Italian Restaurant. I have had the bottle of red and bottle of white. Both excellent. I have not had a bad Italian meal here. From Lasagna to Chicken Parm to great thin crust pizza.

The atmosphere is great. Quaint and quiet. We love this place!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Definitely will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We tried Yanni's for the first time and we were very pleased with our meals. The menu is extensive offering a good selection of appetizers, and everything from seafood, pasta, and steak to pizza. We tried toasted Ravioli and thought it was very good, the fried Asiago cheese is a must. We have been looking for a good place that serves a quality thin crust pizza and we've found it. We will definitely be back for pizza, beer and onion rings very soon. We also tried the Cannoli for dessert. Although we've never had it before so we cannot compare it to others, we thought it was delicious.
The atmosphere was a nice surprise. It's intimate and very inviting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
265 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“off night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

As a corporate 100 night a year traveler I spend a lot of nights eating out. I get to a city hit trip advisor and find a restaurant. I found Yanni's amongst mixed reviews and thought I would give them a chance to redeem themselves on the ratings. I found that overall ratings don't lie....I found the appearance outside a little run down in a shared driveway with a DQ drive thru, inside décor appeared clean and quaint. I was waited on by a young lady with little to no personality, I ordered the number 1 standby for Italian...spaghetti.. it was a small amount of noodles over flowing with a very spicy meat sauce served with no breads other than 3 donut holes and 1 slice of bread in a basket upon arrival...only bright spot was a dinner salad that was fresh and crisp.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanni's Grill & Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Yanni's Grill & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanni's Grill & Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.