We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranallo's On 3rd

Ranallo's On 3rd
417 SW 3rd St, Ankeny, IA 50023-3052
515-964-9510
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our adult night out kind of place, dress up, dress down, and enjoy. We enjoy the atmosphere. Very relaxing dining experience. From top to bottom of the menu, you have a full range of selections that will challenge your taste buds. Pete and his staff welcome you with a smile. It is nice to see chef Pete come out and visit with his patrons too. That personal touch goes a long ways for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to get away from the chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It's a decent Italian restaurant that allows a break from the mass produced chains. Inside is nice - dim and quiet. Service was great. Slightly overpriced for what it really is. Better places in des Moines

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“usually good food....expensive but really good drinks and worth the price most of the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

this place is usually great but just not on valentines day it was a nightmare the food undercooked and cold and horrible service and a rude man at the front saying we couldnt make a reservation or acted like we werent welcome but then he kept packing people in all the bar tables so we never got a table and had to sit at the bar. Normally the food is wonderful and the martinis are very very good and also good wine. The service is good on most nights, when its really busy its not worth going. The bartenders are friendly and make good drinks but on busy nights the one bartender they have working has too many people to serve.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Valentine's Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We called for reservations and received a confirmation call. The restaurant was full. The menu is simple but the food was quite good. The calamari was tender and tasty. The Ahi tuna was tasty. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went for dinner with a group of friends. Food was average. When we tried to order a second round of drinks, we were told that the bar was closed. While we were finishing our wine and food (never even offered dessert), we were pushed from the table at about by a waitress who told us that we needed to leave because she had school the next day (we all have work as well). This was around 9:30pm. As we were chatting by the coat rack and saying our goodbyes, the bartender told us that we needed to leave so he could lock the door. Another large table was pushed out of the restaurant in a similar fashion. Very inhospitable. I will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranallo's On 3rd also viewed

 

Been to Ranallo's On 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranallo's On 3rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.