We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Valentine's Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranallo's On 3rd

Ranallo's On 3rd
417 SW 3rd St, Ankeny, IA 50023-3052
515-964-9510
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Valentine's Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We called for reservations and received a confirmation call. The restaurant was full. The menu is simple but the food was quite good. The calamari was tender and tasty. The Ahi tuna was tasty. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
“Poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went for dinner with a group of friends. Food was average. When we tried to order a second round of drinks, we were told that the bar was closed. While we were finishing our wine and food (never even offered dessert), we were pushed from the table at about by a waitress who told us that we needed to leave because she had school the next day (we all have work as well). This was around 9:30pm. As we were chatting by the coat rack and saying our goodbyes, the bartender told us that we needed to leave so he could lock the door. Another large table was pushed out of the restaurant in a similar fashion. Very inhospitable. I will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the time, or the price.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Plenty of empty tables; still waited 30 minutes to be seated. The hostess seemed not to know what was going on with the (empty) tables. We were seated in an empty corner and the waitress forgot about us - we didn't even get our drinks for 20 minutes, and only after we flagged down the hostess to complain (waitress apologized and offered our drinks for free, but still). My husband ordered the Smothered Ribeye, which was acceptable, but there were more toppings than meat. I ordered the Seafood Trio: scallops were pathetically small, overcooked, and rubbery; crab cake was dry; salmon was WAY overcooked - dry and hard on the edges, and the tomato basil salsa did nothing to counter this (you can't cover a bad piece of fish with salsa and call it good) - I have honestly never had worse salmon anywhere, even when I've severely ruined it at home. Waitress NEVER checked on us after our meals were delivered. Another large table across the room with 10-15 people seemed to be the priority (larger tips?). We will never go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of our "date night' spots. Great atmosphere, good bar, nice choice of wines and the food is always good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Having a good time, no one else was in the place, asked to not come back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Bar tender not friendly at all. Wow if someone spent 3-400 on a bar tab I think I would keep my mouth shut. Asked not to come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranallo's On 3rd also viewed

 

Been to Ranallo's On 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranallo's On 3rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.