We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place for Pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leaning Tower of Pizza

Leaning Tower of Pizza
512 SW 3rd St, Ankeny, IA 50023-3048
515-964-0401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Ankeny
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Little Place for Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After taking a survey from our office staff it was a unanimous vote to try Leaning Tower of Pizza. Since our original visit about 2-months ago it has become our favorite pizza in the area having been there about 6-8 times. If you like thin crust pizza with a little char on the bottom this is a must. My wife and I enjoy the Paul's Pick Three (Pizza with your choice of three toppings). LTP offers several different sizes and frankly we feel eating at LTP is a good value. The corn nuggets are a local favorite and a must try. Just a warning though, LTP is a small restaurant holding a max of 75. If you are planning a visit around dinner...good luck. They seems to do a lot of business around dinner which is a challenge as they offer a very small waiting area. The staff are friendly and the service is good. This is a must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good pizza but not a good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good pizza but not a good value at $25 for a large two topping and cheese bread. Was not full after splitting the pizza with just 1 other person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have eaten here several times. Great service & pizza. Place is usually crowed and cold in the winter with the door opening so often. Taco pizza is the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We make it to the Leaning Tower about once a year... I wish it was more often. The Potter pizza is excellent, as are all the usual pizza toppings. Don't overlook the onion rings, they are excellent. It is a small place and it does get busy on weekends, so you can expect to wait. Fortunately, they do seem to flip tables fairly quickly, so the wait isn't too long. They also offer take-out if you don't feel like waiting for a table. The service is good, and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
292 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Good product, good price, good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went there for a pizza based on Tripadvisor reviews. First I checked with the hotel receptionist and she agreed this was an excellent choice. Okay, I'm sold. You guys got it right again. On a Tuesday evening the restaurant was about half full with what appeared to be happy customers. I placed my order with a friendly guy and the pizza was ready in a reasonable time. Back in the room, we remarked that there was more cheese than we expected and a decent measure of toppings. And very tasty, including the crust - all of it, not leaving a hard edge behind.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaning Tower of Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Leaning Tower of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaning Tower of Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.